Customer Reviews for

Before I Wake (Soul Screamers Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kaylee is now dead... or dead-ish to be more specific. When her

    Kaylee is now dead... or dead-ish to be more specific. When her Math teacher killed her Levi (Tod's boss) and Madeline brought her back so she could work for Madeline in the Reclamation Department.
    As a bean sidhe she was able to get back the stolen souls and help them reach their rightful destination. And the Reclamation Department needed her help badly after some humans had died and their souls disappeared.

    But in her first assignment she realizes that every rule she thought applied to herself is a lie, that she being immortal was of no importance and that her family and friends were in deep trouble... Worst of all, hell was breaking loose and so far it seemed that there was no way of stoping it.

    If that wasn't enough her life was beginning to crumble to pieces; nothing felt the same way nothing tasted the same and school, music and even friends were beginning to feel unreal... How could she feel like everybody else when she wasn't going to age anymore, or go to college?!

    At least one thing remained the same and that was her new reaper boyfriend, Tod. But what if being with her meant more troubles for him?

    Personal opinion:
    When I wrote my review of If I Die Rachel Vincent had surpassed everything I expected and had gone beyond my wildest dreams creating a book full of emotions, feelings and excitement that was too much to handle...

    This time she did the same thing but multiplied by 10, at least. You have no idea, guys, I'm serious here... Before I Wake was a rollercoaster of everything: I cried a lot, I laughed like crazy, I loved Tod even more, I wanted to confort Kaylee in every page and I was worried sick with what was going on.
    Oh my goodness, I know I can't tell you anything but... but... It is SO difficult to explain myself when all I want to do is re-read the book and then sit in a chair to wait for the next -and sadly- final book of the series coming out next year.

    Next year... oh man, this is going to be a looong wait.

    Anyway, if you have read the series so far I encourage you to buy this book, you won't regret it at all, you will love it and you will hate at the same time; too many things happen and some of them are so heartbreaking, so surreal that I HAD to go outside, take a walk and clear my mind so I could keep reading. Definitely things have changed and we will go with Kaylee through all the changes, all the fears and all the emotions.

    Without doubt the best book so far, it's darker than the others and way more thrilling. And the ending... All I'm going to say about it is that I would give everything to read With All My Soul tonight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. finished it v

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. finished it very quickly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    OMG!

    omg this book was so hoplessly romantic an so bleapin good! wats the next book called?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Rachel Vincent is a genius. Her words take you places you never

    Rachel Vincent is a genius. Her words take you places you never thought you could go. She creates believable worlds within the fantasy realm. I recommend everything she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Perfect

    This whole series is completely perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is¿. something. I'm not quite sure what that something

    This book is…. something. I'm not quite sure what that something is just yet. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely loved it. Before I Wake dragged me onto an emotional roller coaster that left me a little shaken up. I must have literary vertigo. Yeah, that's it.

    As always, this book was beautifully written without seeming to be too formal. As a reader, it's very important to me that each of the characters have a "voice." This sort of mental tenor I hear every time they speak, or in Kaylee's case, throughout the entire narration. The twisted mess that is my brain needs this as an anchor to tie the entire story together because without it, nothing seems real enough for me to believe it.

    Each of the characters needs to be so defined that they create their own person. Someone that I can count on to maybe not always make the right decision, but one that makes sense for them. They have to be able to surprise me without making me feel skeptical, and they definitely have to make me miss them when they're gone.

    Before I Wake had all of this and more: it was an entire whirlwind of craziness. It made me laugh so often that I was sore, and it made my heart swell with pride during those "awwwww…." moments. But I was so in shock throughout the entire thing that I don't think I fully came to terms with all that had come to pass until long after I reached the last page.

    And that's when I broke down into tears.

    Everything was kicked up another level from where things stood after If I Die. The stakes are higher, rules are broken, and suddenly everything is on the line because no one is safe anymore. All hell is about to break loose. Literally.

    Taylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Endless rambling

    I have read all of the books in the series and this one was not engaging at all. The story was weak and the only interesting character was Sabine. Her books were better when they were 99 cents and they werent pumped out to fufill a book deal.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

     I have never avoided a book like a plague. But this book, I avo

     I have never avoided a book like a plague. But this book, I avoided. Whenever I would walk into my library to choose book to read, I swear it would stare right at me, taunting me. I'm serious. I would intentionally ignore it and look away cause the minute I gave in, I was doomed. Finally, I gave in. And yes, I'm doomed now...




    It's not that this book is bad. It's the exact opposite.  Freaking AWESOME! I avoided it for two reasons. The first being that if I read it right away, the longer I have to wait for the next book. And when it comes to Rachel Vincent books, I'm as impatient as a spoiled kid. I WANT THE NEXT BOOK NOW!
    The second, Sabine pisses me off! The chick can get under my skin by just the mention of her name and she is not even real! Do you know how insane that is? That a person who doesn't even exist ticks me off so badly. *SMH* Told you I was doomed....




    The plot is great! Just like her other books, it's filled with non-stop action, lots of plot twist and turns. I like how nicely the turn of events changes things. Kaylee has grown so much along with her father and friends. And of course once again, Kaylee has thrown herself into the fiery pits of hell to save the ones that she loves.




