Customer Reviews for

Beg Me To Slay (Entangled Covet)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    I recently discovered Lisa Kessler's books and have enjoyed ever

    I recently discovered Lisa Kessler's books and have enjoyed everything that I have read so far. When I got the notification for BEG ME TO SLAY I had no doubt I would enjoy it and I wasn't disappointed.

    When Tegan sees her attacker on video killing another woman she calls the police. They didn't believe her so she took things into her own hands and found a private investigator. Gabe is nothing like she thought he would be and neither of them know that their fates were tied together many years ago.

    After Tegan survived her attack she pretty much vowed she would never be a victim again. After 4 years she is now a black belt and runs her own dojo. She knows how to protect herself and when Gabe insists on acting as her bodyguard she makes it clear to him that she can protect herself. Gabe isn't your normal PI, he also slays demons, and it doesn't hurt that he is super easy on the eyes. Both characters were pretty interesting on their own but together they really bring the story together. We find out that Tegan's family history might be the reason for her attack and her surviving all those years ago and we also watch as Gabe lets his walls downs and learns to care about someone again. The relationship is anything but smooth but watching them find themselves in each other was great.

    BEG ME TO SLAY was suitably fast paced and filled with action like Kessler's other books. The world has plenty of unique points and there are even some great lessons stuck between the pages. My favorite character besides the couple? Tegan's Dad! I'm glad I read this and I'm positive you will be too.

    * This book was provided free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Beg Me to Slay is a wonderful well-written paranormal romance be

    Beg Me to Slay is a wonderful well-written paranormal romance between two individuals who could easily have been broken by the supernatural forces that have invaded their lives, but who choose to fight to reclaim their lives, and along the way find a love that can triumph over any demons who try to destroy them. 




    Tegan is a heroine I can admire. She has worked hard to put her life back together after a strange attack four years ago shattered her sense of reality and left her not only physically scarred but questioning her sanity as well.  Instead of giving in to the fear that could easily have consumed and paralyzed her, Tegan refuses to be victimized ever again by earning a black belt in Karate and opening a dojo. Although she’s come a long way in healing, it isn’t until she meets PI/paranormal investigator Gabriel “Gabe” Smith that she realizes she still hasn’t been fully living her life.  Their paths cross after she unexpectedly discovers that her attacker, the strange man with the glowing eyes and pointy teeth, is nearby. I like that Tegan goes on the offense by hiring Gabe to find this man before he can come after her again.  Over the course of the book, she proves not only to herself but to those around her how strong she can be, and watching her face her “demons” head on is inspiring. Tegan is a real “kick ass” heroine with the skills and confidence to face the oncoming perilous situations headed her way.




    Gabriel is a multi-faceted character and one of the few able to get past Tegan’s emotional defenses and sometimes prickly nature with his charm and teasing personality, and he is able to bring out the playful side of Tegan that she thought long gone. It also doesn’t hurt that Gabe is easy on the eyes. This handsome demon slayer has super fighting capabilities, unusual healing abilities, and the experience to survive in the hidden world of demons living in the human realm.




    After Gabe takes one look at Tegan’s scar, he realizes she was bitten by a demon and, somehow, miraculously survived her attack. However, he also knows this demon will continue to search for her and is determined to protect her at all costs. He finds Tegan attractive, intriguing, and watching her in fight mode is a big turn on for him as well. However, Gabe is carrying around his own emotional baggage and experience has taught him not to get close to others or their safety will be jeopardized. Despite how cautious both he and Tegan are in guarding their hearts, the sexual tension builds between them until they can no longer resist each other, and what starts out as a business partnership gradually evolves into so much more than either ever expected.  Kessler has just the right amount of sexual tension that isn’t dragged out for too long, and she writes some seductive love scenes that aren’t overly graphic.




    The novel’s plot is creative, well-executed, unpredictable in many of its aspects, and contains some incredible surprises. I appreciate how Kessler ties together all the story threads so effectively.  Gabe and Tegan face one mounting conflict after another and the drama never stops. If you enjoy paranormal romances, I encourage you to check out Beg Me to Slay which is an engrossing read all the way to the end. 




