BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Before the Dawn

Average Rating 5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book...

    Ms Jenkins has done it again.....this book is awesome. I love the fact that with every book, she gives her readers some history. So far I have read 4 other books by this author and I have not been disappointed. The story of Leah & Ryder touched my heart. From there 1st meeting, I was hooked and could not stop reading. Thanks to Ms Jenkins to giving such an explosive story. Thanks to Ms Jenkins I am a huge fan of historial romances!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Loving me some Bev Jenkins

    As always I started reading this book looking for a connection to Ms. B's other character's. When I realized that the setting was in Colorado......I said to myself... Self, I dont think there's a connection here. At first I was a little disappointed because I love how Ms. Jenkins continues to connect her characters. Plus she keeps us up to date on the characters of previous books. But as I kept reading..... as usual Ms. B pulled me right into Denver and the Montague/Damien World! And I Loved It!!! All I can say is Ryder - Ryder - Ryder!!!!!!!!!!

    Hopefully, there's a book on Seth in the works...... **Hint - Hint**

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Awesome! This was my first book of the summer and Mrs. Jenkins

    Awesome! This was my first book of the summer and Mrs. Jenkins did not disappoint. I have read all of her books (historical and contemporary)! Her writing style is very unique! Keep it coming...........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    addicted to reading Beverly Jenkins' books.

    This book is totally my all time favorite of Beverly Jenkins work. I love the characters especially Ryder Damien........ I thought the book was very interesting and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    WOW! Reading beyond expressions!

    When I started reading, Beverly Jenkins books were among the first. I was a sleeper, when she invited me in to history, love and excitement, I do not require the sleep that I thought I had to have. My daughter refused to read her books, siting from one reason to another. She began reading one that I purposely left at her home. She invited several memberbers over to dinner on Sunday, after carefully getting the information about who had all the books of Ms.Jenkins, she refuse to serve dinner until one of us went and brought all the books to her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    WHAT A MAN, WHAT A MAN!!!

    This was the first book of Ms. Jenkins that I read and I immediately put her on my favorite authors list! I have sense found and bought them all. I agree whole heartedly with the other reviewers that this book has it all. And I WILL NEVER think of SPICED PEACHES the same way EVER AGAIN!! That man that man!! He is a bad a Galen Vachon and that is sayin' somthin'!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    LOVE ALL OF MS. JENKINS BOOKS. I CAN READ ONE IN ONE DAY!!! CAN'

    LOVE ALL OF MS. JENKINS BOOKS. I CAN READ ONE IN ONE DAY!!! CAN'T PUT IT DOWN ONCE I START READING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Before the Dawn was spellbinding, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Nice Twist!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It had a interesting twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Leah and Ryder

    You can never go wrong with a Beverly J novel. Class is always in session when it comes to history and Love is in the air when it comes to romance. What a great combination! Ryder is the ultimate hottie with the soft giving heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Beverly Jenkins has no equal when it comes to writing historical

    Beverly Jenkins has no equal when it comes to writing historical romance! She never fails to leave one entranced with her strong heroes, and sometimes even stronger heroines. You will never forget Ryder, Leah, and spiced peaches. This book has everything romance, suspense, and colorful history. Buy it, then relax and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    History, Romance & Mystery

    Another amazing tale from Ms. Jenkins. She has written another thrilling romance adventure! Not only do we get history and romance, but she has added a little mystery flava. The heat and chemistry between Ryder and Leah is intense. Reading her novels make me feel like I'm transported right back in time. It's like watching a very entertaining blockbuster movie. All I can say is I hope she never, ever stops writing her historical, romance novels. All her characters are unforgettable, main and secondary. The storyline flows with flawless effort! You will NEVER, EVER be disappointed when reading a Beverly Jenkins novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    This wonderful novel

    I loved this book it was intoxicating. I found myself consumed with the characters in the novel. The viuals that this book drew were just gorgeous the setting, the history, and the intregue were just wonderful. I can't seem to say enough about this book, of all of them, it is my absolute favorite. I can read it over and over. She is a wonderful novelist I look forward to her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    At long last....historical books for the African American reader

    If you like a good romance, you'll love this! The heroin is the typical lovely, fiesty damsel in distress, (she is captive to her love for Damien), and the arrogant hero who can't help but to fall in love. I have read every one of Beverly Jenkins romance novels and I am selfishly awaiting her next release. I have re-read every copy I have. Ms. Jenkins is the most informative, interesting romance author I have had the pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    A Great Book!!!

    This was my first book by Beverly Jenkins. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! Oh my goodness, I wish Ryder Damien was real!!! I envied Leah and wished I was her. This is a great book. Beverly Jenkins is a great writer and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of her novels. I enjoy how she incorporates true history into her novels. Great Job, Beverly!!!! Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2001

    Before The Dawn

    I loved this book, Ms. Jenkins is a wonderful writer, and it is a joy and honor to read her precious novels. I wish I could meet a strong powerful guy like Ryder Damien. This is definetly a great book. Ms Jenkins, I'll be waiting in line for your next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Classic Beverly Jenkins

    Beverly Jenkins has done it again! Never disappointing the reader. This book is filled with African-american historical information, but does not bore the reader. Because let's face it... people read romance novels for the ROMANCE. The story line has humor, action, mystery, and of course a lot of romance. If you have read any of Ms. Jenkins' other works, then you will find that this book rivals Indigo...and that is a major feat! RBurse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting Reconstruction Era ethnic romance

    As he lies dying Louis Montague wants to make things right for Leah Barnett, daughter of the woman he always loved. He persuades Leah into marrying him so she can inherit his vast estate. Reluctantly she agrees to wed a man she considers her father while knowing she will be a widow in days and that their marriage will never be consummated. Louis also makes a deathbed confession. He admits that he has sired two thirty plus year old boys that live in Colorado and that he has not seen them in decades. He wants a shocked Leah to tell them he is sorry. <P>Leah takes the train west where she meets the younger Montague Ryder who feels this Jezebel took advantage of a sick old man to steal the estate. However, the vast estate has large debts, which Monty offers to pay in return for a few favors. Soon, Monty and Leah fall in love, but can he overcome his distrust and hatred especially when someone else wants them dead. <P> Readers will find this an exciting Reconstruction Era romance, but what make a Beverly Jenkins tale a delight are the tidbits on African-American history that blends smoothly into the plot. For instance, readers learn the color of Leah¿s skin via the conductor telling her that people like her do not belong in that part of the train. As usual the graceful Ms. Jenkins entertains and educates her audience with a stirring ethnic romantic tale of 1870s America. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2