Customer Reviews for

Before I Go to Sleep (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 809 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(282)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Great thriller (from Book Twirps)

Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, ot...
Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, others she believes she is a child. Most mornings she tip-toes to the restroom, and is surprised to find a middle-aged woman staring back at her from the mirror. It is there she finds pictures of herself and others taped to the wall. The pictures have names and identities below them. All left to remind her of who she is.

Christine lives with her husband Ben who, every day, has to tell her that she lost her memory after her accident 20-some-odd years ago. One day Christine receives a phone call from a neuropsychologist who tells her he has been working with her to help her retrive her memory. He gives her a journal that she has been keeping and on the very first page the words "DON'T TRUST BEN!" are written in her own handwriting.

This book is a psychological thriller that will have you turning the pages well after bedtime. It is obvious in the first few pages that something isn't quite right. Should she, or shouldn't she trust her husband? A majority of the book is Christine's Journal and to say anymore would give away the details, and I don't like to give spoilers. Though it does feel the author tends to spend a little too much time drawing things out, the ending packs such a punch that it's easily forgiven.

(Review based on an ARC courtesy of Netgalley)

posted by OtotheD on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

It's "Okay"

I honestly found this book VULGAR, tasteless, and PREDICTABLE! I've read enough amnesia stories to see the final result halfway through the book! The worst part was the language!! I just don't think it's necessary to have the F word in every other sentence.

posted by Tmrvica1225 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 282 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great thriller (from Book Twirps)

    Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, others she believes she is a child. Most mornings she tip-toes to the restroom, and is surprised to find a middle-aged woman staring back at her from the mirror. It is there she finds pictures of herself and others taped to the wall. The pictures have names and identities below them. All left to remind her of who she is.

    Christine lives with her husband Ben who, every day, has to tell her that she lost her memory after her accident 20-some-odd years ago. One day Christine receives a phone call from a neuropsychologist who tells her he has been working with her to help her retrive her memory. He gives her a journal that she has been keeping and on the very first page the words "DON'T TRUST BEN!" are written in her own handwriting.

    This book is a psychological thriller that will have you turning the pages well after bedtime. It is obvious in the first few pages that something isn't quite right. Should she, or shouldn't she trust her husband? A majority of the book is Christine's Journal and to say anymore would give away the details, and I don't like to give spoilers. Though it does feel the author tends to spend a little too much time drawing things out, the ending packs such a punch that it's easily forgiven.

    (Review based on an ARC courtesy of Netgalley)

    44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    This book grabbed my interest from the first page and I had trou

    This book grabbed my interest from the first page and I had trouble putting it down. It was a fascinating psychological thriller. However, the ending was implausible and very disappointing. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    You won't go to sleep

    At least not till you've finished this--it's a true page-turner. It's also well written, enough so that I was willing to suspend disbelief as much as the plot required (which was a lot). Even though I figured out what was going on well before the end, I had to know exactly how things would play out. The ending was a little bit of a disappointment--a fizzle rather than a bang--but overall this was a terrific read, and I look forward to S.J. Watson's next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Excellent!

    Could not put this book down. A one sitting read. Be prepared to stay up all night.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good book

    Great read. Didnt want to put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Recommended

    I haven't finished this book yet but it impels me to keep reading. It's an interesting read and you want to know what is going to happen. It's hard to imagine being in this situation and maybe it's my compassionate side that relates to Christine and her plight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Sweet dreams......

    I had read about this book from many sources, so I knew I was in for a treat. I was not disappointed. Check under the bed before you turn out the light....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Enjoyed it ...

    This is both a thriller and a love story, with friendship, betrayal and tons of suspense !
    Filled with intrigue, twists, and turns, very interesting without losing its momentum.
    Once I started this novel I was hooked. desperate to know how it would end.
    Enjoyed it, and look forward to see what's next by S.J Watson

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Great read...

    Great read for tge summer. Although it was hard to put down, the ending was predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Very engrossing

    Never read anything like it before. It is a testament to the author's power of story telling and engaging writing style that the inherent repetitiveness of Christine rediscovering her identity every day does not get old. It is a true page turner, and the surprise ending is well earned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Amazing story

    I felt happy everytime I got back to reading this story as it transported me for awhile. The story is well thought out and surprising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Well worth the read.

    This book was highly recommended by a friend. I am right there with her! Definitely hard to put down. I have never read a Watson novel before, but it won't be my last. Go for it, you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Definitely Recommended For Book Clubs!

    "Before I Go To Sleep" is a fascinating and unusual psychological thriller that keeps the reader turning pages. Although somewhat repetitious in the middle, one is inclined to forgive that in order to know how it will end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Interesting storyline!

    Good book with interesting characters. The ending was quite a suprise. It started a little slow but overall it was a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Great read!!

    Suspenseful and interesting. Keeps you guessing the entire time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read This Book

    I don't read this type normally, but this was a very good book. It was like 50 First Dates except suspenseful and creepy. My heart broke for this woman and I wondered how I woould react in those circumstances. I loved the fact that it was written journal form. Everyone should read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "I cannot imagine how I will cope when I discover that my l

    "I cannot imagine how I will cope when I discover that my life is behind me, has already happened, and I have nothing to show for it. No treasure house of recollection, no wealth of experience, no accumulated wisdom to pass on. What are we, if not an accumulation of our memories?"

    Before I Go To Sleep is S.J. Watson's first novel. I can't believe someone would take on such a theme for their first, being that the writing requires so much, but Mr. Watson did a great job! Before I Go To Sleep is about 47-year-old Cristine "Crissy" Lucas who suffered an accident in her twenties that caused severe retrograde and anterograde amnesia. "Each morning, her husband has to tell her who she is, who he is, and so on. And each morning, after he leaves for work, she receives a phone call and is prompted by a doctor to retrieve her secret journal. There, she discovers increasingly frightening inconsistencies in the stories that her husband tells her--and in what the doctor says." This psychological thriller is written in the first person from Cristine's perspective. I really liked this story. It was a bit slow for my taste but I think it had to do with the subject. Cristine has to start her life over every day, and the reader is reading her journal entries along with her and is basically just as confused as she is while she is trying to interpret her written experiences and distinguish what is true and who to trust.

    This story is coming to the big screen in 2014 starring Nicole Kidman, Mark Strong, and Colin Firth.

    My favorite quotes:
    “We’re constantly changing facts, rewriting history to make things easier, to make them fit in with our preferred version of events. We do it automatically. We invent memories. Without thinking. If we tell ourselves something happened often enough we start to believe it, and then we can actually remember it.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    i bought Audiobook. the whole part II from 11:31 become broken.

    i bought Audiobook. the whole part II from 11:31 become broken. it has 2 voice. what can i do? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Loved this book! I started reading it at 9am on a friday, and re

    Loved this book! I started reading it at 9am on a friday, and read it till i was finished that day. Knowing I wouldn't have time to read it on the weekend. I had to know how it ended. People complained about how some parts were repetitive. Of course there will be some, the poor woman has amnesia! Great book, I've already recommended it to my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 282 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15