Customer Reviews for

Before I Fall

Average Rating 4.5
( 1955 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1196)

4 Star

(461)

3 Star

(167)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

140 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

I am a teen who is very picky about what I read but I LOVED this book!

I easily get fustrated by books that I read because I tend to be pretty picky. I like books that really play with my emotions, ones that might make me cry and ones that I can relate to. So many silly teen novels are out of the question just because I like a more serious...
I easily get fustrated by books that I read because I tend to be pretty picky. I like books that really play with my emotions, ones that might make me cry and ones that I can relate to. So many silly teen novels are out of the question just because I like a more serious read. I judge books by seeing if i can put the book down easily or do I stay up to the wee hours to finish it. So I took out this book because it looked good and was surprised by how much I loved it!! I can relate to it, being a teenager girl myself, it's thrilling, left me wanting more. I could not put the book down!! That's an extremely good sign! The story gets better as the book progesses and the book really makes you think. I loved that about it. It also makes you wonder what you would do if you were in Sam's sitation. All I can say is: you really have to read this book!

posted by EmmyKAY on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Cuss

All the book did was cuss. Dont buy.

posted by 9815055 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Frustrating but Challenging

    I feel like I should be upfront about something. I've never liked movies like Groundhog Day. The idea of living the same day over and over again annoys the hell out of me and usually I find myself twitching violently about half way through wanting to launch my remote at the screen in frustration. That being said, I probably am not the best judge of a book like Before I Fall but I had heard such wonderful things about it that I had to give it a shot, and I'm actually happy that I did (for the most part). My family may be surprised at this, considering that I walked around grumbling to myself and huffing for the better part of a week (it took me 5, count 'em 5, freaking days to read this beast!) but after I was finished, I felt good about having read it. So let's just dive right in to my likes and dislikes.

    Likes:
    Why don't we start off with the positives before we get into the nitty gritty. First of all I really liked Oliver's writing style, in particular the dialogue. It felt very genuine and believable. For being such a sad book, Before I Fall also had quite a bit of humor. I also really enjoyed a couple of the supporting characters, namely Kent and Juliet. Kent was very quirky and likable. He was able to be himself without totally ostracizing himself from the rest of his classmates. He was also just so sweet. In almost every scene with Kent I found myself "aww-ing". I liked Juliet for different reasons. She was so like the main character, Sam, in that she had sacrificed her reputation and her true self for her best friend, but she had so much more depth and truth to her than Sam. I really felt for Juliet and understood her even though her role in the plot wasn't really developed until about half way through the story. I also have to say that, while I didn't like Lindsey, I liked the way that Oliver wrote her. She is pretty much cold and ruthless and her true vulnerability isn't apparent until she is in the most dire of situations. I think I would have been completely disappointed if Lindsey would have turned into some hollowed out version of Regina George after her bus accident. As a villain, she is great.

    Dislikes:

    Likes:
    Why don't we start off with the positives before we get into the nitty gritty. First of all I really liked Oliver's writing style, in particular the dialogue. It felt very genuine and believable. For being such a sad book, Before I Fall also had quite a bit of humor. I also really enjoyed a couple of the supporting characters, namely Kent and Juliet. Kent was very quirky and likable. He was able to be himself without totally ostracizing himself from the rest of his classmates. He was also just so sweet. In almost every scene with Kent I found myself "aww-ing". I liked Juliet for different reasons. She was so like the main character, Sam, in that she had sacrificed her reputation and her true self for her best friend, but she had so much more depth and truth to her than Sam. I really felt for Juliet and understood her even though her role in the plot wasn't really developed until about half way through the story. I also have to say that, while I didn't like Lindsey, I liked the way that Oliver wrote her. She is pretty much cold and ruthless and her true vulnerability isn't apparent until she is in the most dire of situations. I think I would have been completely disappointed if Lindsey would have turned into some hollowed out version of Regina George

