BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Get this book!

    Posted 5/5/2010: I am a professional developer (in many languages other than Java). I have programmed in Java previously but as in any tool if you do not use it you will lose it. I lost it! I have found some of the Java terminology to be intimidating but programming all follows the same rules. Java is no exception. The way Barry wrote the book he was speaking to each reader in a way they can understand and with humor. I wish I had the opportunity to take a class that Barry teaches. Wanting to brush up on my Java and learn new techniques this book does it all. I am completely satisfied and ready to use Java in real business applications.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Good in spite of flaws

    I'm currently evaluating this book as a possible textbook for a light class in introductory programming using Java at the high school level. Aside from working through it myself, I'm having a student act as a 'guinea pig' to give me their evaluation of it. The book is written in a style that's fun to read, and it provides good descriptions for a beginning programmer. There are enough programming projects in it to demonstrate the points in the book and keep the text from becoming long, slogging infodumps. There are many areas that are glossed over, but that's necessary at this level and I don't consider it a flaw. They've done well. It shares the flaw of many beginning programming books of limiting the examples to non-graphical apps for far too long, in my opinion. The book's real flaw, however, is the use of a platform-specific IDE from the very start. Using a platform-specific IDE with Java is outrageous, IMO. The examples are given with step-by-step programming instructions tied directly to this IDE, so any student who can't or doesn't use this IDE will be at a big disadvantage early on. The flaw can be overcome if the reader has some help from someone else, or the patience to figure out the relationship between the book's instructions for its IDE and what they are using. But if you're working on your own on a platform other than Windows, it could be a big problem. I'd much rather have seen this book using a standard multiplatform IDE like Eclipse or Netbeans with setup info to simplify the interfaces for a beginner. Still, the tone and style of the book and the fine examples are the saving graces of it. If you're starting out on Windows, I highly recommend this book, but I also recommend moving yourself to a standard IDE as soon as you feel competant to do so. If you're starting out on a Mac or Linux, this book will still work but there'll be a rough bump near the start while you set yourself up with Eclipse or Netbeans and learn to equate the directions in the book with your IDE. Fortunately, the Apple Developer Connection and Linux HOWTOs give good info that will get you started, substituting for the first few chapters of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Disappointing

    A "Beginning" book, and that's about as far as it goes. Several of the sample programs do not work with Java 7. The author spends too much time attempting to develop cute and humorous analogies; making the sample programs difficult to understand. Most readers won't need the five paragraph description (Chapter 15) of the author's visits to his Aunt Edna as an introduction to Java's For statements. The opening paragraphs of Chapter 20, "Oooey GUI Was a Worm" are insulting, and made this reader feel like a dummy for having bought the book in the first place. Save your money, and use the free Java on-line tutorials.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Excellect Book!

    Dr. Barry Burd did an excellent job with this book. He makes learning basic java extremely easy - I would suggest this book for ANYONE that wants to get a good boost start for learning programming with java. Best of all, you don't need any previous programming experience.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Confusing and rediculous...

    The author tries so hard to be funny that he really does a terrible job of explaining the material. His analogies to explain the workings of Java are rediculous and simply strange, which leave the reader confused. I found a great intoduction to Java as an Android App that's well organized, down to earth, and free. This book is not for dummies, its written by dummies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1