    I received an ARC of this book from the author for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book!  I  liked that Tegan even though she

    I really enjoyed this book!  I  liked that Tegan even though she was a victim at one time, took control of her life so she was able to 
    shed her victim persona.  Gabe was a real take charge guy, with a dark past, that almost prevented him from moving on with his life.
    It was nice to see a couple work together..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Tegan was attacked by a demon, but unknown to her she is one of

    Tegan was attacked by a demon, but unknown to her she is one of very few who survives these attacks. She spends the few years after the attack learning and then teaching martial arts to prepare herself should she ever become attacked again.

    Then she spots her attacker again. Tegan goes out and hires a PI Gabe, and he seems to be the right man for the job. He also tells her about the true nature of her attack.

    This book follows Gabe and Tegans adventure and how they learn to eventually trust each other and fall in love. Great book full of excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was given an ARC ebook by Entangled Publishing for an honest r

    I was given an ARC ebook by Entangled Publishing for an honest review.

    I really enjoyed this book and I hope there is a follow up to continue the story of Tegan and Gabe.

    Tegan is still dealing with an attack that happened 4 years ago. To make sure that she was never helpless again she threw herself into self defense and martial arts, and then opened her own dojo. Then one night she saw her attacker, leading her to seek out of P.I. to help do what the cops never could, find the man who attacked and bite her, leaving a reminder in the shape of a scar. Enter Gabe, at P.I. by day and a demon hunter by night.

    Of course as they work together they fight with each other, then apologize, then fight again. Both are damaged from events in their past and they both fight their growing feelings for each other. And the stress of finding the demon that is building an army to open a portal for another powerful demon to come to earth, that doesn't help.

    I would recommend this book. And like I mentioned before I would like to hear more of their story, even a novella would do. I will be reading more from Lisa Kessler in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I so glad I read this fun story with great characters. I enjoy i

    I so glad I read this fun story with great characters. I enjoy it and found it to well written. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    I do not read a lot of demon books but this one had a few new tw

    I do not read a lot of demon books but this one had a few new twists. I was really hooked from the start. great pacing keeps you on edge throughout.

    Tegan is a kick-butt chick!! She is a survivor and works to fight her way back after a demon attack. I loved her spunk and attitude. She knew her limits and was willing to learn more to help save herself. Girl Power!!

    Most of the time I liked Gabe, but he takes awhile before he accepts Tegan can be an asset. Once he was on board, things progressed quickly!! The romance was believable and well crafted.

    Oh yummy steam!! I am talking hot and heavy action in the Dojo, who needs a bed anyway! Just enough smexy action to make a girl hunger for more!! Nice details in the steam but not too hardcore. Oh la, girl I want a Demon Slayer too!!

    Great story, really detailed and plenty of action throughout. It does have a second conflict after the major conflict is resolved, it did give me a moment of ugh...more drama? Overall it was very entertaining and I loved the Epilogue! Can one hope there will be more? This is a new author for me but I am definitely on the look out for Ms. Kessler now!

    *Disclouse - I received a copy of this book in exchange for a honest review. All thoughts, opinions and ratings are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Oh¿my¿Gabe. Lisa Kessler has already impressed me with her ¿Moo

    Oh…my…Gabe.

    Lisa Kessler has already impressed me with her “Moon” shifter series, even earning my top spot for 2013 in paranormal romance for Hunter’s Moon. Of course I have a bit of a shifter obsession so she had a little bit of an advantage writing about hot, sexy werewolves.

    But her novel Beg Me to Slay had me falling in love with demon slayers.

    Can we talk about the heroine for a second? Tegan is one badass chick. After a demon attacked her, she refused to sit back and ever be a victim again. She trained herself to fight, opened her own business, and had her life pretty well in order until the demon from her past showed up in her present. I liked her a lot – her confidence, her ability to push through her fear and not be crippled by it. She didn’t necessarily need a man to rescue her, she just needed a little help tracking down her worst nightmare.

    Now Gabe. Oh my Gabe. He’s hot, charming, sexy, strong… he’s not thrilled about letting our heroine help him on the case she hired him to do but he learns to respect her skills. These two have some serious baggage and continually fight against the attraction they both feel, but when they finally get together, they make the wait worthwhile.

    Filled with plot twists and bits of history that keep the storyline engaging a unique, Beg Me to Slay is a definite must for fans of paranormal romance. Hot guy trying to save the world? Strong woman refusing to back down from a fight? Intense wall sex because they just can’t wait a second longer? Demons with acidic yellow blood seeping out from under their scales?

    Okay, could have done without that last part.

