Customer Reviews for

Before and After You Get Your Puppy: The Positive Approach to Raising a Happy, Healthy, and Well-Behaved Dog

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Advice Simply Stated

I have renewed this book from the library two times (the limit). I have to return it today and that is why I will buy a copy for myself. It explains things very clearly and to the point. Of the six books I checked out from the library and one that I bought. This is ...
I have renewed this book from the library two times (the limit). I have to return it today and that is why I will buy a copy for myself. It explains things very clearly and to the point. Of the six books I checked out from the library and one that I bought. This is the one I refer to the most. This is THE book to get if you're a first-time puppy owner. Be wary of book reviews from people that only skimmed the book!

posted by Anonymous on February 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Beware

I will admit I only skimmed this book, mainly because near the beginning I came across a segment advising me to grab my puppy by the scruff of her neck and shake her until she screams to teach her to stop biting. Any book that advises this is not one I am interested in ...
I will admit I only skimmed this book, mainly because near the beginning I came across a segment advising me to grab my puppy by the scruff of her neck and shake her until she screams to teach her to stop biting. Any book that advises this is not one I am interested in reading.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    If you follow through, it works

    This book is an amazingly good step by step approach to training your puppy. If you actually read the whole thing and follow his advice and are consistent in your own behaviour, you will have a well trained dog in weeks. Yes, take your dog to meet all the people and dogs, he suggests!! Actually set up the house training like he says and the puppy learns fast, If you actually do it, the results last forever. I used this book and my puppy was trained in no time. It is now over a year later and I still have a well trained dog. Like kids, consistency is key.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Great Advice Simply Stated

    I have renewed this book from the library two times (the limit). I have to return it today and that is why I will buy a copy for myself. It explains things very clearly and to the point. Of the six books I checked out from the library and one that I bought. This is the one I refer to the most. This is THE book to get if you're a first-time puppy owner. Be wary of book reviews from people that only skimmed the book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Good for any new puppy owner

    I'm a dog trainer and I don't know what the other reviewer, Amy, is talking about. Ian Dunbar is the father of positive reinforcement in dog training. There is NO way he would EVER recommend using punishment. I don't think that someone who just 'skimmed' the book should ever write a review on it. I re-read through the whole chapter on play biting and it NEVER recommended 'grabbing the puppy's scruff until it screamed..' Amy must have either read what NOT to do or she's confused with another book. I recommend this book to clients, but give the warning to not worry if your puppy makes mistakes. Ian Dunbar goes a little overboard on expectations. The average person would not be able to do some of his suggestions, but it has some great guidelines.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    A great guide for the working puppy owner

    Dunbar gives you great tips for raising a healthy, happy puppy, even if you can't be home all day, as many puppy books suggest you must. I think the training and socialization wisdom in this book, combined with Cesar's 'Exercise, discipline, affection' motto will produce a well-rounded, well-behaved, happy dog. (Although many folks think Dunbar and Cesar are opposing forces, I challenge you to actually read both books before coming to that conclusion.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    This is a fabulous book. I agree--anyone who says that Dunbar r

    This is a fabulous book. I agree--anyone who says that Dunbar recommends mis-treating dogs has simply not read the book. His advice is simple and clear and told with a great deal of humor. It's clear he knows and understands dogs. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great book. And to the reveiwer who talks about the scruff grabb

    Great book. And to the reveiwer who talks about the scruff grabbing, I think you misundstand. He advises AGAINST such punishment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The shack

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Beware

    I will admit I only skimmed this book, mainly because near the beginning I came across a segment advising me to grab my puppy by the scruff of her neck and shake her until she screams to teach her to stop biting. Any book that advises this is not one I am interested in reading.

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Great book

    Get thibook and read it before getting your puppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    Highly recommend

    The techniques work!!! We have been using the potty training technique and had success from the start! His will play for treats mantra is good and his writing style has enough humor that you aren't bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    This book reminded me of the importance of Leadership. My 7 YOF

    This book reminded me of the importance of Leadership. My 7 YOF Italian Greyhound runs the house, and is now receiving Leadership exercises in preparation of our new Rat Terrier puppy arriving in a few weeks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    I admit I only read the book in the store but his advice was horrible and inpractical. How are you suppose to test drive a dog. Buying a dog and a car are not the same thing.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2