Customer Reviews for

Behind the Bell

Average Rating 2.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Get an Editor

    I grew up watching Saved by the Bell, so i was curious about this supposed tell-all. What I found is that Dustin was a sad boy who grew into a sad, bitter man. Yes, it is hard to be the goofy, dorky character and probably harder to disengage one's self from that in real life. However, when Dustin wasn't bashing almost everyone that he worked with, he was bragging about his HUGE fan base and the girls that he used. Yuck. Oh, and the editing on this book was shameful. I think that I could have done better with my home printer. It is not worth the $25 asking price. I read it in a few hours, and was entertained in the way that people are when they get a sneak-peak into the life of someone famous. Wait for it in paperback or get it from the library.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    PROs : Decent behind the scenes stories about Saved By the Bell

    PROs : Decent behind the scenes stories about Saved By the Bell. Some
    interesting insight behind what it's like to be a pre-teen actor in
    Hollywood. I liked reading stories about the actors who were extras,
    which is a topic that's usually ignored in tell-alls. He breaks up the
    chapters nicely with sub-headings which helps keep the readers interest.
    CONs : Very poorly edited. Several grammatical errors. He sometimes
    will, put a comma, in very awkward, places. It kind of feels like
    you're reading a printout of somebody's emails. There is no mention of
    his infamous sex tape. He often comes across as being pompous without
    feeling as though he has anything to be pompous about. There is a
    section of the book about drug use that's rather boring and hard to get
    through without dozing. CONCLUSION : You have to have been a fan of
    that old TV show to find any appreciation for this book. It's not
    terrible, just annoying at times. I mostly bought the book because it
    was so cheap and I always had a crush on Elizabeth Berkley as a kid. As
    a side note, Netflix has the entire series on streaming at the moment,
    so I watched a few episodes that he talks about in the book. Man, that
    show is insufferably bad. It's not even remotely funny. Nauseating.
    As Dustin gets older, his lack of acting skill becomes more and more
    apparent. It's a half way decent book about an abomination of a TV show.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    I could have bought M&Ms with my $1

    Wow! Are we all living in the same reality as this guy?! Like many of you, I was parked in front of the TV every Saturday at 10 back in the day. Screech has always been annoying and it continues in this book

    Dustin seems to think SBTB should have been the Zach & Screech show. His jealousy over being more of a background character is apparent when he rips Zach's lead, Tiffani, to pieces. Yes Dustin, you and your perfect body have every right to call.Tiffani "fat ass", with you being People Sexiest Man and all.

    There were some juicy parts...I had no idea about Mario (so gross) and his acid washed pants sexually harrassing someone and NBC paying to cover it up. And it was cool to see how they put together the show every week.

    Basically, if you want to read about an outcast who makes himself out to be just like you and I, read it but take it with a (lot of) grain(s) of salt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Waste Your Money

    I grew up watching SBTB and bought this book out of curiousity. Diamond does nothing but whine throughout the book and recount his sexual escapades. He's extremely egotistical and arrogant. I don't believe anything he says and Diamond's "Woe is me" attitude is irritating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    I liked it :-) But take with a grain of salt...

    First off, I purchased & read this book after Dustin Diamond announced his now regrets with its release. For those who don't know, he now states, he hired a ghost writer to write the book who he claims took some of his reflections out of context and changed them up to make some of his "observations" of his cast members more scandalous. He acknowledges the poor editing quality as well, (which sad to say, there are quite a few grammatical errors and poor sentence structures littered throughout the book & the disconnects make the book somewhat painful to read at times) but puts the fault on those deemed responsible to edit the book. This I can understand being he is not an author nor does he claim to be. He states that he was not given a final review of the book before it was released & had no knowledge of any of this when supporting the book. Take that for what you will. Basically, he claims to be the victim of trusting those who he now knows shouldn't have been trusted to help him tell his story.

    With that being kept in mind, I did enjoy the book! I found myself laughing out loud to a few of the stories & sharing them with my boyfriend, both of us who grew up watching Saved by the Bell. Definitely for the adult reader only though. I must admit, some of the content used made me feel like blushing at times & I feel pretty confident about my ability to handle "dirty" jokes. But its no worse than anything you would find in today's adult comedy. "The Hangover" comes to mind when I think of the comedy styling he uses to tell his stories. I also found it interesting to read how they created each show from start to finish & how being a child actor, especially one who played the role of an unpopular person, affected how he was viewed in his personal life. So in conclusion, its worth reading by anyone who grew up watching Saved by the Bell, especially those who watched & ever thought to themselves, "They all can't be that perfect! There must be some things that happen behind the scenes they don't let us know about..." But buyer beware, if your looking for a serious autobiography of the trials and tribulations of child stardom, you're not going to find it here. I chose to read it with the mindset that I take when reading something out of "The Enquirer" or like tabloid mag, knowing I can only truly believe at most half of what is being written, but none the less enjoying the humorous quality that reading about perfect people not being so perfect brings :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Good for fans, rating based on price too!

    I enjoyed reading this book. Big fan as a kid of the show. Great for a buck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No good at all

    I am a fan of the show but the book was terrible. Insecure and defensie narrative. Not for youth either, parents beware.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    SAVE YOUR MONEY! This guy is a proven liar, and a sad excuse of

    SAVE YOUR MONEY! This guy is a proven liar, and a sad excuse of a person. Everyone knows what a loser Dustin is, so it should come as no surprise that this book is filled with nonsense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    It's Exactly What It Looks Like

    No, this book is not going to win any literary awards. However, it doesn't claim to. For someone who has no writing experience and no journalism degree, I thought the book was pretty well written! I have read hundreds of biographies, and this one has me laughing hysterically. I read it while on a school bus chaperoning a class trip and parts of it were so funny, I found myself searching for other people over the age of 30 to share parts of his stories. He discusses the quirks of each character and tells us about the difficulties of being 3 years younger than everyone else, trying to blend in while being one of the most famous teenagers of the time. The behind the scenes descriptions of the stars are no surprise, but very entertaining. If you loved SBTB and love trashy gossip, this book will deliver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Immature

    I love saved by the bell, so I was excited to read all about what happened behind the scenes. But as soon as i read the first chapter, I knew this book wouldnt give me what I wanted. "I banged her, I banged her, she sucked my balls" This whole book is basically putting all his co stars down, making him seem wonderful, and going on and on about all his sexual excipades. I wouldnt even bother getting this book from the library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Dont waste your money borrow it

    This book falls into the mindless generational reading catagory. Not even really interesting except for those of us who grew up durung this time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1