Customer Reviews for

Before the Season Ends

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pleasurable book

Though the first impression of Ariana is that she is a ninny (thinking her lot in life was a sixty year old curate) fortunately later chapters showed her as much more mature, developed and entertaining personality. I was captivated in the story until the marriage offer...
Though the first impression of Ariana is that she is a ninny (thinking her lot in life was a sixty year old curate) fortunately later chapters showed her as much more mature, developed and entertaining personality. I was captivated in the story until the marriage offer at which point I lost interest and skimmed the remainder of the chapters. While as a Christian I understood Ariana's dilemma I became rather impatient at the statement and restatement. I was waiting for Phillip to become as impatient with her as I was. While I choose inspriational romances and want a Christian setting, I am not wanting a diatribe on doctrine.

Though I would read other books by the author with other characters, personlly, I am not interested in the sequel with Ariana. I read for escape from my daily problems, some of which are relational (thus the need for romance books!) and I am NOT interested in spending any time or emotions involved in problems between fictional characters, however likeable.

The book was well written and enjoyable, though "in the vein of Jane Austen" didn't ring true for me.

posted by Suholo on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perhaps if I hadn't been spoiled by Georgette Heyer/Patricia Veryan Regencies


Once I overlooked that the deluded girl who stubbornly believes it is God's will for her to marry a 60 year old vicar because he happens to be the only "man of God" handy is the same girl we (and the hero) are supposed to find so charming and engaging, the book seemed...

Once I overlooked that the deluded girl who stubbornly believes it is God's will for her to marry a 60 year old vicar because he happens to be the only "man of God" handy is the same girl we (and the hero) are supposed to find so charming and engaging, the book seemed to show promise. That is, until about halfway through when all the characters changed again. The stern aunt becomes a silly old woman delighted because she made a rhyme with her niece's name, the "worthy" suitor becomes a bit of a stalker, and Ariana becomes a self-righteous prig.
And then there are teasers of sub-plots that never go anywhere and/or are resolved in a few paragraphs: the disappearing letters, the "new best friend" who keeps tempting Ariana away and throwing her together with the stalker, the sightly off couple who accompany the hero and heroine to Vauxhall Gardens but are never heard of once they get in their boat and, the worse, the revealing of the hero's deep, dark secret by some man who has barely made an appearance but is now presented as some sort of rival. This major plot development is quickly resolved with the hero off screen by Ariana going to visit his aunt..with a paragraph or two set aside to describe her outfit as she stands outside the aunt's door mentally preparing herself.
And, yes, if a heroine spends 2 pages standing up in small boat making a passionate speech, no one is surprised when she falls overboard...that heavy-handed plot device was probably the turning point downwards.
Finally, what in the world is meant by "swirling eyes"? It made me think of those people who can make their pupils jiggle, which doesn't really enhance the hero's desirability.
that
As a Christian, I hope to find Christian authors that can incorporate faith realistically into their writing with a story that is well-crafted enough to stand on its own. Sadly, I did not find either in this book.

posted by HippolytaTS on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Watch out Jane Austin - Linore is here!!

    Let me first say that I¿ve never read a Jane Austin book and was totally taken by the story which was set in 1813, Chesterton, England, where nineteen year old Ariana is off to her Aunt¿s house for the opportunity of a life time. She¿s never met her Aunt so this was awkward to say the least. Aunt Bentley is on a mission to find Ariana the best husband her city had to offer. She is totally thrilled to set up her niece's social calendar for the season of her "coming out". <BR/><BR/>I was totally floored by all the ¿Rules¿ upper society had. Amazed at how Mrs. Bentley knew all these rules along with just the right style of clothes to be worn; to present a good impression for a successful coming out party. Ariana saw how excited her Aunt was about this whole process. She wasn¿t as excited as her Aunt as a matter of fact things were making her head spin (mine too) with all the rules, types of clothes to be seen in and which accessories (like gloves) had to be worn at certain occasions. Some of the rules just made me laugh out loud. <BR/><BR/>Ariana was sure her parents didn¿t know how serious all this was? Ariana couldn't believe how much money her Aunt was spending on her -- it just didn't seem right. Would there be money left over for her sisters coming out party? Maybe some of this money could be given to the poor. She just didn't feel right about all the expense and attention.<BR/><BR/>She was determined to honor her Aunt even though her parents said Mrs. Bentley was a high society heathen. Maybe in the process of obeying her Aunt she could show the love of Christ is a special way. Ariana wanted to tell her Aunt that having a personal relationship with Christ was so much more important than following a bunch of religious rules, like she does in these high society parties. She prayed for this opportunity. <BR/><BR/>Ariana didn¿t think like woman her age. In Ariana's way of thinking, a personal relationship with Christ was the most important quality in a husband! Period. The end. She didn¿t want a man just to have one. Her Aunt thought this line of thinking was judgmental and ridiculous. I soon found myself cheering for Ariana.<BR/><BR/>I was captivated, enchanted and educated all at the same time as I read this book. I even chuckled at societies silliness -- it was great! It fascinated me! I haven't read anything quite like it. I can't wait to see what Linore writes next!.<BR/><BR/>Nora St. Laurent -Book Club Servant Leader<BR/>www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    As a fan of Jane Austen, I was skeptical of reading this series.