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Regurgitation

    Sam Kingston is a mean-girl with everything she needs: popularity, the hunky boyfriend, and popular mean-girl friends. When she dies in a car accident, she is given the chance to live her final day 6 more times. She learns that nobody is exactly what they seem and that everyone is redeemable. I was eager to read this book because I thought it would be an interesting twist on the Groundhog Day theme. However, I didn’t realize that it would be a regurgitation of 80’s and 90’s movies to the point where there were very few truly original scenes. It’s basically Groundhog Day in a mish-mash of high school flicks with other movies worked in. I was actually to the point of looking for the “token black kid” it was so regurgitated (no appearance). So, I was a little disappointed in the author’s skill. On the other hand, many teens (for whom this book is intended) will not have grown up on 80’s and 90’s movies and might find the book quite interesting and original, though very sad. The theme of redemption and everyone’s-the-same-on-the-inside was applaudable. The writing was smooth and engaging, though the beginning was a little irritating because you had to choke through her mean-girl attitude. It’s good for a light read, but it’s not literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Intiresting

    I liked the oplot of this book but i dont think it was written very well. 14 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Umm

    I thuink this book is for mature readers. I checked this out from a lubrary,and literally had to HIDE the text from my parents it was so slutty. I dont recommend fir anyone under 14! Im 11!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Clarification please?

    I just finished reading it. But I need one clarification before I put a real review in. In the end, she jumped into the street to save the girls life, but then Samantha gets hit and dies? Am I right? Please reply to Shane

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Before I Fall

    I know that it had to end like this, but that's why I gave it 3 stars. Well written and it kept me engaged. Should be required reading for all teens. Illustrates how your every action affects those around you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Ok...

    I picked this book up at my school library for something to read during English. I had heard good things about it and decided to give it a go. The plot is interesting and the characters are decent. I was dissappointed in how inappropriate the book was. There is a lot of drinking and smoking, things that I find hard to relate to. Before I Fall is a good book to read if you have nothing else to do, but other then that I would suggest leaving it on the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Not a love story like it couldve been.

    Not the love story I wanted it to be. I hated the ending, leaves you with a no that's not the way it goes you got it all wrong. I mean it was an ok book. But the best character, kent, nothing ever happens for him. Leaves you lacking satisfaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seemed like it was a good book - but could have been written in

    Seemed like it was a good book - but could have been written in a shorter format to still get the point across.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Karlany

    I hate the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book a few years ago and I was surprised I like it.

    I read this book a few years ago and I was surprised I like it. It's not a keep you up reading all night kind of book but it makes you think about the important things in life. Very enjoyable day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I dont know what i think about this book

    It wasnt the best but it wasnt the worst. It was basically a replay of the same day. She tried to change and fix the day eachtime she relived it. It was kinda slow. I wanted to stop reading but i thouht mabey it would get better but it didnt really. The writing was good but it was just a slow story line : /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Good story

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    ?.......

    Well im not really sure how to rate this so i will give it 3stars. This book was confusing good and boring all at once. I wasnt fond of the repeating of the same day over and over but i did enjoy how each day was different. There was some inappropriateness throughout so deffinetly reccomended to teens and up... overall good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Um....

    Good book..but sometimes gets really confusing..and terrible ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    This was an interesting book. However, I did not like how the ch

    This was an interesting book. However, I did not like how the chapters were placed. There's only seven chapters, I believe, for a 300-400 page book. That's the first time I'd encountered something like that. It was different. I was skeptical once she started the "second" day because it seemed like everything was going to be exactly the same as the first day. But Lauren would have the characters do slightly different things each "day" until she (the character) finally got it right. It turned out to be a really good book. However, I was kind of left wondering exactly why she had to keep reliving the day over and over. That part was never clear to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Interestingish

    It was good at first but so incredibly repetative that it drove me crazy and i was almost unmotivated to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Young adult novel caught my attention.

    Recently I have been interested in young adult novels although I'm 26. The story line caught my attention but I expected it to be shallow and a quick easy read. I was impressed with the depth of the point of the novel. The charactors, setting and situations are very realistic and true to what teens are dealing with. It seemed just a little repetative at times but I guess that was the point.
    I would recoment this book to high school age but some content may not appeal to middle school age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Overall i liked the book. Definitely not my favorite, but the mo

    Overall i liked the book. Definitely not my favorite, but the more i read the more it grabbed my attention. There were some slow parts and ultimately i wish it had a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I read this book awhile back and to be honest I thought it was a

    I read this book awhile back and to be honest I thought it was an okay book but it was really slow in many parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9