    The love interest is the best part of this book. Kaylee has found someone that she loves and trusts. You can really tell the difference of peace that floats around her when she is with him. He gives Kaylee just whats she needs when she needs it most. He always has her back and follows along with whatever trouble she finds herself in... Did I mention that this girl is a magnet for trouble?




    Before I Wake is an awesomely amazing book. I can see why I avoided it. Cause now that I am done with it and with the way that it ended, I now have to wait three tortuous months to read the conclusion.  Am I happy about this? HELL NO! There's no denying a good book when you've read one.  Rachel Vincent continues to awe her readers with her ambitious writing. Before I Wake is the beginning of the end in a series that I have fell in love with since book one. It's awesome. Relentless. A story like no other. Oh hell, just read the book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Majorly Disappointed

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Valerie

    Spoiler Alert!

    If I Die was positively the best book in the Soul Screamers series. It really raised the bar and actually made me excited for the sequel. However, when I finally read Before I Wake, it had me really disappointed. Don’t get me wrong; Before I Wake is a perfectly good novel, but compared to the awesomest read ever, it really can’t compare. I feel like Before I Wake was supernumerary after If I Die, but that’s only my opinion.

    My favorite part of the whole book is any part that includes Tod. I was so happy for Tod and Kaylee when they finally became a couple! I was in my own happy land! If you’re Team Tod, you’ll definitely be swooning over all his moments. He’s my favorite character in the whole series, other than Kaylee, of course. I mean, he’s just so hilarious and loyal and caring. What else can a girl ask for?

    If I could summarize what happens in Before I Wake, it would be “Kaylee meets a necromancer and Avari is back with more treacherous plans. Don’t forget all the excessive deaths that happen!” Honestly, a lot of people die. Some people aren’t major characters, but a few totally are. I was so confused as to why Rachel Vincent would kill so many people if it makes the book so hard to read, but hey, at least it was really interesting! Still, I really hated the deaths of certain characters. It was just too many deaths in such a short time.

    Another thing I really do admire is how Sophie gets a larger role in the story. Yeah, it might be because she’s dating a necromancer, but I really do appreciate how she participates in the action. Or at least she tries to. I like how she and Kaylee improve their relationship throughout the book; character development is a huge part of a book for me. I’m really glad that both characters develop in a realistic way.

    Definitely read Before I Wake! It’s not lacking in action, that’s for sure. And if you have a thing for Tod, you should definitely check this book out. Believe me, you won’t be disappointed! If you’re Team Nash, I don’t know what to say. Maybe reread the first and the second book and have a good time remembering?

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    What?

    Ok i absolutely love these books but one thing kinda makes me mad... how can you date brothers?!?! I just dont understand that. If i dated brothers, i would feel so guilty every time i saw the other one. Idk, maybe its just me...
    Tori

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Love

    One more and its over.. ;p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Must read

    This is a must read. I can not wait for the finale next year. Love these characters. Beware if you have a young teen that Kaylee's relationship with Todd does take a step in a very adult direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How Can It Be?

    Anyway, I just finished Before I Wake this afternoon. I love the Soul Screamer Series so so so much. And Tod...major swoon. I'm still not sure if anything can beat out the 5th book, If I Die. I mean what can top a starstruck lover giving up his afterlife for the girl he loved, then she turns around and bargains with the powers that be to bring Tod back as a Reaper and free Nash of all false murder charges. Kaylee is quite the bargainer...I want her on my side in the end.

    The sixth installment had me giggling at Kaylee's and Tod's witty banter, Sabine's complete insanity, and Sophie's uncomfortable acceptance of her, now, not-crazy cousin. After all, Luca and Sofie visited the Netherworld in a little novella, Never to Sleep. But...tears also made an appearance while watching Kaylee struggle to "live," her dad learn to let go, and seeing Nash hurt. Regardless of the scenario, everyone in this little group has made their mistakes, from drug addiction to actually trying to auction off someone to the evil Avari so she can get to the boy she loves. What I admired most about this book, is Kaylee's refusal to leave a single one of her friends without protection, no matter how messed up they were.

    Kaylee is everything I wish I could be and, at the same time, everything I am. She's loyal, strong, and take charge. She's also scared, a tad bit depressed, and completely lost at times. I mean, I think about the next ten years and freak out, can you imagine looking forward to eternity? No thank you. She has also found her true love, someone that can remain by her side for all of eternity - assuming neither of them break any rules that will end their afterlives or get re-killed by Avari and his band of hellions.

    Rachel is one of few authors who make you care about the side characters just as much as you care about Kaylee, Tod, and Nash. While there are times I would like to strangle Sabine, Before I Wake gives you some insight into her lover for Nash and her fears. Who knew the mara had fears, she's a living, breathing nightmare after all. She's waiting for Nash to get over Kaylee, which absolutely cannot be easy. Nash is struggling through his love and hatred for Kaylee - slowly and awkwardly. His dependence on mind-altering substances poses some major issues.

