BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Holy crap,,,,,

This book is awesome one of the best of the series ! Keep them coming....... I love love when a manwhore falls......like always Samantha Young makes me want to move to Scotland and become friends with the gang!!!!!

posted by 17466002 on January 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

## Well I'm torn. There were both good and not so good in this book.

What I liked:
I loved that the author let this couple have so much fun together. Sometimes it's hard to believe a couple can fall in love when all there is is bitterness and arguements. Also, they h...
## Well I'm torn. There were both good and not so good in this book.

What I liked:
I loved that the author let this couple have so much fun together. Sometimes it's hard to believe a couple can fall in love when all there is is bitterness and arguements. Also, they had tremendous chemistry and the witty dialogue was so refreshing. I loved, LOVED that the heroine didn't just automatically forgive the hero after the terrible hurt he caused like in so many books I've read. She made him feel her pain and even dated someone else to try to move on. It was awesome seeing this man-whore jealous.

What I didn't like:
That once again the hero had to be a man-whore. The author beat us over the head with it. Mentioning it once would've sufficed. We had to read about him hooking up with many women and to me that's not sexy at all. It really takes away from the romance. I have a difficult time believing that this hero could be faithful to one woman. Another thing that bothered me were all the secondary characters. There were so many. I guess if you've read the others in the series you'd care about them more. I just didn't. And lastly, the proposal sucked.

posted by 9394860 on February 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Nate and Olivia are good friends who like to hang out, watch mov

    Nate and Olivia are good friends who like to hang out, watch movies, crack jokes and just spend their free time together. Olivia spent her most of her teens years caring for her dying mother so she didn’t have that period of her life to experience flirting and boys and sex. Now she is in her mid-20s, inexperienced and uncertain of her own attraction to men. Olivia is a librarian at the college and is attracted to one of the post-grads who comes to her help desk. Every time she sees him she gets tongue-tied. She enlists the help of her womanizing friend Nate to help her learn to flirt, and Nate teaches her to be comfortable with her own attractiveness to men.

    As the time comes to turn the flirting practice into reality, Olivia realizes how uncomfortable she is with her lack of sexual experience (she only had one lover/one time and it was BAD). She again turns to Nate to show her how to please a man in bed.

    Although the practice sessions with Nate gives her the experience she desperate wanted, it also solidified her initial attraction to Nate and turns it into love. But Olivia knows the reason behind Nate’s decision not to have relationships with women. He gave his heart to his childhood sweetheart and watched her die of cancer at a young age. He never intends to feel that bond with anyone else.

    Olivia needs to make a break from her practice session with Nate before she loses her heart completely, but it might already be too late.

    THOUGHTS:
    I have loved this series, but I think this might be my favorite couple. Nate and Olivia are just so much fun together and you can see just how perfect they are together as a couple. When they add sex to the relation, their passion for each other burns bright. But you know with Nate’s background, what will unfortunately be coming down the road for them.

    God, I love a good friends to lovers story, and this one included a bit of a twist. Usually the friends decide to risk the friendship for a romantic relationship. In this story Olivia wants Nate’s help in being more comfortable with men and after becoming more comfortable after a practice kissing session, Olivia makes the leap asking Nate to show her her to please a man in bed. Although they both show some hesitation about ruining the friendship, they are both interested in the prospect of sex, so those concerns take a backseat to lust.

    Even though their practice sessions last for weeks and they are absolutely perfect together, Nate does eventually freak out about his own feelings for Olivia, and gives her the “you know I don’t do relationships” speech. But watching him try to win Olivia back makes for a great story as well. You have to give kudos to Olivia for having the strength to keep pushing Nate away, even though you know she doesn’t want to, but being with Nate has now given her the self-confidence to know she wants to be someone’s love of their life, and not a settled for second best to the ghost of Nate’s first love.