    4.5 stars to this fabulous piece of demony goodness. Lisa Kessler has definitely caught our attention – I can’t wait to start working my way through her backlist as I wait for more of her pretty words to be published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Tegan was attacked four years ago by something people called her

    Tegan was attacked four years ago by something people called her crazy over. She has spent her life since then training on martial arts and defense. She teaches a class for children and hopes things continue to go smoothly. That won't happen as she sees her attacker again and knows he is after her again. She hires a PI who also specializes in paranormal stuff. Gabe isn't just a PI he is also a demon hunter. He knows Tegan was attacked by a demon and he knows he has to stay close to her to protect her. They try to maintain a distance but it is hard to do when they both help each other and begin to fall for each other. There is more to Tegan than even she knows.




    Tegan has in some ways let her attack keep her from living a real life. She has become physically stronger but is afraid to let anyone get close to her. When faced with the fact paranormal things are real she takes it pretty well. She knew her attacker wasn't normal. She won't be told to sit back on the side lines when danger appears she jumps right in to help. Gabe has his own past that haunts him. He doesn't want anyone to get close to him either. He is afraid they will be hurt if they do. He is a fast healer and good fighter. 




    I really enjoyed this story as it has action, love, demons and the female character isn't one to stand by waiting for a man to protect her. Both Tegan and Gabe are wonderful characters that clearly belong together because they help each other in battles but emotionally as well. They are haunted by their own personal demons and have to let them go. Both of their past have a way of coming back I will say. I saw a few things happening but a few little twist I didn't see. The author does a great job getting you to know the characters and the world you are in. I will say a few characters are some you will hate. If you like paranormal books that are well written and entertaining pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Beg Me to Slay is another great book with an amazing new paranor

    Beg Me to Slay is another great book with an amazing new paranormal world and great characters by Lisa Kessler.

    She always amazes me with her easy to read and “flowing” stories.
    In Beg Me to Slay Tegan hires a private investigator, Gabe, to help her find the man who attacked her four years ago. Gabe introduces her into the world of demons and they start working together on the case.

    Tegan and Gabe are an amazing couple. They are both strong and independent yet they manage to be there for one another. I love that Tegan is so strong on her own and knows how to defend herself. She is a very likable character.
    And of course Gabe is just hot and intense :) there is nothing better than a good old demon hunter.

    The paranormal world Lisa Kessler creates is great. There are a lot of different kinds of demons and each one has its own quirks and can only be killed a certain way.
    Lisa Kessler provides all you can ask for in a good paranormal romance. A sexy and dominating immortal hero, a strong heroine who can take of herself yet is still feminine and accepts support, the evil ex-girlfriend, the dark villain and his minions and a lot of action, romance, hotness, fun and depth in the story. I wasn’t able to put the book down. It never got boring and I love Lisa Kessler’s writing.

    If you are looking for a different paranormal romance book than all that is out there and not part of a series try this one. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Tortured hero, badass heroine and demon, oh my! Tegan Ashton is

    Tortured hero, badass heroine and demon, oh my!

    Tegan Ashton is a survivor, after she'd bitten by a guy she met, and her wound is not a mere wound for it's look nasty. 4 years later, life in fear and constant alert, Tegan discover her attacker buried some corpse. No one believe her and still think that Tegan is nuts, so she hire Gabriel a paranormal P.I. Not take a long time for them to fall for each other, but Gabe is just not ordinary mortal, for he is a demon slayer. And the guy who attack Tegan is demon too and now he want Tegan to free a demon's leader from hell. Gabriel himself have a shady past, his lover was torn and murdered by demons when he save someone from demon's attack. That's why he want his relationship with Tegan is strictly business and he doesn't want endanger Tegan.

    Gabe doesn't know that Tegan is not meek and timid. Turn that she kick ass and doesn't back away when Gabe attacked by demon. Tegan is a karateka after all, and she also has dojo. When they visit Tegan's family, Tegan's dad said that their Welsh family have long history with demon. Theirs are descendants from Red Dragon, who banish White Dragon, and these dragons are demon. With this new clue, Tegan and Gabe hunt Tegan's attacker. And how surprise them when they know who make Tegan target, someone from Gabe's past. And when Gabe and Tegan's past collided, they must work their difference while kicking demon ass and also find their HEA.

