Customer Reviews for

Before Now

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good read

Good

posted by 17260954 on July 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pages blank

Re: blank pages comment. Change you backgroung color and you can read the text

posted by C3_1991 on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    good read

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Loved it

    I thought I hated Park after reading Sometimes Never but reading this made me love him. I know that it says this can be read separately but I really, really suggest you read Sometimes Never first. It just makes this book that much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    This is another amazing book by Cheryl McIntyre. I adored Someti

    This is another amazing book by Cheryl McIntyre. I adored Sometimes Never and because of it, I didn't think much of Park before this book. But man, did he shape up! Park's freaking HOT!

    BEFORE NOW can be read separately from Sometimes Never, a great plus of course, but I got all fuzzy inside about meeting Hope and Mason and their little quirks as side characters in this book as well. Just like Abbi Glines does in some of her series, you can move into Before Now and already know a lot of the characters if you've read Sometimes Never first.

    Where Sometimes Never was a pioneer New Adult book, BEFORE NOW is full fledged. Cheryl McIntyre clearly doesn't believe in writing predictable stories, that much is clear! Neither does she seem to expect the reader to buy any old crap from the characters without explanation, and I simply adore her for it. Lucy and Park's lives and struggles are achingly unique, and their chemistry insanely, mind-bogglingly hot (rivaling Fifty and Real at times and I'm not kidding!). Polar opposites attracting in a natural and believable way. Yes. More. Gimme more.

    Alright! I made it without one single spoiler!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Before now

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    Ok, I have to be honest, I didn't like Park in Sometimes Never a

    Ok, I have to be honest, I didn't like Park in Sometimes Never and Blackbird so I debated about reading his story. Oh wow, how wrong I was … I was blown away by Park and Lucy's story. There is so much going on with Park that we don't know in the other books and it's wonderful to find out who he really is and what makes him tick. Now, I did hate him for a good 1/3 of the book as he behaved like a total jerk but at the same time there are glimmers of hope and watching this all unravel and reveal the TRUE Park is fabulous. Lucy is just a gem and exactly what Park needs as long as he doesn't wreck it. Totally love Lucy's rules to live by … shows great insight into who and how she thinks. Added bonus is all the supporting characters and how they interconnect with each other's stories. So glad I found this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Love this series!!! Even though i had to get some on B&N the others on Smashwords!!! But enjoyed reading them!!!

    Such a great series!!! Love love loved it!!! Ready for the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended.

    Loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Sweet

    Made you laugh and cry. Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    GREAT READ

    Loved this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    At times, this book was painful to read. Park really hated himse

    At times, this book was painful to read. Park really hated himself and I felt so bad for Lucy. Good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!

    I LOVED this book. The characters were amazing. The story has everything. I laughed out loud & I cried really hard at times. Park and Lucy are so made for eachother. My heart actually ached for them. Park was starving for someone to love him and show him love and Lucy was the perfect person to give it to him. Their friends Bree, Jessie, Guy and Chase were a hoot and very caring and protective friends to have. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I only wish that there was gonna be a sequel or at least carry on to find out what happens to Bree & Jessie. Just sayin Cheryl. Maybe something to think about. LOL Thank You for sharing this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Morgers

    I thought it was very good, well written. I wanted to hit "Park" a couple times, that is the making of a good book. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great Read!

    Romantic and sexy...really loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    So sweet

    Loved it great book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Me

    BN!!!! Please, we need Somerimes Never!!!
    This book was great, I would hate to go to Amazon for the first book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book. The characters were funny and you could relate to them. Love it . couldnt put it down. Itll go into my re-read pile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Before Now is a companion novel to Sometimes Never and is Park's

    Before Now is a companion novel to Sometimes Never and is Park's story. However, Before Now can be read as a stand-alone book.

    I LOVED Before Now! I love how Cheryl writes her characters. Each has an important part to play in the main characters' story. You find yourself loving all the characters: Guy, Chase, Jessie, Bree. The same was true in Sometimes Never. (BTW...a lot of these characters are in both Sometimes Never, Blackbird and Before Now--so you truly feel like you know each of them and that you are part of their circle!) While I hated Park for blurting out Hope's secret--and I couldn't understand why he didn't try to help her--I felt bad for him. I wanted Hope with Mason, but even Mason felt bad for Park.

    The beginning of Before Now was genious!...Park's POV of the scene from Sometimes Never where Hope "breaks up" with Park. Loved it!

    Park is your typical tattoo'd bad boy. He drinks a lot, only does one-night stands, he's selfish and if you don't agree with him--"F-you"! Lucy is the hippie chick that always sees the best in people--including Park. Park has an ever growing set of "life lessons"! It definitely showed how losing Hope hurt him. Lucy had her own "rules" in which she tries to live her life by. Needless-to-say, Park and Lucy's thoughts were pretty much opposites! But your know what they say about opposites attracting and these two definitely were in-lust with each other. This is not really the problem tho. The problem is Park's roommate, Jessie, has made Lucy off-limits or Park cannot stay with him. Park doesn't really have a lot of options and doesn't want to end up homeless, so as much as he hates it, he follows this rule. Of course Lucy doesn't do one-night stands, so as much as she hates it, she makes Park off-limits to herself. Talk about sexual tension!

    Obviously, this is a love story and Park and Lucy cannot stay away from each other:

    "It's like we take a step forward and then you shove me five steps back. Why do you do that? Why do you push me away?"--Lucy to Park

    "You're all puppy paws and kitten whiskers."
    "Oh, you're vanilla, Lucy. Trust me. But that just makes me want to drizzle hot fudge all over your body, and take my (darn)good time licking it off." --Park to Lucy

    "Lucy," he nearly chokes my name. "Please get out of my bed before I do something very (f-ing)stupid."
    My breathing is erratic. My heart hammering in my chest. "How stupid?" I say thickly.
    Park moans and closes his eyes. "I don't know," he says softly. I can feel the desire in his stare when he finally looks at me. It's pure hunger. "It's starting to feel like the smartest move I could ever make."--Park to Lucy

    "I can't give up on you. I don't know how and that gives you all the power over me. The power to hurt me again and again."--Lucy to Park

    Park, of course, screws up! He hits rock-bottom--again. We learn he's been there before (with Guy, in events that happened but were not written, in Sometimes Never). But he starts learning and changing. He owns up to what he does. And this eventually makes him worthy of Lucy's love. But she is not going to be "that girl"--the one who lets a guy walk all over her. She knows she's a pushover. She owns it too. And she lets Park have it.

    But even when you think it's the end and they have their HEA, there are a couple more twists!

    I mentioned earlier that I loved all the characters in Before Now. I think every girl needs a best friend like Bree! I so respected her honesty and bluntness! She always had Lucy's best interest at heart! I loved Guy in Sometimes Never and again in Before Now. He was both Hope's and Park's best friend and Park had a lot to make up for where Guy is concerned, but Guy is still an awesome friend! But I have to say, Chase was my favorite in Before Now! One of my favorite lines came from Chase who just loved to dispense advice:

    "Don't "f" up this time." I raise a skeptical brow. "Not sure I know how to do that."
    "Just.... don't trip, fall, and land dick first in to some random girl on the way over there."--Chase to Park

    Cheryl plans to write Chase and Annie's story next and I cannot wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    great book worth reading

    great book worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great story

    It was a great story of growing up. Mmmmm Park........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Loved it

    This is the first book I have read by Cheryl McIntyre, and it will not be my last. Very well written and entertaining from cover to cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2