    As a fan of Jane Austen, I was skeptical of reading this series. However, at the time, this book was a free Christian fiction option on my Nook, so I chose to give it a shot. I was delighted that my chance paid off and I was entertained and impressed! When the sequel came out, I devoured that as well, and have just finished the third. This is my favorite Christian fiction series and I can't wait to see what else this author has in store for her readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I really liked this story

    It is a Jane Austin-like read. I enjoyed the story; how the author showed the main character's struggles; how she describes that time period. I love it when I'm not embarassed to read a romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    I love books about this era. The wardrobes, the balls, the expectations, are all so different from our modern life. This book has a distinct Jane Austin feel to it but is easier to read because it has a glossary of terms in the back (since many of the terms are unfamiliar). If you love Jane Austin you will love this book! Wonderful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Loved It!

    I loved this book and found such enjoyment from reading it! It was fun, entertaining, and a very fast read seeing as I couldn't put it down. 'Before the Season Ends' has all the ingredients for the perfect story and was NOT disappointing at all. FANTASTIC JOB Linore Rose Burkard! Thank you for your work! I will look for more books written by you! Well done!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Absolutely loved it.

    Could not put it down. Can't wait to read her next two books. My new favorite author. You will not be sorry you purchased this book. Loved,loved, loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    GREAT

    I will look for more books by this author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    recommended

    loved it, can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Very good book

    This was a very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    recommend for enjoyful reading

    Thank you for the free book . I enjoyed being able to sit down and just enjoy the book for my pleasure and relaxation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Simply Adorable.

    Okay so I have to admit that it took me awhile to actually get into the book. It was a bit boring in the very beginning. Maybe the first 2 chapters though. Once I finally got into it, I couldn't put it down. Like staying-up-until-after-3am couldn't put it down. It is the most adorable and cute story...definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Wonderful

    I love inspirational romances. This is the first book I've read from this author. The book pulls you in and it was hard to put down. However, I would not compare this with any of Jane Austens book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Finally! An author with Intellect AND Talent!

    I can't say enough about how enjoyable and intriguing the characters and plots are! Paced beautifully without unending descriptions of trivial things! I also purchased The House in Grosvenor Square, and The Country House Courtship because I was so impressed with her first book in the trilogy. I most definitely was NOT disappointed. Her Christian approach and style of writing a romance series is refreshing and to be commended. There is no lack of humor, romance and passion (which does not have to be explicitly explained to the reader- you can FEEL the tension and passion through Ms. Burkard's talented writing). As for intrigue- it keeps you turning the pages! What I loved most about Ms. Burkard's writing is that the stories are blessedly UNPREDICTABLE, and that the stories are thought provoking- especially when we examine our own relationship with God and others. Five stars and I CAN'T WAIT FOR HER NEXT BOOK1 WHAT A TALENT1 Bravo, Ms. Burkard; we need more writers like you. Everything I've read since I've completed your books, which is considerable, has dulled by comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finally! An Author with Intellect AND Talent!

    I can't say enough about how enjoyable and intriguing the characters and plots are! Paced beautifully without unending descriptions of trivial things! I also purchased The House in Grosvenor Square, and The Country House Courtship because I was so impressed with her first book in the trilogy. I most definitely was NOT disappointed. Her Christian approach and style of writing a romance series is refreshing and to be commended. There is no lack of humor, romance and passion (which does not have to be explicitly explained to the reader- you can FEEL the tension and passion through Ms. Burkard's talented writing). As for intrigue- it keeps you turning the pages! What I loved most about Ms. Burkard's writing is that the stories are blessedly UNPREDICTABLE, and that the stories are thought provoking- especially when we examine our own relationship with God and others. Five stars and I CAN'T WAIT FOR HER NEXT BOOK! WHAT TALENT! Bravo, Ms. Burkard, we need more writers like you. Everything I've read since I've completed reading your books, which is considerable, has dulled by comparison!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING AUTHOR!

