Customer Reviews for

Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

enhanced version is worth it

I'm only 1/2 way through the nook book so far, but I had to stop to let readers know that the enhanced version is worth it. There are several short videos that allow you to see the slum and its' people, including many of the characters from the book. They're beautiful...
I'm only 1/2 way through the nook book so far, but I had to stop to let readers know that the enhanced version is worth it. There are several short videos that allow you to see the slum and its' people, including many of the characters from the book. They're beautifully edited and a fascinating way to see into the lives of the slum inhabitants.

posted by 373645 on February 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was good. If you are looking for a glimpse into the undercity

It was good. If you are looking for a glimpse into the undercity of Mumbai, India this will be an eye opener and works well. This is a book that held my interest but wasn't a book that I simply couldn't put down. It is worth a look though and I recommend the enhanced ed...
It was good. If you are looking for a glimpse into the undercity of Mumbai, India this will be an eye opener and works well. This is a book that held my interest but wasn't a book that I simply couldn't put down. It is worth a look though and I recommend the enhanced edition.

posted by Zor-El on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    enhanced version is worth it

    I'm only 1/2 way through the nook book so far, but I had to stop to let readers know that the enhanced version is worth it. There are several short videos that allow you to see the slum and its' people, including many of the characters from the book. They're beautifully edited and a fascinating way to see into the lives of the slum inhabitants.

    33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Will Need Tissue

    Very moving, tragic but insightful read. Depressing story that needed to be told. Makes you very grateful for the life you have.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    A memorable, wonderful book

    The author has sccomplished something extraordinary. She has gotten inside the lives of marginalized people and made us feel them as real. India is a multiverse. This book deals wirh an India we hear about and even if we see, seldom understand. This book does not condemn, justify, or explain. It reveals.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Katherine Boo's book is one of the finest I've ever read. Her p

    Katherine Boo's book is one of the finest I've ever read. Her prose is both lyrical and sharp, and she does not indulge in sappy (and inappropriate) pity for the people of Annawadi. She brings their lives to us, thoughtfully and respectfully sharing the bonds she's developed with them and with the culture of this under-city over three years. A tour de force--don't miss it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It was good. If you are looking for a glimpse into the undercity

    It was good. If you are looking for a glimpse into the undercity of Mumbai, India this will be an eye opener and works well. This is a book that held my interest but wasn't a book that I simply couldn't put down. It is worth a look though and I recommend the enhanced edition.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Touching! beautiful soul full !!!!

    This book is narrative non-fiction I love the Nook version as it has video clips of the real people involved in the narrative. Very unique presentation, lives that are real today in a "slumdog millionaire" way. Universal needs and desires and the struggle for Love and survival in a world of caste and monetary division are described in vivid detail Love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Could not put down

    I felt like I had entered another world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A must read concerning social issues

    As I read this book I thought back to "The Pearl" and how some groups have little recourse in decisions effecting their well being. Personal frustration comes from not knowing how to help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Buyer Beware

    I bought this book to read on my NOOK, but was unable to. Apparently it doesn't have the ability to support the "enhanced" version. Still wanted to read the book, so I bought it in Paperback....VERY compelling story and it deserves 5 stars. Just sorry I had to pay twice for it! But that is a BN problem, not the author's problem. Buyer beware!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Beyond The Beautiful Forever

    Give it time and attention. Worth the read, especially the author's remarks at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Similar to A Fine Balance?

    These reviews have me so intrigued. Will definitely read this book Has anyone read A Fine Balance? Very shocking and disturbing. Similar?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    The enhanced version makes this a must-read. If you loved the mo

    The enhanced version makes this a must-read.
    If you loved the movie City of the Gods, when it came out, then you will also like this book.  Given the horrific conditions and poverty the people she was observing are required to live in, Katherine Boo could have easily resorted to a pitying appeal to the reader’s sense of charity.  She doesn’t.  She portrays this hard-knocks life in all its fierceness.  She gives the reader a true sense of the humanity and dignity of these people, when the reader could easily be distracted by the inhumane circumstances of their lives.  This is an artfully constructed book, and gives the reader the impression of viewing a cinematic documentary.  I cannot imagine a better piece of narrative non-fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3