Customer Reviews for

Behind Closed Doors

Average Rating 4
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

~*TOTAL PERFECTION*~

This was my first time reading an erotic novel and let me tell you, because of Shannon McKenna...I AM HOOKED. Oh my goodness, how am i going to describe how i'm feeling right now??!?!?!?!? It took me two nights just to read a book almost 400 pages. It would've been one ...
This was my first time reading an erotic novel and let me tell you, because of Shannon McKenna...I AM HOOKED. Oh my goodness, how am i going to describe how i'm feeling right now??!?!?!?!? It took me two nights just to read a book almost 400 pages. It would've been one night, but after the first few love scenes, i got toooooooo hot to continue reading.

Well I'm not gonna sit here and write about the plot--this is not a book report--but just how i feel. First of all, that book was immensely saturated with very very hot erotic scenes....it wasn't raunchy, it wasn't corny or cheesy...it was INTENSE, HOT, ADDICTING, ORGASMIC :) and how McKenna describes each detail made me extremely captivated, very hot. None of the scenes were redundant, each scene were all different with different emotions attached to them...bondage, lots of oral, fantasy playing, and of course...intense love-making. This book drove me to the edge, making me want and long for moreeeee love scenes. Second, the story was PERFECT. Oh my goodness, it was sooo full of suspense that the whole time i was reading it, i felt like i was going to fall off the bed. Some parts, i felt like i was gonna punch the wall....other parts, i cried in anticipation of what was to happen next...other parts i smile with extreme happiness...i pretty much experienced every possible emotion there is!!!!!

ohhhhh Behind Closed Doors was soo good that the whole time i was reading, I imagined myself to be IN the story as one of the main characters, Raine Cameron. (Oh Seth Mackey, I'd die a happy girl if I were to have a guy like you...it's too bad you're fictional!)....Anyways hehee..my imagination went so wild that i could clearly see what was happening...it was as if i was watching a movie in my head, but better....oh man but the story all exploded in the end and i was left crying out of extreme happiness....all that tension throughout the story all exploded at the end which left me wanting for MOOOOOORE....the story was sooo good, i was disappointed with the ending...it seemed as if it wasn't enough, i wanted to read more and more.....oh my goodness, if you're a big fan of mystery, suspense, erotica, and romance....Behind Closed Doors by Shannon McKenna is the book I totally recommend.. Trust me, after reading it, u'll see firsthand how i'm feeling right now :) :) But to warn you, make sure your heart is in good condition, because once u read, you're in for a turbulent ride.....

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Plot lost in overdone sex scenes

I agree with some of the recent reviewers. The book had some potential with the storyline, but the author spent far too much time in graphic sex scenes. The relationship did seem stalker/brutal rather than exciting and loving. Relationship stories can include sex sce...
I agree with some of the recent reviewers. The book had some potential with the storyline, but the author spent far too much time in graphic sex scenes. The relationship did seem stalker/brutal rather than exciting and loving. Relationship stories can include sex scenes, but these were excessive and unnecessary. The story got lost along the way. I doubt I will seek out other books from this author since reviewers indicate this is common in her books.

posted by akrm on July 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    ~*TOTAL PERFECTION*~

    This was my first time reading an erotic novel and let me tell you, because of Shannon McKenna...I AM HOOKED. Oh my goodness, how am i going to describe how i'm feeling right now??!?!?!?!? It took me two nights just to read a book almost 400 pages. It would've been one night, but after the first few love scenes, i got toooooooo hot to continue reading. <p> Well I'm not gonna sit here and write about the plot--this is not a book report--but just how i feel. First of all, that book was immensely saturated with very very hot erotic scenes....it wasn't raunchy, it wasn't corny or cheesy...it was INTENSE, HOT, ADDICTING, ORGASMIC :) and how McKenna describes each detail made me extremely captivated, very hot. None of the scenes were redundant, each scene were all different with different emotions attached to them...bondage, lots of oral, fantasy playing, and of course...intense love-making. This book drove me to the edge, making me want and long for moreeeee love scenes. Second, the story was PERFECT. Oh my goodness, it was sooo full of suspense that the whole time i was reading it, i felt like i was going to fall off the bed. Some parts, i felt like i was gonna punch the wall....other parts, i cried in anticipation of what was to happen next...other parts i smile with extreme happiness...i pretty much experienced every possible emotion there is!!!!! <p>ohhhhh <i>Behind Closed Doors</i> was soo good that the whole time i was reading, I imagined myself to be IN the story as one of the main characters, Raine Cameron. (Oh Seth Mackey, I'd die a happy girl if I were to have a guy like you...it's too bad you're fictional!)....Anyways hehee..my imagination went so wild that i could clearly see what was happening...it was as if i was watching a movie in my head, but better....oh man but the story all exploded in the end and i was left crying out of extreme happiness....all that tension throughout the story all exploded at the end which left me wanting for MOOOOOORE....the story was sooo good, i was disappointed with the ending...it seemed as if it wasn't enough, i wanted to read more and more.....oh my goodness, if you're a big fan of mystery, suspense, erotica, and romance....Behind Closed Doors by Shannon McKenna is the book I totally recommend.. Trust me, after reading it, u'll see firsthand how i'm feeling right now :) :) But to warn you, make sure your heart is in good condition, because once u read, you're in for a turbulent ride.....

