Customer Reviews for

Beggars in Spain

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning felt quite rushed (probably due to its novella roo

    The beginning felt quite rushed (probably due to its novella roots), but it was a very interesting read. Equally critical of collectivism and objectivism (and the odd blending of the two), it was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Kept waiting for the story to start,

    then gave up after 90 pages. If you are not a fan of Ayn Rand, or don't enjoy page after page of objectivist propaganda, then this is not for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Well-crafted and thought-provoking-- a must read!

    The social concepts of freedom and equality are challenged anew in this novel--genetic engineering has upped the ante significantly in Kress's fantastic blockbuster. Orwellian/Randian concepts woven in with Abraham Lincoln's statements about the nature of freedom, all set in a technologically plausible future society--Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Awesome book

    I loved this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Premise OK, dialogue and characters awful

    Admittedly I only read a 23 page Nook sample. The characters were cliched and one dimensional, with dialogue better suited to pulp romance fiction. I feel that if you can't produce believable characters and dialogue, the plot is irrelevent. The premise of genetic modification to remove the need for sleep is ok, but I would have preferred if the author used the premise to address concerns of overworked medical specialists, infantry troops and public safety officials, or even the genetic disorder Fatal Familial Insomnia. Instead she chose designer genetic modification which just added to the B movie quality of the book for me.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book!

    What an absolutely great science fiction story this turned out to be. Loved it and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    I loved IT!!!!!!!

    The book is thought provoking. I wonder about what eveloutionary stage are researchers going to do next and I ask is this next? Maybe not I hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Worth reading more than once

    I first read `Beggars in Spain¿ six or seven years ago and I enjoyed it then. I¿ve found that the better stories age well; come back a few years later and they still engage your heart and your mind. This is one of those stories. Nancy Kress illustrates a fast approaching issue ¿ the impact of genetic engineering ¿ with well-drawn characters in realistic situations. The premise is science has learned how to engineer humans such that they no longer need to sleep. Obviously, the ¿sleepless¿ have a huge advantage over the ¿sleepers,¿ and Kress explores the chasm that develops between the two classes of humans. Not to give away the story, but the ¿sleepless¿ have additional gifts that notch up the intensity significantly. My only complaint is that the story seems to run out of gas toward the end. Kress has ably developed the issues, but doesn¿t bring the plot to a definitive climax. Nevertheless, `Beggars in Spain¿ is an excellent story, one that will stay with you over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Powerful, great book

    A great book, reminiscent of Heinlein or Ayn Rand in that it intermixes philosophic concepts with great characters and action. It's done well - really well. Neat concept, good characters, a sense of history - and its not a rehash of stuff that I've read before. All in all a step above the pulp fiction I normally wallow in. Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2