Customer Reviews for

Before Midnight

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

posted by ShellyBF on March 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blacks

Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blackstream
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.
This sounded interesting, something a bit different from the usual paranormal romance. Its a kind of retelling of Cinderella, not an update but a remake, a st...
Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blackstream
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.
This sounded interesting, something a bit different from the usual paranormal romance. Its a kind of retelling of Cinderella, not an update but a remake, a story to include werewolves. Take note: the prologue is very important. It doesn't seem to relate to this book until the end, and then I realised that its a theme that draws this book into an overall story with further retelling of famous tales.
Its quite “light” in feel, no real dark, strong emotions or deep, heavy sensuality. Its very true to the original Cinderella story in feel, with there being all the elements of step sisters, wicked step mother, handsome prince, even the “slipper” and the fairy godmother have undergone a transformation. Its was an interesting read but...not one that really resonated with me, and I won't look for more.
I guess this novel is perfect for those who like a quick, light and easy paranormal read, with an element of romance and a surprise in the tail :) I tend to want deeper, heavier reads and thankfully we have authors that write to suit all our tastes. I didn't really enjoy this but that doesn't mean it wasn't well written, it was, the plots all line up neatly and there are no unanswered questions – or horrible cliffhangers, even though this is clearly a series. Its simply a matter of me wanting something different from my reading materials.
Stars: two and a half, I didn't dislike the story, I just didn't really like it either for the reasons given.
ARC supplied via Netgalley

posted by jeanniezelos on November 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blacks

    Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blackstream
    Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.
    This sounded interesting, something a bit different from the usual paranormal romance. Its a kind of retelling of Cinderella, not an update but a remake, a story to include werewolves. Take note: the prologue is very important. It doesn't seem to relate to this book until the end, and then I realised that its a theme that draws this book into an overall story with further retelling of famous tales.
    Its quite “light” in feel, no real dark, strong emotions or deep, heavy sensuality. Its very true to the original Cinderella story in feel, with there being all the elements of step sisters, wicked step mother, handsome prince, even the “slipper” and the fairy godmother have undergone a transformation. Its was an interesting read but...not one that really resonated with me, and I won't look for more.
    I guess this novel is perfect for those who like a quick, light and easy paranormal read, with an element of romance and a surprise in the tail :) I tend to want deeper, heavier reads and thankfully we have authors that write to suit all our tastes. I didn't really enjoy this but that doesn't mean it wasn't well written, it was, the plots all line up neatly and there are no unanswered questions – or horrible cliffhangers, even though this is clearly a series. Its simply a matter of me wanting something different from my reading materials.
    Stars: two and a half, I didn't dislike the story, I just didn't really like it either for the reasons given.
    ARC supplied via Netgalley

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Re-write

    If you've read Cinderella....you have read this book. This is a re-write with a new twist.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

    Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Creative and fresh

    This is a great new twist on the classic Cinderella story. Better than the original! Can't wait to read the next in the series. Fun read and clever use of mythology.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Fun read

    Fun evening read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Loved it!

    What a great spin on the cinderella story. Icant wait to read more of her books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Tooth and nail

    Amazing love story. The auther really did put an amazing twist 2 the cinderella story. U will really like this story. U should sit down and cuddle up with the story. It was an amazing book 2me and it will be an amazing book 2 u 2. U won't ragret it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    It was good

    I liked it though it was pretty darn gruesome in some parts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Cinderella!!!

    This is a paranormal version of the story cinderella. Itvwas amazing short romantic book. I could not put the book down until I finished. I think this book was written well. I loved that it was cute. Loved it ;) You should read it too. <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    New cinderella

    This was a good book and is the first of a series. There were some editing errors but if you can overlook those you will be delighted

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Mamasaint60

    A good read. A different look at werewolf myth. Also, good comparison to the fairy tale genre on TV? The author used Cinderella. A bit gory in places, and silly on others. I'm going to purchase the rest of the series. 18+JS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a fan of new takes on old fairytales. I love to see how they

    I'm a fan of new takes on old fairytales. I love to see how they are reshaped with the times. I feel like Jennifer was really true to the nature of Cinderella with her take on the classic tale.

    First, I'd like to say I am in love with this book and I have to know what happens next! Jennifer, please write the next one and have me review it! PLEASE!

    That being said, I am not always a fan of crazy stepparents, but Jennifer makes hers perfect. I love the dynamic nature of the world surrounding Loupe and how you grow to know her, piece by piece as the story unfolds. Jennifer does a great job at character development, character arcs, and surroundings. I'd love to go and find this place that has a secret passageway! Maybe not the cottage with the creepy basement- maybe if the basement wasn't done the way it was... perhaps more artisy? Then I'd be down for that. Anyways, the world that is created is a magical one. The major elements from the story are there, but they have a new fresh take.

    And the tree... I WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THE TREE! What about the princes?! You can't just leave a girl hanging... Well, I suppose you can. This book makes a great introduction to Jennifer's style of writing, and the larger picture she's painting- one I hope to read each piece of, by the way- without making this book lacking. It could easily be a standalone if there were certain pieces removed.

    This is a great book, read it. Love it. It's a romance, so you'd probably have to enjoy a good romance to like this book, but if you're a fairytale lover, you might still like it too! Check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Cinderella Story

    Definitely draws you in. Good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Five stars

    I loved this story!! The series overall is fabulous. I would highly recommend. Each story has a modern take on an old fairy tale. I read the first three books in 2 days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    I have to say, its very refreshing to read a book that doesn't e

    I have to say, its very refreshing to read a book that doesn't evolve around a
    guy rejecting and fighting his feelings (Specifically saying the &quot;L&quot; word) for a girl
    through out the ENTIRE STORY! This was a very nice, easy read, especially if
     your a fan of the disney classics! Got a little hot heavy, not too much, to the point
    where you are cringing because you can't decide if your are aroused or very
    uncomfortable. It was just the perfect amount! I'd definitely recommend this book
    to anyone starting out on romance novels, especially if you are not quite sure how
    comfortable you are with very descriptive sex scenes. Hope this helps! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    LOVED

    Couldn't put down. Love the fairytale twist! Want to read all the stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    MUST READ

    YOU'LL ENJOY THE SPIN TO CINDERELLA . GOOD READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Loved this book!!!

    I loved the whole story about the wolfs and the pixie was great but funny,the gargole was a intresting fit . this story made me laugh,cry, I'll keep my eyes open for your other books and thank you because it helped to keep my mind off my pain crps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Interesting

    New twist to the Cinderella story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Wicked good

    I loved this book. It left me clawing, wishing for more. The characters were set up just right and the story line never got board. We all know the cinderella story but to put a dark spin on it was great! Even with how short it was, their was so much detail. Overall its a must read ^…,^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6