Customer Reviews for

Behemoth (Leviathan Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 373 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent follow up!

    I hopped from Leviathan to Behemoth and I couldnt have been more happy with a sequel. The creatures and machines in this story makes me wish that they actually exist and the characters are easily relatable! I CANNOT wait for the next one, I will be marking it down on my calender!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Epic

    The first book was epic ! :) so is#2

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    You would be crazy not to get this book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    A great follow up to Leviathan

    Posted 1/2/2011: This book is the follow up to Leviathan and show a different aspect of the fist world war that has a bit of a change to it, including a failed Turkish 1906 rebellion, leaving the sultan ruling the Ottoman Empire, and the ever present fabricated animals used by the Darwinists, and the robotics used by the Clankers. But, much is fact such as the pursuit of the Geoben and Breslau and The Committee of Union and Progress. In the story, the Leviathan completes it trip to Istanbul and is in time for World War One to begin. Alek escapes and takes refuge with Turkish revolutionaries and Deryn leads a failed raid on Turkish anti kraken nets but is stranded in Istanbul because the Turks force the Leviathan to leave the city in response to the raid. Deryn finds Alek and the two begin to plan a revolution with the Turks to destroy Turkish defenses, that include a lighting cannon the destroy Leviathan, and over throw the government when the Leviathan returns fully repaired and with the most powerful beast in British navy, the Behemoth. The revolution suceeds, and the Goeben is sunk by the Behemoth and the sultan resigns from office. Reviewed by Timothy P. Corder.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    The war is still raging: In this sequel to Westerfeld's Leviatha

    The war is still raging: In this sequel to Westerfeld's Leviathan, World War I is still raging across Europe. And yet again, Deryn and Alek are on another adventure. Westerfeld keeps the excitement flowing through this second book as the airship, Leviathan, heads for the Ottoman Empire. I loved the action in this novel and Westerfeld's attention to detail, especially concerning the variety of cultures when they arrive in the Empire. It really added life to the story

    Details, details, details: One of the best things about this novel, in my opinion, is the attention to detail. Those little descriptions here and there really made things seem realistic despite the alternative view of the world during that time period.

    Pictures!: I thought I grew out of picture books but the illustrations throughout Behemoth really provided a great visual for some of the stranger aspects of the novel. What Westerfeld didn't describe was depicted beautifully in the pictures. After finishing the novel, I actually went back to look at them all.

    Once again, Westerfeld leaves me wanting more, but we'll all have to wait for Goliath until September.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Awsome

    Best book in the world

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Deryn is a girl posing as a boy and serving in the British Air Services aboard the Leviathan as it heads to the capital of the Ottoman Empire on a secret mission.

    Alek, heir to the throne of Austria-Hungary, is also aboard the Leviathan posing as a commoner among his men. Together these Clankers and Darwinists have forged an uneasy alliance born out of necessity. But when war comes to the airship, everything changes.

    The year is 1914. The British Darwinists and their fabricated beasties have declared war against Austria-Hungary and their Clanker war machines. The rest of the world sits, waiting, on the brink of war.

    As the threat of war looms closer, Alek finds himself running out of options. He can't stay aboard the Leviathan any longer and risk becoming a prisoner of war. But can he ask his only friend, Dylan Sharp, to commit treason by helping him escape?

    Deryn knows that Alek has to leave the airship. She knows the he should go. But no matter what she tells herself Deryn doesn't want him to go. How can the one person who trusts her completely also be the one she can't share her biggest secret with?

    Alek and Deryn should be on opposite sides of this conflict but instead they have become fast friends. As the two make their way through the mysterious and dangerous city of Istanbul they just might find a way to stop this war in its tracks in Behemoth (2010) by Scott Westerfeld with illustrations by Keith Thompson.

    Behemoth is the sequel to Leviathan. It's also the second book in Westerfeld's Leviathan trilogy.

    This book is filled with everything that made Leviathan great and then some. Westerfeld's reimagined world is just as vivid and compelling as before. The action is just as exciting. There is alternate history. There is steampunk. There are beasties, walkers and a lot of people making insinuations by saying "Mr. Sharp" repeatedly.* There will be humor. Oh, and those mysterious eggs from Leviathan? They totally hatch in Behemoth.

