Customer Reviews for

The Beggar King and the Secret of Happiness: A True Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    A Must Read For Everyone

    Loved this book and I recommend it to everyone. Very insirational story. I really wish they had it for the Nook so I could add it to my collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Outstanding

    Really amazing book that I have read in one day and reread subsequently. Gave to my friends as gifts and they loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Great read!

    This book is an easy read, but you may find yourself wanting to go back and reread it many times. It is cleverly written, with the author's own story interspersed with the wisdom of stories from around the globe. It's the best book I've read this year. My copy was a Christmas gift, but I'll be buying more copies to give away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Secret of Happiness, Secret of Life

    When I picked up this book I'd never heard of one afternoon, and could not put it down until I had finally finished it at 2:00 a.m., I had to tell others. And I have. And, let me tell you: This is a rich book full of mystery and wisdom, and of course, best of all, the 'secret of happiness.' But, that I won't tell you. You'll have to read the book. Besides, it wouldn't do you any good if I did tell you, as ben Izzy does a much better job than I ever could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Highly recommend this title

    It's not lengthy enough for me! didn't want to put it down. Wish everyone would read it-marvellous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Love the tales

    Really good tales and its personal story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Somewhat recommend

    Too much focus on him being jewish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wonderful reminders of life

    Sat down on a cold, rainy Saturday and read the entire book in one sitting...could not put it down. I would definitely recommend to anyone who often thinks about the whys of this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    Joel Izzy is brilliant

    I enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    AMAZING

    A very original, creative, and emotional story. It has many short stories throughout the book which help shape the next events in the novel. A philosophical, inspirational, and motivational tale. It's Tuesdays with Morrie, but with a more in depth story and plot. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Didn't want to put it down

    I started reading 'The Beggar King' on a flight from San Diego to San Francisco. When the pilot announced that we were about to land, I found myself reading faster and faster. I just didn't want to put this book down! Ben Izzy is a masterful storyteller and the way he weaves ancient tales from around the world into his own personal (and authentic) story is fascinating. I found myself going from laughing out loud to getting choked up and teary-eyed, and then back to laughing out loud again. For me, that's one of the best gifts from a book like this -- bringing out our emotions and leaving us on a high. I know what I'm giving to my clients as holiday gifts this year! Definitely a great read with powerful lessons that I'll reflect upon for a long, long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    A Remarkable Story

    'The Beggar King' is like no other book I've ever read. It grips you as the best suspense novels do, inspires you as only true stories can, and moves you as every story from the heart does. It is a story about what Joel ben Izzy found in his heart when he lost his voice. I have been a fan of ben Izzy's stories for many years--his tapes and CDs have traveled thousands of miles with my family and me and have entertained kids and adults in our home. This book pulls it all together. It is autobiographical, but it also is a story about stories. It is a medical suspense tale and a meditative journey. The book is unresistably easy to read. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1