    I will definitely be giving this one a re-read when an opportunity arises.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Holy crap,,,,,

    This book is awesome one of the best of the series ! Keep them coming....... I love love when a manwhore falls......like always Samantha Young makes me want to move to Scotland and become friends with the gang!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Before Jamaica Lane is the third book in Samantha Young's highly

    Before Jamaica Lane is the third book in Samantha Young's highly acclaimed, On Dublin Street series. This is a great best friends turned lovers story that will have readers staying up late to see what happens next. Though this book is essentially a contemporary romance, it also deals with some issues that many women face, like problems with body image and confidence. Young does a masterful job of creating some amazing love scenes while also showing compassion and understanding. A great addition to the series!

    What I liked:

    Samantha Young is a writer after my own heart. First, she's from Scotland, always a plus in my book. Secondly, she has a knack for writing a story that could happen to anyone and making it extremely unique and romantic. I have always said that I wanted to marry my best friend, because that is the person who really knows you and not the person you use to impress others. I think Young takes that idea and runs with it in Before Jamaica Lane, creating a couple of friends who don't realize they couldn't do without each other until one of them wants to impress someone else.

    I loved the way that Nate and Olvia react to each other. They have a very playful banter that is common among friends who know each other well. They can do the simplest of things together like watching a movie and it becomes a good time, because they each know how the other will react. They had a kind of chemistry that can't help but evolve into something else, but they needed a catalyst. Young brilliantly added a new postgrad student who Olivia decides she wants to know better, but her issues with self-confidence are getting in the way. Who better to help her get over them than her best friend... 

    Olivia was such a great character. She was one of those girls who never found the confidence it took to stand out in a crowd. She is now a librarian, who doesn't know how beautiful she is. I liked the fact that she was very spontaneous, but still reserved. With Nate she was happy and able to voice her opinions and she was confident but not with others, that should have been her first clue. Young writes her as smart and a bit sassy, but scared of failing when it came to men.

    Nate is a great hero. He's definitely a ladies man, but his are not your typical reasons. Having lost his former love Alana, heartbreak seems to be his nemesis and he never wants to get close enough to anyone else to have it happen to him again. He just can't seem to help himself with Olvia though. She is everything he needs and when his lessons in confidence go a little further than expected, the sparks start flying.

    What I didn't like:

    Not too much I didn't like about this one. The characters are well written and the plot is a new twist on the best friends to lovers theme. Young provides not only a primer in flirting with a man, but also a lesson in having the confidence to do anything. A great addition to the series.

    Bottom Line:

    This is a sexy contemporary romance series and readers who are looking for a great feel good story will love this one. The nature of the book may not be appropriate for young readers but the rest of us will be sitting back drooling over Nate and wishing Olivia the best chance in the world at love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Favorite of the Series thus far!

    Loved the book. This is my favorite one by far in the series. If you enjoyed the others don't pass this one up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    I've enjoyed all of Samantha's previous books about Dublin Stree

    I've enjoyed all of Samantha's previous books about Dublin Street,but this is my favorite so far! I love that Liv is a real gal with real hang ups and Nate is a drop dead gorgeous guy who seems to have it all together but both have demons to work through and turn to their best friend for help.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Fantastic

    I love this author and this series, but Dublin Street, the first book of the series, was by far the best of all. To my surprise, this one was as good as the first one. It surprised me because Liv and Nate were really tertiary characters (Liv is Jo's cousin and Nate, Cam's friend) and we knew little about them. So I was not particularly excited that this book focused on them. Was I wrong! Great, great story, terrific character development, and a great book where all the characters from previous books merge. Readers new to the series will definitely need to read the previous books first to fully appreciate this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    The best in the series!

    From all of the series and I mean all of them,this is my favorite! Its sexy ,its real,its heart breaking, I think this are most believable characthers she ever wrote, the took my heart and i have read this book 4 times already ,that didnt happen with the other 3 and i loved Branden and Joss, but this one I had write a review I never write for any other book. I' m sure people its going to enjoyed as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    love this one from the series next to the First one.

    love this one from the series next to the First one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Amazing. Kept me turning

    I love this book! I think the author did a great job with the timing of it all. In some books I feel like the author is stuck, too much angst, too perfect of a relationship in others, but this was neither. I loved that Olivia became confident in the end and that Nate really found who he was. I would love to see a book from Hannah, as well a Cole. Overall a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    This is a call in sick/take a vacation day/hide from the world u

    This is a call in sick/take a vacation day/hide from the world until you finish it book!!! Olivia's insecurities are relatable to all women, as well as her concerns about Nate's feelings about Alana. The sex was HOT yet unpredictable , which was sometimes the best part about it. This was the best in the series so far. Can't wait for the next book in June to find out how Olivia and Nate are and if it's a boy or girl. The narrative made you feel a part of the story which made turning the page an urgency yet the ending was bittersweet because you just don' want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Another must read in this series!

