Customer Reviews for

Before The Change: Taking Charge of Your Premenopause

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

PeriMenopause: All Answers Here & Portable Too!

As I lay in a complete pool of sweat covering my head, neck and back, I couldn't help but ask one question. Why? The breaking of my normal sleep pattern, a pattern that I've enjoyed for most of my life (for ALL of my life for that mattter!), just did NOT figure into wha...
As I lay in a complete pool of sweat covering my head, neck and back, I couldn't help but ask one question. Why? The breaking of my normal sleep pattern, a pattern that I've enjoyed for most of my life (for ALL of my life for that mattter!), just did NOT figure into what I pictured for myself and my husband nearing our 'middle' years. After hearing about this book, I immediately picked it up to read, hoping for an answer, a link to this 'persistent problem', maybe even A SOLUTION. I didn't expect much because I had already consulted the best MDs & gynecologists in the state. I was told these gems: 'lazy ovaries', 'you'll get over it', 'hey, it is just a passing thing' and the most common gem, 'you are just too young for menopause'! Desperate, alone, I sought the advice of any older woman I felt comfortable talking to and I received the same answer. 'oh, I just breezed through that' or 'I don't know if I had any symptoms or not'. Fabulous, THAT generation was really without access to knowledge and publications. Why am I finding this to be difficult for me too? After realizing that almost any magazine about women has had an article on the 'new' perimenopause, I decided to follow-up and re-read those articles more closely. It was then that I found Ann Louise. This book was my first purchase on the subject of PERIMENOPAUSE.....and it is my bible to the bodily changes all women go through, but do not talk to one another about! even today!! I immediately followed all of her suggestions, spent the money on MY OWN HEALTH, and can now say that I am symptom free and on a new road of life--the one I did picture! I enjoy freedom from very severe,constant& shocking symptoms. A.L. Gittleman hit my problem dead-on and lifted me straight up!!!! I go everywhere with her book. A great book to pass on to a younger girlfriend or daughter!

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Helpful

I would recommend choosing another book on Perimenopause. This particular book was great in telling you about the symptoms that you are experiencing but not at all helpful in helping you to understand why or what can be done. The book read like an edvertisement for all ...
I would recommend choosing another book on Perimenopause. This particular book was great in telling you about the symptoms that you are experiencing but not at all helpful in helping you to understand why or what can be done. The book read like an edvertisement for all of the herbs and vitamins that could be purchased through a particular vendor. I was really disappointed as I am on a fixed income and could have purchased other books that would have been much more helpful.

posted by 329895 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    PeriMenopause: All Answers Here & Portable Too!

    As I lay in a complete pool of sweat covering my head, neck and back, I couldn't help but ask one question. Why? The breaking of my normal sleep pattern, a pattern that I've enjoyed for most of my life (for ALL of my life for that mattter!), just did NOT figure into what I pictured for myself and my husband nearing our 'middle' years. After hearing about this book, I immediately picked it up to read, hoping for an answer, a link to this 'persistent problem', maybe even A SOLUTION. I didn't expect much because I had already consulted the best MDs & gynecologists in the state. I was told these gems: 'lazy ovaries', 'you'll get over it', 'hey, it is just a passing thing' and the most common gem, 'you are just too young for menopause'! Desperate, alone, I sought the advice of any older woman I felt comfortable talking to and I received the same answer. 'oh, I just breezed through that' or 'I don't know if I had any symptoms or not'. Fabulous, THAT generation was really without access to knowledge and publications. Why am I finding this to be difficult for me too? After realizing that almost any magazine about women has had an article on the 'new' perimenopause, I decided to follow-up and re-read those articles more closely. It was then that I found Ann Louise. This book was my first purchase on the subject of PERIMENOPAUSE.....and it is my bible to the bodily changes all women go through, but do not talk to one another about! even today!! I immediately followed all of her suggestions, spent the money on MY OWN HEALTH, and can now say that I am symptom free and on a new road of life--the one I did picture! I enjoy freedom from very severe,constant& shocking symptoms. A.L. Gittleman hit my problem dead-on and lifted me straight up!!!! I go everywhere with her book. A great book to pass on to a younger girlfriend or daughter!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Not Very Helpful

    I would recommend choosing another book on Perimenopause. This particular book was great in telling you about the symptoms that you are experiencing but not at all helpful in helping you to understand why or what can be done. The book read like an edvertisement for all of the herbs and vitamins that could be purchased through a particular vendor. I was really disappointed as I am on a fixed income and could have purchased other books that would have been much more helpful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Best book written for women over 30

    I had my last baby at 36, tied my tubes and thought I'd be on the road to worry free sex the rest of my life. What my dr. failed to tell me was that in tying my tubes I would alter the natural balance in my body leading to lost sex drive, horrible PMS, fatigue and and a myriad of other problems. The good dr. meaning well thought I might be okay if I were on hormome replacement therapy (estrogen). Thankfully, never having been able to tolerate the pill, I chose not the use this option. Instead I headed to the nearest bookstore and purchased a copy of this wonderful book. I had heard several discussions about perimenopause but really did not know much about it. This book turned out to be a godsend! After 4 months of completely following Dr. Gittelman's advice, I am finally back to my normal self. Even better, I actually feel better than I have in many years! My skin is better, my energy levels are up and I won't even mention how grateful my husband is! Thing is- I'm not sure whether or not, I'm in perimenopause, but the basic advice on how to deal with PMS is absolutely worth every penny spent on the book. I have recommended this book to all the women in my family who are in their mid-thirties and older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Extremely helpful to find out the cause of my peri-menopausal wo

    Extremely helpful to find out the cause of my peri-menopausal woes. The solutions really worked too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Thought this was a great book. The Peri Zappers zapped all sympt

    Thought this was a great book. The Peri Zappers zapped all symptoms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Thought book was one of the most helpful of its kind on the mark

    Thought book was one of the most helpful of its kind on the market. The Peri Zappers really work. Watch out world - I am becmoing normal again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Very informative reading on what we can expect in the days to co

    Very informative reading on what we can expect in the days to come. Well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Well researched and information is very useful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I would purchase this book.

    This is a book that is extremely easy to follow and find the information that you need to start yoiur process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    This book saved my life!

    Truly, it did! Horrible life stopping mood swings/anxiety attacks were stopped dead in their tracks. I really thought I was going crazy. Great advice on how to correct horomonal imbalances naturally, you DO NOT need to jump into prescription horomones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1