Customer Reviews for

Beguilement (Sharing Knife Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    After learning she is pregnant, Fawn Bluefield runs away from home, but is noticed by the Lakewalker Dag Lakewalkers can use ground senses to manipulate energy that enables them to use ¿magic¿ to kill evil creatures known as malices with specially prepared knives. Dag rescues Fawn when two mud-men created by the malice attack her,. He goes hunting itknowing that only one malice left to grow can destroy the world.------------- However, the mud-men kidnap her and take her to the malice¿s lair where Dag finds her. He tosses her two knives that she uses to kill the malice. One knife becomes primed after she lost her baby in the fight with the malice. Dag takes Fawn to a hotel that welcomes Lakewalkers so that she can recuperate from her ordeal. They begin to know one another and they fall in love although Dag knows Lakewalkers only mate with their own kind.------------------ Readers get to see up close and understand the Lakewalker culture with pressure to conform to their value while also receiving an exciting romantic fantasy adventure. The heroine is courageous as she leaves behind her family to give her baby a fresh start Dag seems wiser yet totally charmed by the outsider¿s feisty independence. Lois McMaster Bujold creates strong realistic characters while building a unique world. This tale showcases the remarkable skills of this grandmistress.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Romance Sci-FI

    This book and its sequals are to be found in the Science
    Fiction shelves of the store. However, if someone slipped
    up and put them in the Romance shelves they would not miss
    a beat. The characters are solid and individually interest-
    ing. Combined they make for a good solid Sci-Fi read with
    a romance element that I found compelling. And this last
    from a male who usually accepts only a minimum of that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Beautifully written, but

    All Bujold's books are masterfully constructed, and she is the best at developing and revealing character in the business. That is why I am not quite willing to brush off my residual feelings of dissatisfaction with this book, and, indeed, the entire series, minor as that dissatisfaction may be; because I know she is fully capable of selling me fully on Fawn as a character, and she doesn't do that here. Really, I think it's a caseof a writer falling too much in love with her own character. Once that happens, the reader has a natural tendency to reject this bludgeoning with the character's so strenuously touted virtues. I certainly do. In the end, I didn't love Fawn, didn't buy that she was wrongfully treated by her family, and quickly stopped respecting Dag, due to his continual irresponsible choices (which they were, despite Bujold's efforts to convince us otherwise.) He is old enough to know better, even if Fawn is not.

    None of this would matter, if it weren't so plain that Fawn and Dag are meant to be very paragons of humanity. They do not work for me in this role.

    Nonetheless, the book is well worth reading for the quality of the prose alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Very good

    Interesting and well-written. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    The book is definitely the beginning of a series, and it lays th

    The book is definitely the beginning of a series, and it lays the groundwork for future adventures. The focus of this first book is character and world development, and it is rich on both counts. It is also a love story, and it ties the main characters together and gives them a strong, but complex, relationship. I bought the next two books and will be reading on to see where this leads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Excellent

    An excellent fantasy. This books and every one is the series is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Love this series

    Read this series after the Vor Saga books and loved them all! Great characters and enjoyable reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I got this book out of the library after hearing Ms. Bujold spea

    I got this book out of the library after hearing Ms. Bujold speak at a science fiction/fantasy con. She was on a Hard Fantasy panel, and as I am a fantasy author, I was very interested.
    I had heard of her before but had never read anything she'd written. I got the impression from the con that she tends to write science fiction and I don't read that.

    However, I wanted to read some of her fantasies to see what her writing is like.

    One disclaimer about this review - I read like a writer and I tend to analyze technique and what I say may or may not make sense to you but here are my thoughts.

    First, let me say I was pleasantly surprised to discover this is, at the heart of it, a romance. I come from a romance background and I loved that about this.

    The world building is fabulous. I felt as though I could clearly picture Fawn's family and their farm. I love Dag's interest in the differing customs between Lakewalkers and Farmers. It was a good way to show us that the author has thought through all this. There's a whole world, possibly a whole "universe" behind these two characters and that makes the book feel as though it could really happen.

    Fawn's family is well developed. In a story like this, it's easy to create a family and give the main character several siblings, then let those siblings stand as cardboard cut outs, placeholders.

    Fawn's brothers are not that. They each have their own personalities and you can tell them apart. Her parents are well-developed, as well.

    Dag's "family," while not exactly similar, is also a unique and fascinated culture. As you read, you feel as though you know these people and can feel the history Dag shares with them.

    All in all, I can see now why Bujold has so many fans and I definitely will want to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating Characters in a Beautifully Written Narrative

    I came to Lois McMaster Bujold much later than I should have--years after friends had told me to read her books--but I'm grateful because it meant I didn't have to wait for all four of the books in this series to come out. I read them one after the other as fast as I could get my hands on them.

    Bujold's prose style in both this series and her other fantasy novels (the best of which are Curse of Chalion and The Paladin of Souls) is beautiful. The characters are compelling and complex. The plot is secondary in this series: there's just enough depth and purpose in the plot to give the books a narrative drive to keep everything moving, but I was so much more interested in who the characters were and how they'd deal with each other than in the action sequences. (The plots in Curse of Chalion and Paladin of Souls, on the other hand, are much more action driven if that's what you're looking for.) Be sure to get the other books in the series as well--they're all interesting, if in slightly different ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Anyone else but Bujold

    Had anyone else written this, I would rate it higher. But I've come to expect more from Bujold. The book had way too much filler, apparently meant to prolong an otherwise interesting story into a multi-book deal.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Not quite what I hoped for

    This was my First LM Bujold read and I felt it was a bit thin on the ground for plot. The characters were interesting but it felt almost as if there was much written about nothing really. I hope the second volume fills out a bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Good, but not what I hoped

    To people used to Bujold's plot-driven books sweeping ther cast along, this is a bit of a change of pace. Here it is the main characters, Fawn and Dag, who are nearly the complete focus of the story, with only a minor amount of otherworldly doings to set their feet in motion. Overall I liked it, but it reads more like a Mercedes Lackey book than your typical Bujold. I very much look forward to the sequel because this one seemed to go by too quickly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Great! :)

    I just finished this book, and I hardly know what to say, but *when is the next one coming out?!* Heh. But I thought this ended in a good place. As with all of Bujold's books, I loved this! It is so very different from her other books, but I found it so very satisfying. The Lakewalker culture is very intriguing, and I really want to know what happens in the next book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Beguiling indeed

    Bujold has created a unique fantasy world, new and intriguing. Her characters are engaging, they captured my heart and I was fascinated by them. I can't get enough of Fawn and Dag, their world and how they deal with it and each other. Bujold's writing style is as wonderful as ever. I enjoyed the parts that made me laugh out loud (and I'm not much of a laugh out loud person, but I did), but the parts that made me go 'Oh' and want to suddenly sit down and just stare into space and sit, those are even better. I recommend the book highly, and I'm eagerly looking forward to the sequel due out next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3