Customer Reviews for

Before the Season Ends

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pleasurable book

Though the first impression of Ariana is that she is a ninny (thinking her lot in life was a sixty year old curate) fortunately later chapters showed her as much more mature, developed and entertaining personality. I was captivated in the story until the marriage offer...
Though the first impression of Ariana is that she is a ninny (thinking her lot in life was a sixty year old curate) fortunately later chapters showed her as much more mature, developed and entertaining personality. I was captivated in the story until the marriage offer at which point I lost interest and skimmed the remainder of the chapters. While as a Christian I understood Ariana's dilemma I became rather impatient at the statement and restatement. I was waiting for Phillip to become as impatient with her as I was. While I choose inspriational romances and want a Christian setting, I am not wanting a diatribe on doctrine.

Though I would read other books by the author with other characters, personlly, I am not interested in the sequel with Ariana. I read for escape from my daily problems, some of which are relational (thus the need for romance books!) and I am NOT interested in spending any time or emotions involved in problems between fictional characters, however likeable.

The book was well written and enjoyable, though "in the vein of Jane Austen" didn't ring true for me.

posted by Suholo on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perhaps if I hadn't been spoiled by Georgette Heyer/Patricia Veryan Regencies


Once I overlooked that the deluded girl who stubbornly believes it is God's will for her to marry a 60 year old vicar because he happens to be the only "man of God" handy is the same girl we (and the hero) are supposed to find so charming and engaging, the book seemed...

Once I overlooked that the deluded girl who stubbornly believes it is God's will for her to marry a 60 year old vicar because he happens to be the only "man of God" handy is the same girl we (and the hero) are supposed to find so charming and engaging, the book seemed to show promise. That is, until about halfway through when all the characters changed again. The stern aunt becomes a silly old woman delighted because she made a rhyme with her niece's name, the "worthy" suitor becomes a bit of a stalker, and Ariana becomes a self-righteous prig.
And then there are teasers of sub-plots that never go anywhere and/or are resolved in a few paragraphs: the disappearing letters, the "new best friend" who keeps tempting Ariana away and throwing her together with the stalker, the sightly off couple who accompany the hero and heroine to Vauxhall Gardens but are never heard of once they get in their boat and, the worse, the revealing of the hero's deep, dark secret by some man who has barely made an appearance but is now presented as some sort of rival. This major plot development is quickly resolved with the hero off screen by Ariana going to visit his aunt..with a paragraph or two set aside to describe her outfit as she stands outside the aunt's door mentally preparing herself.
And, yes, if a heroine spends 2 pages standing up in small boat making a passionate speech, no one is surprised when she falls overboard...that heavy-handed plot device was probably the turning point downwards.
Finally, what in the world is meant by "swirling eyes"? It made me think of those people who can make their pupils jiggle, which doesn't really enhance the hero's desirability.
that
As a Christian, I hope to find Christian authors that can incorporate faith realistically into their writing with a story that is well-crafted enough to stand on its own. Sadly, I did not find either in this book.

posted by HippolytaTS on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasurable book

    Though the first impression of Ariana is that she is a ninny (thinking her lot in life was a sixty year old curate) fortunately later chapters showed her as much more mature, developed and entertaining personality. I was captivated in the story until the marriage offer at which point I lost interest and skimmed the remainder of the chapters. While as a Christian I understood Ariana's dilemma I became rather impatient at the statement and restatement. I was waiting for Phillip to become as impatient with her as I was. While I choose inspriational romances and want a Christian setting, I am not wanting a diatribe on doctrine.

    Though I would read other books by the author with other characters, personlly, I am not interested in the sequel with Ariana. I read for escape from my daily problems, some of which are relational (thus the need for romance books!) and I am NOT interested in spending any time or emotions involved in problems between fictional characters, however likeable.

    The book was well written and enjoyable, though "in the vein of Jane Austen" didn't ring true for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Perhaps if I hadn't been spoiled by Georgette Heyer/Patricia Veryan Regencies


    Once I overlooked that the deluded girl who stubbornly believes it is God's will for her to marry a 60 year old vicar because he happens to be the only "man of God" handy is the same girl we (and the hero) are supposed to find so charming and engaging, the book seemed to show promise. That is, until about halfway through when all the characters changed again. The stern aunt becomes a silly old woman delighted because she made a rhyme with her niece's name, the "worthy" suitor becomes a bit of a stalker, and Ariana becomes a self-righteous prig.
    And then there are teasers of sub-plots that never go anywhere and/or are resolved in a few paragraphs: the disappearing letters, the "new best friend" who keeps tempting Ariana away and throwing her together with the stalker, the sightly off couple who accompany the hero and heroine to Vauxhall Gardens but are never heard of once they get in their boat and, the worse, the revealing of the hero's deep, dark secret by some man who has barely made an appearance but is now presented as some sort of rival. This major plot development is quickly resolved with the hero off screen by Ariana going to visit his aunt..with a paragraph or two set aside to describe her outfit as she stands outside the aunt's door mentally preparing herself.
    And, yes, if a heroine spends 2 pages standing up in small boat making a passionate speech, no one is surprised when she falls overboard...that heavy-handed plot device was probably the turning point downwards.
    Finally, what in the world is meant by "swirling eyes"? It made me think of those people who can make their pupils jiggle, which doesn't really enhance the hero's desirability.
    that
    As a Christian, I hope to find Christian authors that can incorporate faith realistically into their writing with a story that is well-crafted enough to stand on its own. Sadly, I did not find either in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    disappointed

    item kept reverting from page 60 to 58 and could not read further .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Watch out Jane Austin - Linore is here!!