    Emma's finally found a boyfriend, a human boyfriend. I love the way Emma's character is written because she's not the "weak little human" among her group of friends. She's strong in her own ways and a totally kick ass friend to Kaylee. She never runs screaming when Kaylee tells her about Avari's newest endeavor - the ability to physically cross over from the Netherworld to the human plane. Stealing souls from everyday normal humans and Reapers and Extractors.

    Avari's plan culminates at the end of the book, leaving us with another cliffhanger. I can't imagine waiting on the final story.

    Many things are resolved in Before I Wake but others remain unknown and uncharted. My heart quickened with excitement, slowed with Kaylee's desperation, and stilled in terror. If you haven't started this series, I recommend you do so soon. And...never fear, the times Kaylee's story seems slow or uncomfortable all rebound, leaving readers wondering WTH?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The storyline: What can I say? This book blew me away!!! Literal

    The storyline: What can I say? This book blew me away!!! Literally! I
    don’t know what I was expecting or what I was not expecting, but it had
    definitely exceeded my expectations. The turn of events and the way this
    book had a new storyline yet it was also a continuation of the previous
    one, I just didn’t know what to expect. First, as always, here’s a
    summary of what happens in this book, it’ll be probably short because I
    don’t want to spoil anything, but as a warning, you should not be
    reading this review unless you’ve read If I Die, otherwise it’ll feel
    like I’m throwing random information and surprises at you. Summary: The
    story continues a month after Kaylee’s death, with her trying to
    understand what happened and act normal by going to school and “pretend”
    to be normal. Yet, her life has never been more abnormal than the first
    week of her school. Now that she’s dead, training for her new job as an
    extractor, trying to build a new friendship with Nash, Sabine and
    Sophie, and being with Tod, they don’t seem to save her from the
    Netherworld nor to stop Avari from playing one more game. After thinking
    they got rid of him, he’s back now stronger and deadlier than ever to
    strike one last time and do whatever it take to get what he wants,
    Kaylee’s soul. This new event changes everything. It uncovers more
    secrets, strengthens the relationships and causes more death and
    destruction then ever before. Now Kaylee must make decisions, ones that
    her friends and families’ lives depend on them, and put her own
    afterlife at stake. What I loved: - The storyline itself was unique
    (again) and had so many twists and surprises. I couldn’t keep up! - The
    writing is wonderful, as usual and it was fast paced in a very good way.
    I didn’t feel like anything was rushed or out of its place. It was
    clear, simple and direct to the point. - The characters, and all of them
    (except Avari for the first time) are wonderful. The new friendships
    between them were very good to see and know it existed. How they became
    close and protective of each other. And especially the new Kaylee, in If
    I Die I didn’t like her a lot. She kept acting as if in denial. In this
    book however, she matured a lot because of her death and because Tod is
    mature too. She fights better, thinks better, rationalize better and
    tries her best. Also, we get to meet the old characters too. It was very
    refreshing and scary at the same time, because I could since the end
    coming. - The twists, the action, the romance, the death, the gore all
    were present in Before I Wake. It was just awesome. - The ending. What
    in the world just happened?! *_* What I disliked: Absolutely nothing!
    Well, after a second thought, maybe I dislike not having an excerpt from
    With All My Soul!! Conclusion: I’m happy to say this is by far the
    most exquisite book I’ve read this year. It just blew me away. I’m sad
    that this series is coming to an end and at the same time I’m very
    excited for With All My Soul <3. Note: Don’t read Before I Wake
    before reading both If I Die and it’s prequel Never to Sleep. Because
    there are references to both and especially If I Die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Soul Screamers is one of my favorite series at the moment. I can

    Soul Screamers is one of my favorite series at the moment. I can hardly wait to dive into the next book when it comes out.
    Before I Wake is a very different book than the rest of the series. It deals with a lot of the consequences from the previous book.
    Kaylee has gone through a lot. In Before I Wake, she is dealing with a lot and trying to figure things out. In a way, she does seem like a different person. There is almost this sadness in her now. Not that you can blame her. But behind all of that, there is still the same selfless, kick-ass girl.

    We still have the same cast of characters, along with a few new additions. I have to say that I really like all of the characters in this series. Even the ones I don't like are ones that I love to hate. Vincent does an excellent job giving all of Kaylee's friends so many different sides.
    Now, I have to say something. First, I love Tod. Totally and completely, from the first book. That being said, there was something that bothered me. Just a little. Kaylee is dealing with a lot, but she mentions several times how the only time she can feel alive and happy and herself is when she is with Tod. I'm glad they have such a good relationship, but I kind of wish that Kaylee could find some of that strength herself, and not have to depend on Tod for that. But I still love Tod.
    So, all in all, Before I Wake is not my favorite book in the series. I still really, really liked it, and this is still my favorite series. I can't wait to read the final installment, but I'm not ready for this series to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I loved it!

    This book was so addictive i couldnt put it down! Kaylee and Tod are so cute and I cant wait till the next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Love

    I love this series. Happy Tod ends up with Kaylee. I thought this was the last book but i guess i was wrong. I really cant wait for the next book. I will be sad to see this series end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Before i wake

    Wonderfull book sad the series is ending though :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Question?

    Loved it!! Wats da name of da next book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3