BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Before Your Pregnancy: A 90-Day Guide for Couples on How to Prepare for a Healthy Conception

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just what your're looking for if you 'think' you want to have a baby and are not sure it's 'time'

This book was perfect for my husband and I. We have been wanting a baby for quite some time and were not sure we were prepared mentally, physically, and financially. This book helped to ease some minor worries and clear up issues that were in question. This was a gre...
This book was perfect for my husband and I. We have been wanting a baby for quite some time and were not sure we were prepared mentally, physically, and financially. This book helped to ease some minor worries and clear up issues that were in question. This was a great motivator to get healthy first and it even provides a 14 step pregnancy fitness program! I loved it!

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Common sense info, with medical statistics.

From the first chapter, which focuses on how to choose medical insurance, to the chapter on how to choose meals which encompass the basic food groups, this book was chock full of infomation that your average person probably already knows. Most of the information provid...
From the first chapter, which focuses on how to choose medical insurance, to the chapter on how to choose meals which encompass the basic food groups, this book was chock full of infomation that your average person probably already knows. Most of the information provided was common sense: quit smoking, quit drinking alcohol, lose weight if your overweight, don't use illegal drugs, ect... . I skimmed most of this book. There are some helpful chapters such as what OTC and herbal drugs are ok to use before and during pregnancy, but the bulk of this book is information which any person who is thinking of conceiving 'should' already know.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Just what your're looking for if you 'think' you want to have a baby and are not sure it's 'time'

    This book was perfect for my husband and I. We have been wanting a baby for quite some time and were not sure we were prepared mentally, physically, and financially. This book helped to ease some minor worries and clear up issues that were in question. This was a great motivator to get healthy first and it even provides a 14 step pregnancy fitness program! I loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    A rare find!

    With so many books out there about actual pregnancy, it was so nice to find a book devoted to telling would-be-parents what to do to get physically and mentally ready before pregnancy. I was concerned about my weight prior to conception and this book provided valuable information on pre-conception nutrition and fitness for both men and women. Friends of mine who have made the extra effort to get healthy prior to conceiving have had stress-free pregnancies. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about getting pregnant.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    First Time Mom

    I was getting ready for my first pregnancy and picked up 4 different books on pre-pregnancy advice.
    This one was by far the most comprehensive and complete one of them. I still refer to it almost daily. It doesn't talk to you like you're a moron who can't keep their attention in one place unless there're stupid jokes involved like with the "what to expect" books.
    Loved the section on nutrition and vitamins. Really needed that kind of complete reference as to minimum requirements and toxicity levels of all the vitamins and minerals.
    This is a must buy, along with the book by Lee

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Common sense info, with medical statistics.

    From the first chapter, which focuses on how to choose medical insurance, to the chapter on how to choose meals which encompass the basic food groups, this book was chock full of infomation that your average person probably already knows. Most of the information provided was common sense: quit smoking, quit drinking alcohol, lose weight if your overweight, don't use illegal drugs, ect... . I skimmed most of this book. There are some helpful chapters such as what OTC and herbal drugs are ok to use before and during pregnancy, but the bulk of this book is information which any person who is thinking of conceiving 'should' already know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Before your Pregnancy

    Very good and interesting book! Highlights all parts and talks about what men can do also to plan for a baby! Has a lot of great information in it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Great book for pre-mommies

    I really enjoyed this book and have read it a couple of times now. I've been following alot of the tips and advice that are in the book and now I feel more confident that I am ready to have a baby. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    Helpful

    This book was helpful but mostly common sense. I liked the nutrition advice. As with most pre-preganacy advice, so many things are restricted. This can be hard if you are having a hard time getting pregnant -- so many months of so many restrictions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Great for the Unknowledgable Parent Wantabe

    Recently my Husband and I decided we are going to start trying to conceive this summer 2003. I was looking for a book to help me get my Body ready for Pregnancy. This book has all the information you will ever need. In even has a section for the Men. My Husband read it and thought it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1