    Deryn's secret continues to weigh heavily, especially when it comes to Alek. Meanwhile Alek, almost literally, has the weight of the world on his shoulders as he works to find a way to end the war. Westerfeld also spends more time on a lot of favorite secondary characters (including Dr. Barlow and Count Volger, my personal favorites) and world building as we see an Istanbul very unlike the one we know and learn more about familiar characters. The scope and detail Westerfeld brings to this book (and which Thompson brings to his delightful illustrations) is truly astounding.

    Behemoth is an excellent addition to a wonderful trilogy, possibly even better than the first in the trilogy. This is a book that really exceeds all expectations and will leave readers eagerly waiting for Goliath, the forthcoming conclusion to a stunning trilogy.

    Possible Pairings: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, Flight of the Phoenix by R. L. LaFevers with illustrations by Kelly Murphy, Boneshaker by Cherie Priest, Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne, The Time Machine by H. G. Wells, Firefly (television series) The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (graphic novel and movie), The Secret Adventures of Jules Verne (television series), Serenity (movie)

    *Sometimes one line can really make a book. Believe it or not, "Mr. Sharp." might be the line of this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Anonymouse

    This was a great book that matched that of the first. This book is one of the best books ever! A good reader!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    F

    Its one of the Must Reads (: i love this book . I wont say that if you dont like this book then ur stupid or stuff like thay because everyone has their opinion . So just sayin for the people out there , this book is problably reccommended to ages 9 and up . When i read this , i got confused a little because i never got t read the first one . Soooooooooo ... ya . Hope you enjy this book !
























    Lydia Munchkin(: age 12

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Cool

    This book is the boom if you don't read u r weid

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Anonymous June 9 ,2012

    If you loved this one you will love the next one in the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Love it

    I absolutely this entire series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    EXTREMELY RECOMMENDED for history or fiction lovers!!!!

    This book along with the 1st and third may come off as intimidating or unsatisfactory but once the books get going its hard to stop! The way the author mixes real events in history and puts a twist on animal biology and human technology awakens your eyes to infinite possibilities of the fiction world! LOVE IT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    An exciting adventure novel. Read all three books.

    It is a well written novel set in an imaginative steam punk world with steam powered contraptions, DNA altered beasts. The book keeps you riveted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Steampunk Alternate History Book Ever

    I am a big fan of Leviathan and Behemoth. Where do I begin on how good Behemoth is? Like its predecessor, Behemoth tells an amazing story that draws inspiration from WW 1. Lead characters, Alek and Deryn, with the supporting characters (some familiar, some brand new) keep the plot exciting and moving. No doubt, the art work is phenomenal, but if it was absent, the prose still does a good job of visualizing a war that is both familiar and bizarre. If real history books were written like and exciting as this, maybe I would have my BA in history. Oh well, I'm lookin' forward to Goliath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    I LUV IT...

    This is one of my fav book series!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another win for Westerfeld!

    This series keeps getting better and better. I waited to read this one until Goliath came out because I knew I'd want to head straight for it. The world that Westerfeld created within our own past is a piece of perfection.

    Characters, characters, characters. I feel right at home with these. It is like we all have went to school together since kindergarten and know each others' every move. The relationships take sweet little twists and turns this time around. Ins and outs are shown and we learn more about our little friends this time. Now, in fear of releasing to much, I will say that Goliath will definitely epic on this level...

    The storyline will keep you on the edge of your seat in this one. There's many plot lines going on at the same time, but they intertwine in some small and big ways. And, oh, the tangled web we weave as Alek and Deryn are both challenged to stand up into positions that are way beyond their years. Their shortcomings and successes make this a definite win for anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Best thing in teen fiction ever created! A most read

    A brilliant sequal to ann exstrordinary triolgy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    I loved it

    It was one of the best books ever read! Keep up the good work!;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Great Read

    Amazing book that keeps you hooked from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19