    How refreshing to finally read a great Christian Romance book that isn't one bit predictable! The characters and plots have you engrossed in no time. This book, as well as the other two books that follow in the series, House in Grosvenor Square and The Country House Courtship, define what a "page-turner" book should be! Her books are not only entertaining, but nurtures your personal Faith in God as well. I have read hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of books; Ms. Burkard has my highest regard for an author in this topic genre! I will positively recommend her to all my friends and family and CANNOT WAIT to read her books in the future! Well done, Ms. Burkard, well done indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A charming regency novel. Well done!

    Review by Jill Williamson

    England, 1813. A time when a young lady's life was all about finding the best husband. Country girl Ariana Forsythe's parents do not approve of the man she has set her sights on and send her to London to live with her rich Aunt Bentley. Ariana can hardly wait to see the city, a place filled with history, museums, and art. Aunt Bentley has different ideas of how Ariana will spend her time, however, and drags Ariana on countless shopping trips to prepare for her debut into society.

    But Aunt Bentley over exaggerates. Arianna is not the eldest daughter nor does she have a large inheritance, though no man could doubt it the way Aunt Bentley presents her niece. Ariana feels as though she is deceiving everyone she meets. She does not wish for a rich husband. She only wants one who loves God as much as she does.

    Ariana seems to attract disaster. A misunderstanding with a rich and powerful woman results in a vicious rumor about Ariana and London's current rich and rouge bachelor, Philip Mornay. Despite Philip's indifference toward young women seeking a husband, he offers to help Ariana dispel these rumors by pretending to court her. Ariana's faith and future are on the line. Will Philip's intentions help to clear her name? And can she resist giving her heart to a man who does not share her love of God?

    What a delightful read! I love books based on this period in history. Ms. Burkard has written a wonderful story of the complications of high society life in regency England. Her characters were both charming and deep. I longed for Ariana to find what she really wanted and get away from her manipulating aunt. But Ms. Burkard found clever ways to overcome each worrisome development Ariana managed to get herself into. I highly recommend this novel for those who love Jane Austen and romance stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Delightful

    Jane Austen fans beware. You will not be able to put this book down. Before the Season Ends is one of those books with a permanent place on my bookshelf that I intend to read over again.

    Ms. Burkard is a talented author. Her writing style is that which pulls you in and doesn't let go until you've reached the end. And even then you wish there to be more. Thank goodness there's a sequel. Indeed, I was quite astounded at the aptitude of the author not that I discounted Ms. Burkard before reading, but that she is just so very good at writing Regency. You might even believe you're reading a period novel. Her writing stays in tune with the time period to the extent as to even match the spelling of certain words like-connexion- for connection. The same way Jane Austen spelled it.

    The writing does resemble that of Jane Austen if not in style than in technicalities. Just like Jane the POV (point of view) does switch from head to head in certain places within a scene while primarily staying with the heroine. There is even a hint of the narrator just like Jane at times. For those certain comments could not come from the heroine but an all-knowing narrator.

    The author's description of Regency England and especially London is so detailed that you would have thought she slipped back in time to take down notes. There are also such stunning descriptions of places and homes and the things within the home. Being a historian myself, I appreciated this side of her book as well. Very well researched. As one who loves classic literature of the Regency and Victorian era, I thought her book fit right in with the likes of Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell and Charles Dickens.

    The heroine, Ariana Forsythe, starts out seeming quite young and naive at the onset of the book. As we aren't allowed into her POV much in the 1st 3 chapters, I wasn't quite sure of want kind of character she would turn out to be. She is a young woman of great moral fiber who loves God and in following His commandments receives the desires of her heart. Ariana is such an endearing character. I enjoyed her very much. What an example she is to all young women even today in their Christian walks. The reasons that the unattainable Mr. Mornay falls in love with her are the very same reasons you will find her delightful.

    Mr. Philip Mornay is called the Paragon. Every lady wishes to attract him and every man tends to emulate him. From fashion, wealth, and society he is at the peak of the swell. He's very proud and at times seems angry. He can be brusque and rude and everyone allows it because he is the Paragon. Then he meets Arianna and his heart and behavior begin to change. For every action there is a reaction and Ariana soon learns the reasons for the behaviors in the man she has come to love.

    My one qualm with the book is that I wish there had been more time spent in the POV of the hero, Mornay. Of course, the same could be said of Jane Austen which of course has resulted in all those modern written spin off novels.

    Before the Season Ends was simply enchanting from the first page to the last. It is very romantic and yes even passionate at times. Such a sweet romance and one that got my heart to pounding to see these characters get together. The Christian message is quite transparent from the very first chapter. No watered down Christianity here. It was wonderful to see the plan God had in the lives of these two people. I look forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Next Best Thing to a New Jane Austen novel!