    Beg Me To Slay is my first foray into Lisa Kessler's books. This more like traditional paranormal romance, but I love that Tegan is not a damsell in distress, wait for her knight of shining armor to rescue her. In her note, Ms Kessler said that she is survivor too, and she wrote this when she fight with the darkness. So this book have some angst too, especially about Tegan and Gabe.

    I like this couple, for Gabe not try to dominate Tegan, but honor her. It shows when he attend Karate class in Tegan's dojo. But somehow I want to smack him and said "move on already!". Gabe sometimes let him past caught up, therefore make he hurt Tegan more. I think sometimes the drama between Tegan and Gabe is too much and somehow too hurt to bear.

    The action is plenty and the pace is fast, there was twist here and there. I would love to see Tegan and Gabe story continued, but the epilogue hint this just a stand alone novel. But if Ms Kessler decide to write more about Tegan and Gabe's story, especially when they slay some demons, I would love to read it.

    Thanks for Entangled for provide the copy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This story is so good that I did not want to put it down until I

    This story is so good that I did not want to put it down until I read the last word. I am looking forward to reading more books by Lisa Kessler. 

    Tegan Ashton was not meant to live when she was attacked four years ago, but someone stepped in and saved her life that night. She’s determined to put the past behind her and never be a victim again. When she witnesses a man burying a woman on the beach she recognizes the eyes of the man who attacked her, and she knows he will be coming after her again very soon. When the police don’t believe her she searches for a private investigator that will. She finally finds one that investigates the paranormal as well. But is he the man Tegan needs?

    Gabe is not only a private investigator during the day, but he’s also a demon slayer at night. He has lost many loved ones by the creatures that most people believe are only a myth. He has pledged to defend anyone who needs protection from these creatures and does not allow himself time for personal relationships. He’s had no problem living without a woman in his life until he meets Tegan. There is something about her that interests him, but he cannot let anything happen between them or she will be in more danger than she is already in. 

    Keeping things strictly business between them is becoming a lot harder than they originally thought. Their feelings for one another deepen as they learn more about Tegan’s ancestors and fight the demons together. Are their feelings strong enough to enjoy a future together? Or will the heartaches of the past keep them apart? 

    I received an e-ARC of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    This book was a great read.  I liked Tegan and Gabe story. You g

    This book was a great read.  I liked Tegan and Gabe story. You got some demons and a hot slayer and a human that survived getting bitten and a love story too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Cover love! Heh - yeah, I like me a man in leather. Provided he

    Cover love! Heh - yeah, I like me a man in leather. Provided he doesn't have chicken legs (Dwight Yokam, I'm thinking of you...ick). But a beautiful cover does not a great book make in oh-so-many cases. However, that is NOT the case with Beg Me To Slay.
    I really liked this book. Tegan definitely has a major issue to deal with, having somehow survived a demon attack four years earlier. She might have been victimized, but she didn't allow the incident to make her a victim. She used it to make herself stronger, and it shows throughout the book. I liked that she was willing to fight back when given the opportunity, even though she's scared when the demon who attacked her resurfaces.




    Gabe has had a sucky existence as a demon hunter/slayer. The woman he'd been in love with was slaughtered by a demon when he was supposed to be protecting her. He'd been late coming home to see her that night because he'd been out doing his demon-slayer thing and saving another woman and that guilt drives him ever harder, making him very reluctant to feel anything deeper than surface lust for anyone else.
    Of course the fates have brought these two together and it was great to see the push/pull relationship bring them close. The only slight fly in the ointment was I think they both overreacted at one point to the emotional scarring they had when Gabe walks away from Tegan. I like Tegan's reaction though. She sulks, then tries to move on. She doesn't pull the pathetic, Oh I'll Never Love Again card; no, she goes out to try to find someone else even though she misses Gabe desperately.




    There were some very intriguing villains and Ms. Kessler didn't hesitate to show that not all demons are evil, but neither are the non-evil demons exactly fluffy bunnies. The writing was solid and the world-building complete.




    I hope there will be more books set in this world. I know I'll certainly eagerly devour them when they come out. 




    Once again, Entangled Covet brings another awesome book out! Thanks so much, Ms. Kessler!




    4.5 stars




    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I first started this book, my first thought was that I wasn

    When I first started this book, my first thought was that I wasn't going to like it because I thought it was going to be scarier then it was. This book kept me on the edge of my seat, and it didn't disappoint!! I love a book that has it all. a hot slayer, love and a woman that can take care of herself even when she doesn't have to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2