    Oh,to see a man whore fall and have to beg to get a great woman back. They were friends turn to lovers but she breaks it off because he can't fall in love due to a past love's death. So, Olivia survives to breakup and tries to live again. Nate realizes he now needs her back. Let the begging begin. It is also nice to see the other characters in this series living their lives and going forward. Can't wait for the next book, which are all stand alone books, to happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Best Book of the On Dublin Street Series and I loved them all.

    Samantha Young writes about relationships like on other. Highly recommend this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I am SO in love with this series! I love every single character

    I am SO in love with this series! I love every single character and I find myself wishing I had a big group of close friends like the group in the series! I absolutely love the storyline of Nate and Olivia! I HIGHLY recommend this entire series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Wonderful

    Samantha did not disappoint. I loved this story, as I did the others. I love all the characters. This has just the right amount of emotion. You can feel it with the people in the story. This is a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Love all her books!!!

    I can not wait for the next book!!!! I reread them all the time they never get old!! Please dont make me wait that long for the next!!!! X lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Sizzling

    Couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    My favorite in the series

    I loved this book! I have loved every book in the series but Liv and Nate have been my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Awesome

    Absolutely love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Let's start with I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!!! I wasn't sure about

    Let's start with I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!!!

    I wasn't sure about Liv's story but her struggles resonated with me. For poor Liv she doesn't see what everyone else sees when it comes to her. She is surrounded around great friends and a new family but she is lonely. She knows she has no chance for her gorgeous best friend but she is also tired of getting tongue tied when any cute boy pays her attention.

    I believed in all the things written within me. I'd just somehow along the way stopped believing in my book jacket. I don't know why. But I don't thing that was ever meant to happen. I don't think I was ever meant to be the kind of person who questions her own adequacy; who allows anyone to make her think she's lacking in some way.

    For Nate he is definitely a player but it is only to protect his heart because losing the love of your life at an early age is hard to move on from.

    Olivia wants to move forward so she asks for help from her best friend Nate to give her experience.

    "I don't want to be the person who looks in the mirror and hates what she sees, or be the person that moans about how she can't interact with a guy long enough to secure a date. That's not a good person to be, Nate. I just want to be like everyone else. Have a relationship with the opposite sex. But I can't. It's pathetic. But at least I'm not pathetic enough to moan about it."

    Nate jumps at the chance to teach Liv love lessons without getting emotional attached. What could go wrong with blurred lines.

    "... Friends are important to me, Liv. And last night a friend cried in my arms and admitted she was unhappy." He brushed my cheek affectionately. "You deserve happiness, babe. What's the harm in letting me help you to try to obtain it?"

    Quickly Nate and Liv fall into bed and a routine of a relationship non-relationship. All goes well until feelings get involved. With these lessons Liv realizes what she deserves at the same time she is fighting a ghost for Nates affection.

    "I do. I'm very much in love with him. But he won't ever allow himself to love me the way he loved Alana. She was his big love. I want to be be someone's big love, Dad. I think I deserve to have the man I love love me back just as much."

    Moving on is hard once you fall in love. Without each other the quickly realize what they are missing but the heart is on the line so it needs to be all or nothing with these two to survive.

    "But I do need you to know that I'm going to fight for you. I'm not making the mistake of walking away from you again. The only man in your future is me, Liv. The only kid in your future are mine."

    I loved Nate and Liv. Their struggles, friendship and love was beautiful and trying. Together they make each other whole.

    "Alana was my first love and I'll never forget her. She's a part of me and always will be. But I know it's time to move forward, it's time to start living in the after. You're that for me, Liv. You're the love of my life."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Loved it

    This book was awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3