Customer Reviews for

A Beginner's Guide to American Mah Jongg: How to Play the Game & Win

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent resource for new mah jongg players

    This manual is easy to read and understand. It has wonderful exercises to help you test your knowledge after each chapter, so used in conjuction with a game you can practice on your own. I have trouble learning from manuals but this one is fantastic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Everyone's Guide

    Not just for beginners but for EVERYONE. Ms. Sandberg adds humor and some "duh" moments to her book. Have played Mah Jongg since the mid-70's, and when you play with people from all over the country, you're bound to come up with a different view. We just pull out the book and within seconds we have the answer.

    Don't leave home to play Mah Jongg without it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Beginning Mah Jongg 101

    This book is an excellent tool in learning how to play mah jongg for the first time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Fun and educational

    Easy to understand, and great for self-study.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Beginners Guide

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well-written, understandable and informative. I used this book as a "refresher course" as I havent played in awhile and was joining a local group of players. This book did not "miss a trick". I especially enjoyed the self-testing areas - it was a way of testing your absorption and a wonderful review on each section. The sections follow one another consecutively and when finished the book - you are well on to your way of not only playng, but strategies and ways to play and improve picking out your hand with confidence. I recommend this book to all beginners.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    If you want to learn American Mah Jongg, this is a must have!

    This is a great book for those who are looking to start playing Mah Jongg. It takes you through the history of the game as well as strategies that you can start using right away. You will learn everything you need to know, and even some things that you might not. But you walk away with knowing each of the tiles and exercises that will help you pick up how to play faster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Very highly recommended!!

    This book is highly recommended. I'm presently learning how to play Mah Jongg and this book is easy to understand and is assisting me with those lessons. If you want to learn how to play this is the book to purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is the best book for a new MahJongg players. Easy to understand with lots of examples, and advice on strategy. I have both a hard copy and one on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Recommend

    Was a lot of help in learning to play Mah Jongg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Highly recmmend

    I bought book for a Christmas present for my wife she lives it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Truly a beginners guide

    I have used this book for the past several years to teach mahjongg. It is well organized with chapter summaries and quizzes to make it understandable and encourage progressive learning. While I have added a few exercises of my own to enhance the students familiarity with the tiles and procedures, this book is easy to follow and allows easy referral for questions (after the student has gone home and needs to look up something).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Found very helpful in my learning process!

    Found it very helpful and useful as a learing guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2