BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Before Midnight

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

posted by ShellyBF on March 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blacks

Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blackstream
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.
This sounded interesting, something a bit different from the usual paranormal romance. Its a kind of retelling of Cinderella, not an update but a remake, a st...
Before Midnight. Blood Prince Series (Book One). Jennifer Blackstream
Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews.
This sounded interesting, something a bit different from the usual paranormal romance. Its a kind of retelling of Cinderella, not an update but a remake, a story to include werewolves. Take note: the prologue is very important. It doesn't seem to relate to this book until the end, and then I realised that its a theme that draws this book into an overall story with further retelling of famous tales.
Its quite “light” in feel, no real dark, strong emotions or deep, heavy sensuality. Its very true to the original Cinderella story in feel, with there being all the elements of step sisters, wicked step mother, handsome prince, even the “slipper” and the fairy godmother have undergone a transformation. Its was an interesting read but...not one that really resonated with me, and I won't look for more.
I guess this novel is perfect for those who like a quick, light and easy paranormal read, with an element of romance and a surprise in the tail :) I tend to want deeper, heavier reads and thankfully we have authors that write to suit all our tastes. I didn't really enjoy this but that doesn't mean it wasn't well written, it was, the plots all line up neatly and there are no unanswered questions – or horrible cliffhangers, even though this is clearly a series. Its simply a matter of me wanting something different from my reading materials.
Stars: two and a half, I didn't dislike the story, I just didn't really like it either for the reasons given.
ARC supplied via Netgalley

posted by jeanniezelos on November 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

    Loved this story and excellent twist on Cinderella!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Creative and fresh

    This is a great new twist on the classic Cinderella story. Better than the original! Can't wait to read the next in the series. Fun read and clever use of mythology.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Mamasaint60

    A good read. A different look at werewolf myth. Also, good comparison to the fairy tale genre on TV? The author used Cinderella. A bit gory in places, and silly on others. I'm going to purchase the rest of the series. 18+JS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Good read

    I thought the book flowed well and I always appreciate a sense of humor in what I read. I would read more by this author. Great idea giving a beloved fairy tale a sexy twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    I have to say, its very refreshing to read a book that doesn't e

    I have to say, its very refreshing to read a book that doesn't evolve around a
    guy rejecting and fighting his feelings (Specifically saying the "L" word) for a girl
    through out the ENTIRE STORY! This was a very nice, easy read, especially if
     your a fan of the disney classics! Got a little hot heavy, not too much, to the point
    where you are cringing because you can't decide if your are aroused or very
    uncomfortable. It was just the perfect amount! I'd definitely recommend this book
    to anyone starting out on romance novels, especially if you are not quite sure how
    comfortable you are with very descriptive sex scenes. Hope this helps! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    MUST READ

    YOU'LL ENJOY THE SPIN TO CINDERELLA . GOOD READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good read, interesting twist

    Very interesting twist to the fairy tale we all know, definitely going to read the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Jennyfairy

    Very good book fun to read thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Awesome fantasy romance.

    I truly enjoyed the whole concept of this book and the sex scenes are phenomenal! The whole romance aspect is a little too fast for me as the characters fall in love in what adds up to be about 3 days (or technically nights) however I have come to kind of expect that from romance novels. I greatly enjoy this author and am currently reading another series from her so I definitely recommend not just reading this book but checking out what else she has as well, so far Ms Blackstream has not disappointed me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    This was really good

    The only criticism is that the prologue is a little confusing at first but then it connects well I enjoyed this book and am interested in the next prince's story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Enjoyed but short

    I enjoyed the book but its pretty short. Im disappointed that the other books in this series are short as well and are $3.49 each :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write you own review on this book also. I enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    ok

    ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Good story

    A twist with a dark element but great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Good

    This was a nice twist from the Cinderella story. My only complaint was that Loupe was such a wimp for most of the story, and it really annoyed me to the point that I almost couldn't stand her and finish the book. The main thing that kept me reading was that I really enjoyed the author's take on a retelling of Cinderella and I was hooked and had to see how it ended, despite not liking Loupe. I will read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    At first, I was quite confused with this story. I didn't underst

    At first, I was quite confused with this story. I didn't understand what was happening in the beginning of this story. After reading through the whole book, I finally had a better understanding of where the story was going.

    This story is a beautiful adaptation of Cinderella. However, this "Cinderella" is a Loup Garou, a bitten werewolf. Her fairytale prince is a lycanthrope, a natural born werewolf. There is a difference! This story turned out to be a sweet paranormal fairy tale. The female protagonist is a weak scared little girl, fearful of everything. She has a horrible, hateful stepmother and stepsisters who love killing wolves. But, she doesn't stay that small fearful girl for very long. Love brings her to a place where she accepts her wolf & uses it to try to save her prince.

    I did find that there were certain parts of the story that lacked definition. I would have liked a little more description of the love scenes... I don't necessarily need it written erotically, but with more feeling. It seemed short and felt like it was missing something. However, the rest of the story, with all its action, seemed to flow very well. I would definitely recommend reading this book if you enjoy paranormal romance stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this twisted fairy tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Cinderella with a Werewolf twist!!!!"

    This was a great read and I,m glad that I didn,t overlook it. Ever since I was a child I always have loved Cinderella and not to mention werewolves,so I really enjoyed it. Every single word had my eyes glued onto the page and the story line captivated me into its meaning; it felt like I was actually there and that I saw through the eyes of each and every character. I'm not saying that it wasthe best book in the world because there are actually some parts of the story that could have used a bit more enthusiasm and there were some very noticable grammatical errors, but with that overlooked this was a pretty great read. So, props to the author and I'll half congradulate the editor. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Good remake

    Cinderella werewolf story. Pretty good, but without the sex scene better written for teens I think. Enjoyed it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The first book in the Blood Prince series is an interesting and

    The first book in the Blood Prince series is an interesting and entertaining twist on a fairy tale.
    She yearned for a caring husband who could take her away from her servant-like existence, but Loupe’s dreams ended the day she was bitten by a werewolf and now not even the attentions of a handsome prince can convince her that that life is still possible. Prince and werewolf Etienne is in need of a werewolf to break a well intentioned cursed placed on him that is slowly turning him human.  So he really doesn’t have time for the beautiful maiden that soothes his soul, but love really doesn’t care for the best laid plans and all kinds of things can happen if you don’t leave the ball...Before Midnight.
    This fast paced story has it all, suspense, some action, romance, a sexy werewolf prince, the evil stepfamily and the fairy tale ending.  The author brings this wonderful romantic story to life with vivid images that makes it easy for the reader to pictures each and every scene. The strong compelling characters are easily related to and grab the reader’s attention from the very beginning.
    The attraction between Loupe and Etienne is the stuff dreams are made of and radiates from every scene.  The author does a great job of conveying the emotions and personalities of the characters that in turn invokes the reader’s emotions as they empathize with Loupe’s plight and Etienne’s curse.
    The author has created a charming and fascinating fairy tale world with paranormal elements that add depth and spice to each story.  I love how she mixed the fairy tale with mythology and lore to make it a very unique story on its own.  The wonderful characters ensure that you want to read more about the other princes and see how their stories work out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2