    Let me first say that I¿ve never read a Jane Austin book and was totally taken by the story which was set in 1813, Chesterton, England, where nineteen year old Ariana is off to her Aunt¿s house for the opportunity of a life time. She¿s never met her Aunt so this was awkward to say the least. Aunt Bentley is on a mission to find Ariana the best husband her city had to offer. She is totally thrilled to set up her niece's social calendar for the season of her "coming out". <BR/><BR/>I was totally floored by all the ¿Rules¿ upper society had. Amazed at how Mrs. Bentley knew all these rules along with just the right style of clothes to be worn; to present a good impression for a successful coming out party. Ariana saw how excited her Aunt was about this whole process. She wasn¿t as excited as her Aunt as a matter of fact things were making her head spin (mine too) with all the rules, types of clothes to be seen in and which accessories (like gloves) had to be worn at certain occasions. Some of the rules just made me laugh out loud. <BR/><BR/>Ariana was sure her parents didn¿t know how serious all this was? Ariana couldn't believe how much money her Aunt was spending on her -- it just didn't seem right. Would there be money left over for her sisters coming out party? Maybe some of this money could be given to the poor. She just didn't feel right about all the expense and attention.<BR/><BR/>She was determined to honor her Aunt even though her parents said Mrs. Bentley was a high society heathen. Maybe in the process of obeying her Aunt she could show the love of Christ is a special way. Ariana wanted to tell her Aunt that having a personal relationship with Christ was so much more important than following a bunch of religious rules, like she does in these high society parties. She prayed for this opportunity. <BR/><BR/>Ariana didn¿t think like woman her age. In Ariana's way of thinking, a personal relationship with Christ was the most important quality in a husband! Period. The end. She didn¿t want a man just to have one. Her Aunt thought this line of thinking was judgmental and ridiculous. I soon found myself cheering for Ariana.<BR/><BR/>I was captivated, enchanted and educated all at the same time as I read this book. I even chuckled at societies silliness -- it was great! It fascinated me! I haven't read anything quite like it. I can't wait to see what Linore writes next!.<BR/><BR/>Nora St. Laurent -Book Club Servant Leader<BR/>www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    As a fan of Jane Austen, I was skeptical of reading this series.

    As a fan of Jane Austen, I was skeptical of reading this series. However, at the time, this book was a free Christian fiction option on my Nook, so I chose to give it a shot. I was delighted that my chance paid off and I was entertained and impressed! When the sequel came out, I devoured that as well, and have just finished the third. This is my favorite Christian fiction series and I can't wait to see what else this author has in store for her readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I really liked this story

    It is a Jane Austin-like read. I enjoyed the story; how the author showed the main character's struggles; how she describes that time period. I love it when I'm not embarassed to read a romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    If you like Pride and Prejudice this is a MUST read!

    Before the Season Ends was a very engaging book! It reminded me of a Jane Austen novel, the writing style and story outline. I could not put the book down once I got started. I just had to know if Mr. Mornay was going to become a Christian!

    There were some parts of the story that, if I was the author, would have left out. I understand that a lot of the "extra" information was to help set the stage so the reader could understand what the time period was like, but I kinda skimmed through some of that stuff because I did not find it of utmost importance to the story.

    Before the Season Ends was FAR BETTER than the sequel. I never finished the House of Grovenor Square because I just couldn't get into it like I did this book!

    Great writing! Great story! Jane Austen fans must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    I love books about this era. The wardrobes, the balls, the expectations, are all so different from our modern life. This book has a distinct Jane Austin feel to it but is easier to read because it has a glossary of terms in the back (since many of the terms are unfamiliar). If you love Jane Austin you will love this book! Wonderful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Loved It!

    I loved this book and found such enjoyment from reading it! It was fun, entertaining, and a very fast read seeing as I couldn't put it down. 'Before the Season Ends' has all the ingredients for the perfect story and was NOT disappointing at all. FANTASTIC JOB Linore Rose Burkard! Thank you for your work! I will look for more books written by you! Well done!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Slow start but soon found i couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Fun story w/Christian morals

    I was very surprised that I enjoyed this book as much as I did because it started out as a typical love story but the main character stuck to her beliefs and I was proud of her! This is a good story to read to reinforce that Christianity is more than religion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Absolutely loved it.

    Could not put it down. Can't wait to read her next two books. My new favorite author. You will not be sorry you purchased this book. Loved,loved, loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Before the season ends

    Cute story, couldn't put it down. Although it seemed like the story was drug out and then the ending was so quick it was a good story and was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Recommended

    Very good read. Entertaining, sweet love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    GREAT

    I will look for more books by this author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Good Book

    If you are into British historical fiction romance then this book is the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    recommended

    loved it, can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    A fine story with a lot of Jesus

    This was a fast read, an enjoyable story, but somewhat predictable. There were serious Christian elements woven tightly into the story. The Christianity in the book felt natural and not forced at all which was a nice change from some of the other Christian fiction in this genre.

    I would most likely recommend this book to Christian teen girls (or the parents of Christian teen girls).

    Overall, it was a fine read, not my favorite, but definitely not the worst thing I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Very good book

    This was a very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6