Customer Reviews for

Before Midnight: A Retelling of ''Cinderella'' (Once upon a Time Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Before Midnight was an interesting retelling of Cinderella. Though it started off a little slow, it kept my interest the entire book and wrapped up with a really great ending. Though it wasn't the best book I've ever read, I enjoyed it very much and would say to anyone ...
Before Midnight was an interesting retelling of Cinderella. Though it started off a little slow, it kept my interest the entire book and wrapped up with a really great ending. Though it wasn't the best book I've ever read, I enjoyed it very much and would say to anyone looking at it that it's certainly worth reading!

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sweet retelling of Cinderella in a real setting

Though this version didn't have as much conflict as the classic tale, the invusion of original (and actually, more acurate to the original Grimm Brothers' version) angles and characters kept this one compelling and whimsical. There is even a bit of twist!

posted by Whisperlynn on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet retelling of Cinderella in a real setting

    Though this version didn't have as much conflict as the classic tale, the invusion of original (and actually, more acurate to the original Grimm Brothers' version) angles and characters kept this one compelling and whimsical. There is even a bit of twist!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    Before Midnight was an interesting retelling of Cinderella. Though it started off a little slow, it kept my interest the entire book and wrapped up with a really great ending. Though it wasn't the best book I've ever read, I enjoyed it very much and would say to anyone looking at it that it's certainly worth reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Fantastic!!

    This book was so much fun! I am a super sucker for fairytale re-imaginings and I love that this one was completely different than anything else I have read ( fairytale-wise ). If you like twists on classics, this book is for you. I have also read Snow in this series and I loved that as well. Guess I'll have to get them all!! you should too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    This book is not written well. The first part of the book is so

    This book is not written well. The first part of the book is so slow and
    boring (you almost get lost). The second part of the book is where all
    the action takes place--and it's a bit disappointing in the action. The
    characters are not well-developed or realistic---everyone seems too
    polite and perfect. I like the fact that the author tried to go a
    different route in telling the story, but the plot was resolved too fast
    and I still feel like I have no idea who the characters really are. This
    book was also very redundant about wishing, true love, and love at first
    sight--I would've liked more time getting to know more about the
    character's and their lives. The only thing that gives you a hint that
    they are in France is that the girls call the stepmother 'Maman' and
    Cinderella's name is turned to Cendrillon (which I didn't even know was
    French). Another thing I didn't like was how the characters don't know
    what time era they are in. One minute they are speaking in modern
    language, and the next they are trying to use formal phrases that are
    supposed to make them sound like they are from a long time ago. Other
    than all of that, it is an okay book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!!

    This book is so much better than the noring cinderella and i love it if there is any book you should read in this series read this book AMAZINGLY AMAZING!!!!!!! ( The girl on the cover is so ugly)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I highly enjoyed this book! I am not a big fan of the fairy tale 'Cinderella', but this book strayed away just enough from the original storyline for me to love it! I can still see 'Cinderella' in it, but not so much that it is an exact repeat. PROPS TO CAMERON DOKEY ON THIS ONE!!! lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    BUY it. BUY IT NOW!!

    Very good. Cameron makes Cinderella very exciting and interesting. Many new twists! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good and creative book

    This was a pretty good book. It switched things around from the original story, for example the father was the the bad guy. I might not have loved the stepmother and stepsisters but i came to really like them. I loved to see how they became a close family that loved each other. I liked reading about Cenderillon's relationship with raule and i was anxious to learn who he really was but when that part finally came it came suddenly and i had trouble following it to. The beginning of the book lacked the action that i hoped to see sooner and its ending was really rushed and it could have been more drawn out and it could have at least had an epologue. On the bright side i feel like this story had deeper meaning than it let on. Overall i think that this was a very creative and good book that is capable of being enjoyed by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    great!!

    it was a great read but too many errors like spellng

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Befor midnight

    Best book ever! I love cameron dokey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Dummies

    CENDRILLON not CINDERELLA. Get your facts straight!! Tight book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Entertaining and Fun Read

    I loved reading this book. It was touching and lovely written. I loved the way that Cameron Dokey created the story in a new light. Using this book, I even got my sister addicted to this series. That is not an easy task. I think it is a delightfully enchanting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    AWESOME

    Really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    This is a great book, I love how the Author twisted the story, instead of a evil step mother she was a lot nicer and treated Cinderalla as one of her own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great twist on a famous fairy tale i say everyone should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great

    This book was great. There were a lot of twists which kept it interesting and exciting. I recomend this book to anyone who likes fairy tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    So wonderfully amazing!!!!!

    I just love everything about this book! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Re-Telling of Cinderella

    This story is a very interesting Re-Telling of Cinderella with several interesting characters and twists that shape the story in unexpected but intriguing ways. This is a great story that keeps the reader interested and makes the reader want to keep reading till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Wow

    That was one of the best books I have ever read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Wow

    So when I was first beginning to read this I was disappointed because I had a feeling it was not going to be going the way I was hoping. Amazingly I was pleased more towards the end. I hope that you, the wonderful reviewer, are going to buy this. The book will "Make the clock stop and your heart drop then come alive" (Boys Like Girls) I give it a 9. Thanks for reading. -MVM(:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6