    I have been in a Jane Austen sort of mood lately. I'm currently listening to Pride and Prejudice in my car, have been watching several of the movies on DVD and the soundtrack to P&P (2005) is going to be played in the prelude at my wedding. So this book fits perfectly with the way my mood has been. This book is written perfectly in the Regency tone of voice and style. I loved Ariana's character. It was fun to read about her stepping into high society at the benefit of a rich old aunt. The chemistry she had with Phillip was wonderful and very believable. It's very easy to swoon while reading this book. You wish you could live like this all the time! All the details in the book are wonderful, the description of the places and the clothes really make the story come to life. I enjoyed reading about the fashion and all the little customs of the time period. I even like the part where it's explained how Ariana could not be called by her first name in society because her older sister had not been married yet. I wish that happened today! The scene involving Ariana being stuck in a tree was my favorite. It was like something really out of a Jane Austen novel and I could picture it in a movie coming to life. Very funny and great way to make the characters interact with each other. Since this is a Regency Inspirational Romance, there is talk about religion and Christianity in the book but it's not preachy. Yes they are key elements to the story but even if they are not something that you agree with, honestly the setting and tone of writing are the main focus of the book.

    My only qualm is that there is a nice guy who gets hurt and gets no condolence. I always feel bad when the nice guy loses! However this book was a gem to read. I could practically see myself wearing the empire dresses and listening to classical music during the book. I have expected Darcy or Edward Ferras to pop up and make cameos! This is a wonderful time in British history and one I wish I could go back in time to visit. I am looking forward to reading the rest of Ariana and Phillip's adventures. If you are a Regency fan, you will adore this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful, exciting read to get yourself lost in

    You have to see the video of this book, it is amazing Here is the link http://www.linoreburkard.com/ Go about halfway downt he page and the video is there.
    I reviewed this book for You Gotta Read and here is my review

    Blurb:
    England, 1813: Romantic woes at home send Ariana Forsythe to her Aunt Bentley's town house in the fashionable Mayfair district of London. There she finds worse troubles than those that prompted her flight from home. Under her aunt's watchful eye, Ariana is soon steeped in high society--and at odds with Mr. Phillip Mornay, London's current darling rogue.
    Then, unexpectedly, rumour of a scandal changes Ariana forever. Her faith and her future are at stake in an unexpected adventure that gains even the Prince Regent's attention.
    Will Ariana's faith survive this test? And what about her heart? For it is Ariana's heart that most threatens to betray the truths she has always believed in. When she finds herself backed against a wall, betrothed to a man who cannot share her faith, how can it ever turn out right?


    I was intensely charmed by the character of Ariana. She was a young woman who often spoke her mind much to the chagrin of those around her. She was impulsive, witty and a beautiful woman inside and out. She lived her life on a path with God and did not take to making important decisions light heartedly. From the moment she meets Mr. Mornay, her heart skipped a beat and she knew there was something very special about him and that he had entered her life for a reason. I watched as Ariana transformed from a young lady into a woman with her faith tested in a way that was beyond her imagination. She always put God first in her life and her main objective in life was to share with the world the grace God has for everyone.

    Phillip Mornay was an important, rich man who had a foreboding quality that steered people away from him. He was not a man to cross. When he first meets Ariana, it is in a rather awkward situation that he finds very amusing. In fact, he finds her ways refreshing and entertaining. He feels connected to Ariana which takes him by surprise and he wishes to do all that is in his power to protect her. The bond Ariana and Phillip possess made me fall in love with their characters. The humor they shared between the two of them had me giggling. These two were the perfect match.


    I was transported to the Regency era and it has been a journey like no other I have been on before. I have visited places that I had never experienced before and met some very intriguing characters. This was the first time that I have read a full length regency novel and I found myself in love and fascinated with this particular period of time.

    Before The Season Ends was an stunning and sensational book. I was amazed at how intricately detailed the entire story was. From the imagery to the clothing of this particular time period, there was not one detail that was ignored. I actually felt transported to a beautiful time and place and I didn't want to leave. It is very apparent that Linore Rose Burkard has thrown her body and soul into this particular book and I enjoyed every minute I spent with these characters. Ms. Burkard is an extremely talented writer who has obviously researched this time period extensively as it shows throughout the book. I am unquestionably going to add any future work of Ms. Burkard's to my automatic to be read list. I have obviously become a huge fan and can't wait

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    I was introduced to Regency Romance by Georgette Heyer and was pleased to read Before The Season Ends. I found the story highly entertaining and enjoyable.

    I liked Linore's characters and welcomed the chance to read Ariana's continuing story in The House in Grosvenor Square. Ariana did not disappoint me. She got in to all kinds of scrapes. I had to keep reading to see how it would turn out. She would get out on one scrape and into another. Ariana could seem to be unreal as is a very forgiving person, but Linore's skillful writing makes her come across in a believable way. I look forward to reading Linore Rose Burkard's next novel in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3