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Pleasantly Surprised

    Having read a few customer reviews who indicated some of the intimate scenes were too violent I was skeptical if I'd like it. Sooo glad I didn't pass this one up. Lead male character was definitely an alpha male type - if you're into the (which I am) then you'll be fine with this read. The plot was interesting, the sex scenes just the right mix of being intense and totally believable. Yep, this one's a keeper - I can't wait to read more of Ms. McKenna's books. Hope her writing style is more of the same.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Cold shower material

    This was an AWESOME book. There were many times that Raine should've dumped Seth and walked away. He was rude and overbearing. This book was a real page turner and well written. The sex was hot and the story was edge of your seat. I loved how it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Like A Wild Spy Novel

    I thought that this was just going to be a video voyuer type novel, and scary, but the plot just kept building to a point where you were beginning to wonder who the enemy was. You knew, by reading, that Victor Laza had his enemies, and that Seth couldn't get enough of Raine, then it made you think that at one point, Victor and Raine were enemies. I just had to keep reading to the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Intriguing

    The story progressed slowly but developed into a really interesting plot. Seth is a very broken man who is learning how to love. Raine has been running half her life after her father’s death and now is back to prove her Uncle killed her father. Seth feels compelled to protect her and the love between them grows. The story has twists, turns and surprises. It kept my interest until the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    HOT!! HOT!! HOT!!

    Seth is pure sin and sexy! This was such a fantastic story and I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great book

    Just came across this book and author and was pleasantly surprised. Steamy romance within a solid thriller. Well written, keeps you hooked from first page. Loved that the heroine is tough and independent and knows how to handle an alpha-male.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Wow

    Love Set and Raine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Murder, mystery, intrigue . . .

    and hot sex. Great story! Riveting! A good "beach" book, or "stuck in the house due to inclimate weather" book! Looking forward to Connor's story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great book...great series....wonderful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great series.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    Good Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I'm going to read the next ones as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Great book

    Great author

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    RAINE AND SETH ARE AWSOME TOGETHER. THIS IS A MUST READ!

    I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. Raine is determined and focused on her goal, but clueless as to how to do what she needs to do, until she gets into Seth's capable hands. He shows her how to be the woman she wants to be, and in turn she shows him how to trust and love. I really enjoyed the role play between them, but I wish Seth didn't have to be such a jerk all the time. In his defense he really did try above and beyond his usual blunt crassness, and was overall loveable. This is the first book of the series, so start here and if you like hot love scenes and blunt language, and dominate men then this is the series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY HOT!

    This was my first Shannon Mckenna novel to read. I can't wait to read more of her books. The love the charaters. The sex was steaming hot! I'm in love with Seth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    A witty, sexy, erotic love story weaved with intrigue

    To Shannon I give a standing ovation. Fellow readers do not hestitate to BUY THIS BOOK. I love the humor infused in the story line. I loved the relationship between Raine and Seth. The whole caveman meets the princess thing resembled one of my own relationships. In fact, I laughed, cried, and rooted for the main characters. The characters captured my interest I read the book in 2 days. The language was NOT offensive rather it was appropriately genuine. I loved it. I loved that Raine had sex immediately 'cause she wanted to. No 'rules', games or pretense. When you know, you know. Authentic...touching...life changing---a must read. I ordered 8 more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    one hot book

    this book was great,it kept my attention all the way. the chemistry between Seth and Raine is so awesome. Ms. McKenna knows how to write a steamy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    outstanding

    This book was great. The suspense kept me reading almost nonstop. You could defanently tell how much Raine loved Seth because he could be pretty mean at times, but she would still stay with him. I would defanently recommend this book to people!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    excellent

    this is the first book i have read from this author or even in the category and i thought it was great. seth may be over powering put thats part of the sexiness of the character...a real turn on...great reading for any first timers, like myself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Hot Hot Hot!!!!!

    Really enjoyed this book. Read all the reviews and decided to pick it up. I did find Seth was a bit controlling but what the heck...he had issues. Great writing and great story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who can handle steamy scenes with a well written story. Enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6