Customer Reviews for

Before I Go to Sleep (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 858 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Great thriller (from Book Twirps)

Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, ot...
Every morning when she wakes up, Christine has no memory of who she is, where she is, or who the strange man lying next to her is. She has amnesia, and is unable to form new memories, or retain her old ones. Some mornings she wakes up thinking she is in her twenties, others she believes she is a child. Most mornings she tip-toes to the restroom, and is surprised to find a middle-aged woman staring back at her from the mirror. It is there she finds pictures of herself and others taped to the wall. The pictures have names and identities below them. All left to remind her of who she is.

Christine lives with her husband Ben who, every day, has to tell her that she lost her memory after her accident 20-some-odd years ago. One day Christine receives a phone call from a neuropsychologist who tells her he has been working with her to help her retrive her memory. He gives her a journal that she has been keeping and on the very first page the words "DON'T TRUST BEN!" are written in her own handwriting.

This book is a psychological thriller that will have you turning the pages well after bedtime. It is obvious in the first few pages that something isn't quite right. Should she, or shouldn't she trust her husband? A majority of the book is Christine's Journal and to say anymore would give away the details, and I don't like to give spoilers. Though it does feel the author tends to spend a little too much time drawing things out, the ending packs such a punch that it's easily forgiven.

(Review based on an ARC courtesy of Netgalley)

posted by OtotheD on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

It's "Okay"

I honestly found this book VULGAR, tasteless, and PREDICTABLE! I've read enough amnesia stories to see the final result halfway through the book! The worst part was the language!! I just don't think it's necessary to have the F word in every other sentence.

posted by Tmrvica1225 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    It's "Okay"

    I honestly found this book VULGAR, tasteless, and PREDICTABLE! I've read enough amnesia stories to see the final result halfway through the book! The worst part was the language!! I just don't think it's necessary to have the F word in every other sentence.

    60 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Good story fails to deliver

    Overall...the story was a good idea, but the telling of it became tedious....it just goes over the same territory again and again. Even fans of Ground Hog "Day will be skimming instead of reading half way through.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Okay summer read.

    I had no problem putting it down, in fact, stopped reading it to read another new book. Predictable and rushed ending. Comparing it to Shutter Island is just as far off as the comparison of The Help to To Kill a Mocking Bird.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Not sure...

    I found it very difficult to get into this book...I got a third of the way through and wondered when something was actually going to happen. It seemed to me it was like a car without a battery...it just wasn't going anywhere.

    I know that it takes a lot of research to write like this and I commend the writer for that, and though I am sure this book appeals to alot of people...it did nothing for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    4 out of 10 In my opinion!!;o(

    For this month's book club meeting this book was the chosen read. I have to say I DIDN'T enjoy this book at ALL!! Don't get me wrong, there was plenty suspense but it was extremely repetitive. Every morning the main character woke up rehashing the same exact story. I was extremely disappointed considering the synopsis that was written about the book. The author drummed up so much suspense where you were expecting a big bang! Womp, womp...the plot was not what I hopped for. On the positive note the author created great suspense and the story ended with great hope for the main character and her family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great until the end

    Like quite a few of the reviewers i was greatly impressed and couldnt put this book down. And then i got to the ending...what a letdown! Now i wish i would have saved my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Sample Review

    So far this book has caught my attention like none other

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Waste of money.

    I couldn't get through this book. The very nature of the story line demanded repetitiveness. I found it to be boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Shade

    Creeps in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Honestly, this book was incredibly disappointing- I literally ha

    Honestly, this book was incredibly disappointing- I literally had to force myself to finish it, I was so bored with it. I bought the book thinking that it was some kind of thrilling page-turner, because the reviews both on the cover and online all say that this novel is non-stop excitement. That is incredibly false. The concept of the book is interesting, but it is anything but exciting. I found myself incredibly bored by it all, and the "surprises" that the protagonist uncovers about her life are anything but surprising. If the reviews were more honest and played upon the interesting aspects of the book rather than the "thrilling" aspects (because there really aren't any), I would've been expecting something else from the book and would have been less disappointed by it. To sum it up- this book was a huge letdown, and I won't ever read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    BIZARRE!

    This has got to be the most bizarre book I have ever read. I just finished reading this book and it left me with the feeling of "why"? The first and last chapters were the only two with much sustenance and everything in the middle left me saying "yada yada yada". Obviously, I didn't like the book and would never recommend to anyone. Sorry Watson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I believe there was a movie about this it was called " 50 f

    I believe there was a movie about this it was called " 50 first dates "

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Not bad.

    Predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Meh...

    This book is not one of my favorites. It seems like this has been done before and is now being retold in another fashion. I don't find it that interesting. It feels predictable and shallow one dimensional character. I got about half way through it and really don't care how it ends. Wait until this book hits the $5 bin before you buy it or better yet, get it free from the library. Bland. Do not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Fail

    Too bad I had more hope for this book. There is a vast amount of suspense...then a ending that is a complete let down. Looks to me like the author had to meet a deadline and rushed what could have been a great ending. It left me feeling like the story was incomplete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Summer Fluff

    ..Repetitive.. Repetitive...Every new day you hear the same thing over and over and over.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Not memorable

    A good concept that starts off well but really starts to drag. The bulk of the novel is a journal by the amnesiac heroine Christine, who wakes up every day forgetting the day before and everything else after a mysterious accident screwed her up. Her flowery journal entries get very repetitive and unbelievable before long. As the novel wears on, her plight becomes less and less engrossing until it finally collapses in the last thirty or so pages under a less than satisfying twist. Letter grade: C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Not as good as I hoped.

    The ending left me longing for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Not terrible... not great

    The concept is good, but it eventually devolves into cliche with affairs and an overwrought heroine. Not my type of novel but its not really poorly written, just trite and obvious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3