Customer Reviews for

Before She Dies

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!!!

Great Book! Mary Burton's best book to date! I read in two days , couldn't put it down. This is the story of Charlotte Wellington (Grace) who after her sister was drowned ran away from living and working in a carnival.Charlotte worked hard at changing her life to become...
Great Book! Mary Burton's best book to date! I read in two days , couldn't put it down. This is the story of Charlotte Wellington (Grace) who after her sister was drowned ran away from living and working in a carnival.Charlotte worked hard at changing her life to become a self respected attorney. After years of perfecting her life as Charlotte the carnival is back in town and the past and present collide. Her love interest Daniel is a believable character who Charlotte slowly falls in love with who is also a detective working on a serial killer case that one of the suspects works at the carnival. There is a killer on the loose that now has Charlotte in his sights. Great thriller, great story, believable characters.

posted by livlife on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Boo

I absolutely hate these long winded plot spoiling posters who ruin books with their uber long posts that reveal everything that happens. Just state if you liked it or not. Stop with the book report, blogging, dissertations bragging how u got the book for free from the p...
I absolutely hate these long winded plot spoiling posters who ruin books with their uber long posts that reveal everything that happens. Just state if you liked it or not. Stop with the book report, blogging, dissertations bragging how u got the book for free from the publisher. I am sure if they knew hiw u ppl are revealing the entire story and costing them sales they would do something to stop u.

posted by 8888649 on December 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!!

    Great Book! Mary Burton's best book to date! I read in two days , couldn't put it down. This is the story of Charlotte Wellington (Grace) who after her sister was drowned ran away from living and working in a carnival.Charlotte worked hard at changing her life to become a self respected attorney. After years of perfecting her life as Charlotte the carnival is back in town and the past and present collide. Her love interest Daniel is a believable character who Charlotte slowly falls in love with who is also a detective working on a serial killer case that one of the suspects works at the carnival. There is a killer on the loose that now has Charlotte in his sights. Great thriller, great story, believable characters.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Wow!

    All i can say is wow wow wow! Best of her books to date! The twists & surprises left me speechless, the whole book had me on the edge of my seat...i could not believe the ending...i never saw it coming! All the makings of an unbelievable thriller! Great read!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    I could not put this down. A MUST read!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I loved the characters of Charlotte and Daniel. They were real!

    I loved the characters of Charlotte and Daniel. They were real! The action was non-stop and the romance was just the right romance/suspense blend.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Before She Dies

    Mary Burton is a wonderful author and her books are always page turners!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Fast read, one of her best. Can not wait for her next book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A past not so hidden

    Charlotte Wellington is a self-made attorney with all the polish expected of someone as successful as she is in this posh Alexandria community. A thriving private practice and a lush condominium overlooking the river mask a past life no one would imagine. Charlotte ensures the secrets of her past remain protected in the solitary life she leads, allowing no one a glimpse into her personal life. Charlotte only projects the professional persona she wants everyone to see, the continuing success of her practice the number one purpose that she will stop at nothing to keep. However, one person is working to solve the mysteries she conceals and will use his all his resources to solve them; he feels he is best qualified to unearth them as Daniel Rokov is a police detective after all. The arrival of the last person Charlotte ever hoped to see bringing with him a request she cannot bring herself to deny, leads Charlotte to fear the past she worked so hard to bury will soon be uncovered. In its wake, a suspect in a grisly murder investigation threatens to point Daniel straight to the life Charlotte once lead. Although, in the shadows someone else watching from afar, also has an interest in Charlotte’s past, and will stop at nothing to show what is in store for her, before she dies.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was my first book by Mary Burton and I enjoyed the flow of the book, it kept me wanting to finish the book to find out just what really happened. Because of this book being enjoyable to read, I've bought three more of her books and I can't wait to read them. I'd say that Mary Higgins Clark and Mary Jane Clark you have another Mary that can also write a good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Fabulous

    I love Mary Burton. I couldn't put the book down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!

    This is truly a very good mystey and well worth reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    Really good. I could not put it down. Plan to read more of the authors books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Charlotte Wellington is a damn good defense attorney. No one kno

    Charlotte Wellington is a damn good defense attorney. No one knows that she grew up in a carnival or that she left it at age 16, a week after her sister was murdered. However, 18 years later when the carnival comes into town and a woman is murdered, I didn’t need Madame Divine to tell me Charlotte’s past and present were about to collide.

    This book didn’t lure me in from the beginning with sweet words. It grabbed me by the collar, yanked me down a hall, tossed me in a room and sat on me until I just had to finish it. It forced me to ignore good hygiene, tune out a grumbling stomach, made my kids forage for food by themselves, rush the dogs on their potty breaks and barely let me go long enough to pack my husband’s lunch for work. It drove me crazy! It was as if it was glued to my hand AND I couldn’t figure out who the killer was! Gah! I loved it!

    Excellent plot, smooth-flowing, interesting well-developed characters. I couldn’t read it fast enough. The urge to peek at the end was off the charts for me. I so badly wanted to know who the killer was and yet I was determined to figure it out myself without cheating. I’m sad to say I made it about ¾ of the way before the urge to peek overwhelmed me. Although, that might just be a record for me. *shamefaced grin*

    How I have never before seen books by Mary Burton I’ll never know. Now that I’ve read one I need to find more!

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Greatt book! Wont be disappointed!

    Mary Burton writes a greagt mystery. Loved reading her and have read other books by her. Plan to read more!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Steven

    Wants some serious sex...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Todd

    Looks around for sky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    WOW... Mary  Burton has a way of making you hold your breath unt

    WOW... Mary  Burton has a way of making you hold your breath until the very end!! So much action itis so hard to put her books down.  I am on my 7th book so far of hers, and I have NEVER been disappointed!There is someone murdering women, and writing witch on their bodies. Charlotte Wellington has a past she is trying to keep hidden.  Having a reputation of an uptight attorney, if people knew the truth, everything she has fought so hard to bury could ruin everything, so when the carnival comes back to town, her secret could get out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I want to read every one of her books now!

    Excellent book! I loved the carnival setting. Many twists and turns, and the characters were likable and believable. I read the book in a matter of hours, and now I am buying her other ones. She has a similar style to Lisa Jackson, or Lisa Gardner. I think her descriptions were great, and the suspense was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was one of the best books I've read. Lots of suspense and surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great Series!

    Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2