Customer Reviews for

Before I Go to Sleep

Average Rating 4
( 822 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(300)

4 Star

(286)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Great thriller (from Book Twirps)

Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, ot...
Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, others she believes she is a child. Most mornings she tip-toes to the restroom, and is surprised to find a middle-aged woman staring back at her from the mirror. It is there she finds pictures of herself and others taped to the wall. The pictures have names and identities below them. All left to remind her of who she is.

Christine lives with her husband Ben who, every day, has to tell her that she lost her memory after her accident 20-some-odd years ago. One day Christine receives a phone call from a neuropsychologist who tells her he has been working with her to help her retrive her memory. He gives her a journal that she has been keeping and on the very first page the words "DON'T TRUST BEN!" are written in her own handwriting.

This book is a psychological thriller that will have you turning the pages well after bedtime. It is obvious in the first few pages that something isn't quite right. Should she, or shouldn't she trust her husband? A majority of the book is Christine's Journal and to say anymore would give away the details, and I don't like to give spoilers. Though it does feel the author tends to spend a little too much time drawing things out, the ending packs such a punch that it's easily forgiven.

(Review based on an ARC courtesy of Netgalley)

posted by OtotheD on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

It's "Okay"

I honestly found this book VULGAR, tasteless, and PREDICTABLE! I've read enough amnesia stories to see the final result halfway through the book! The worst part was the language!! I just don't think it's necessary to have the F word in every other sentence.

posted by Tmrvica1225 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 823 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 42
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Okay summer read.

    I had no problem putting it down, in fact, stopped reading it to read another new book. Predictable and rushed ending. Comparing it to Shutter Island is just as far off as the comparison of The Help to To Kill a Mocking Bird.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Excellent!

    Could not put this book down. A one sitting read. Be prepared to stay up all night.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good book

    Great read. Didnt want to put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Thrilling from start to finish

    This was one of those books you find yourself staying up late to read just a little bit more.

    Christine, an amnesiac, wakes every day to find she doesn't recognize her surroundings. She is unable to create new memories and each day she has forgotten the events of the day before.

    This psychological thriller sucks you in and keeps you guessing. Watson has an incredible way of marrying you to the characters from the very first page.

    This book addresses something most people take for granted - the ability to distinguish reality from fantasy. How fragile and thin this book makes the line between the two feel.

    When the story ended, I found myself dreading reaching that final page. Such a detail-rich story, I could re-read it out of sheer curiosity for pieces I may have overlooked.

    Great idea for a story and incredibly well-written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Loved it

    I did not want to put this book down. For me it was a unique book and I was continually guessing who she could and could not trust!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Would not waste your time to read

    I very rarely have anything bad to say about a book, but this was one I felt I wasted my time reading. Felt there was a lot of hype building up in the story line to a big let down at the end. Not a lot of resolution with the ending, a lot of questions left unanswered. Very disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great read!

    Be sure you have all your chores done before you start reading this book because you will not want to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Recommended

    I haven't finished this book yet but it impels me to keep reading. It's an interesting read and you want to know what is going to happen. It's hard to imagine being in this situation and maybe it's my compassionate side that relates to Christine and her plight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Sweet dreams......

    I had read about this book from many sources, so I knew I was in for a treat. I was not disappointed. Check under the bed before you turn out the light....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Be warned - you won't be getting too much sleep yourself until y

    Be warned - you won't be getting too much sleep yourself until you turn the last page of Before I Go to Sleep. This is a phenomenal, unique story from start to finish. It kept me reading throughout the night, through breakfast, lunch, and dinner the next day. I knew from the beginning that there was something going on that was not just the typical amnesia story. I never expected the twists in the storyline though.The main female character has amnesia and doesn't know if she can trust her husband who she wakes up seeing as a stranger every morning, so she keeps a journal to try and figure her life out. This leads her down a winding, seemingly endless path. This is the most frightening condition I can imagine. You are living, but yet not really!

    This is by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. I had my ideas and suspicions, but they never led me to the truth and the conclusion was unpredictable and the most frightening of all. I get so excited when I find a book that is so amazing and one of a kind discovery I practically stop living my life to get to the end of it! Excellent Writing; Excellent Storyline; Excellent Suspense; the endless tension is thoroughly encapsulating. Although the best but not one I could read again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Not sure...

    I found it very difficult to get into this book...I got a third of the way through and wondered when something was actually going to happen. It seemed to me it was like a car without a battery...it just wasn't going anywhere.

    I know that it takes a lot of research to write like this and I commend the writer for that, and though I am sure this book appeals to alot of people...it did nothing for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    A Riveting Plot...

    That will keep you guessing til the very end! A thrilling ride with an awesome twist!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Enjoyed it ...

    This is both a thriller and a love story, with friendship, betrayal and tons of suspense !
    Filled with intrigue, twists, and turns, very interesting without losing its momentum.
    Once I started this novel I was hooked. desperate to know how it would end.
    Enjoyed it, and look forward to see what's next by S.J Watson

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Good story fails to deliver

    Overall...the story was a good idea, but the telling of it became tedious....it just goes over the same territory again and again. Even fans of Ground Hog "Day will be skimming instead of reading half way through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    This book tanked!!

    You keep reading the same thing over and over with a little bit more with each chapter.....it's like a slow painful death.
    We picked this for our September Book Club pick and more than half us hate it.
    I had such high hopes for this book as it came highly recommended. We kept waiting for it to pick up and it never did.
    After reading the reviews of others we were wondering what book they had read and what we are missing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Great read...

    Great read for tge summer. Although it was hard to put down, the ending was predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    4 out of 10 In my opinion!!;o(

    For this month's book club meeting this book was the chosen read. I have to say I DIDN'T enjoy this book at ALL!! Don't get me wrong, there was plenty suspense but it was extremely repetitive. Every morning the main character woke up rehashing the same exact story. I was extremely disappointed considering the synopsis that was written about the book. The author drummed up so much suspense where you were expecting a big bang! Womp, womp...the plot was not what I hopped for. On the positive note the author created great suspense and the story ended with great hope for the main character and her family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Starts good, all downhill from there......

    I was intrigued by the sample, but little did I know that the rest of the book would be repetitive and achingly boring. Throw a predictable ending on top of that. Somewhere along the line I started wishing that Chrissy would just go ahead and pop a cap and put us both out of our misery.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Yuck

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read!! I am far from being a prude, however I felt the need to hide this vulgar book from my young grand children!!! Why do so many writters feel compelled to use the "f" word every other sentence? Do not waste your time or $$ on this piece of crap!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Myrt's Review A Brilliant Debut - Not To Be Missed! A psycholo

    Myrt's Review A Brilliant Debut - Not To Be Missed!

    A psychological drama that ultimately leads into a suspenseful thriller. The story is told from the first person perspective of Christine. Christine awakes each morning to find a strange man in her bed and to a face in the mirror she only barely recognizes as her own. Christine has been existing with a version of short term amnesia for over twenty years. The man in the bed is her devoted husband Ben and Christine is only able to remember herself as being in her 20's when she last fell asleep. Each day when Christine gets up she looks at the pictures her husband has taped up for her of the two of them and he then explains to her who she is. Each night she goes to sleep and the following morning the process begins again and again.

    Recently, Christine has started seeing a new doctor and at his suggestion she has begun to keep a journal of her days and noting any fragments of memory that occasionally pops up along with whatever information she learns about herself from Ben. Her husband is unaware of her meetings with the doctor or her journal as he is determined that no further medical intervention is needed since it has only served to cause her continuous anguish in the past when ultimately there was no change in her condition.

    Through her journal, Christine reminds herself each day, not only of who she is now, but through recording what bits of information about her past her husband fills in for her and what she learns working with the doctor she starts to form a written but fragmented memory of who she once was and what is happening in her life now. Through her journal entries Christine begins to notice discrepancies in what she is being told at different times and questions her mental state but also finds herself wondering if she can trust what her husband is telling her and what are the reasons he chooses to keep certain things from her. Is he trying to avoid upsetting her or himself? Through her work with her doctor Christine has snippets of memory but can't always trust these are real and not dreams.

    The complexities of Christine's condition and the degree her world has been winnowed down to just her daily interaction with her husband because of it is heartbreaking as when each day begins anew so must Christine start over. But using her private journal as a daily reminder of who she is now and a record of what she has been told and what little she remembers about her past Christine struggles to find a way to learn to live within the extreme limitations of her current life.

    It is only then, over three-quarters of the way through the book that the plot moves smoothly into the suspense thriller mode that has, oh so, quietly been an undercurrent throughout Christine's story as various facts abruptly come to a head and Christine is suddenly left to work out, within less than a day's time, what is happening around her and how to save herself.

    As a debut novel, it is amazing how well crafted and developed this story is and what a realistical and well defined character Christine is as the reader becomes her invisible companion from the moment she opens her eyes and faces the emotional shock of each morning. Her journal pulls you in as Christine struggles to put together pieces of missing information she doesn't always know if she can trust. You're elated with her at every success and brought down with her at each loss.

    The story is compelling as the uncertainty of what is real and what isn't slowly builds to an unexpected turn of events and suddenly everything seems turned around. Beware, it will keep you up until you reach the very end!

    Nobody gave me this book in exchange for my review. I just tripped over it and was so caught up by this story I had to spread the word about it. I can't wait to see what the author releases next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 823 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 42