Customer Reviews for

Being

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Robert Smith was waiting for the nurse to call him into the doctor's office to prepare him for his scheduled endoscopy, not realizing it would be the last normal day in his life. Once called into the office, Robert was put under anesthetic and doctors went about putting a tube down his throat in order to find out what was causing his stomach discomfort. Unexpectedly, Robert woke up before he was supposed to and realized he was in a different room with many people he didn't recognize. He heard phrases like, "What is that?" and "Are those wires?" Robert felt every cut made into his body for the exploratory surgery these strange people in black suits were performing on him. <BR/><BR/>After Robert forced himself off the table, he managed to get a weapon out of the hand of one of the black suits. At gun point, Robert demanded the anesthetist knock out his attackers and then kidnapped him in order to use his car to get away. Next, he set about making himself invisible. He knew he couldn't go to his house where his foster parents lived or any place he'd normally visit. The first night he checked into a hotel for some rest to give himself some time to decide what to do the next day. He was overwhelmed with thoughts about what was inside him. He looked over the evidence he took from the doctor's office, which included a videotape of the endoscopy. On the tape he saw things that should have been impossible. <BR/><BR/>After a sleepless night, Robert put the first step of his plan in motion. To become a different person, change identities, disappear from the face of the Earth. He went to see a girl named Eddi who was in the business of fake IDs, birth certificates, and other needed credentials to get by in life. What he found when he got to her place was suspicion and uncertainty. Life quickly spiraled out of control for both of them shortly after their paths crossed. Escape to Trejeda on the Canary Islands seemed like the best plan. For a time, life fell into the routine of sleeping late, eating fantastic food, and work. Eddi and Robert knew they couldn't hide forever, but they were never prepared for how everything would end. <BR/><BR/>BEING is an interesting story of an orphan trying to learn his identity. It is filled with intrigue and suspense; however; there are a few loose ends that might leave the reader unsatisfied.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    *******GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!**********

    BEING by: Kevin Brooks is brilliant. This boo has everything Si-Fi, romance, mystery, betrayal, and happiness. This book will confuse you to no end even till the very last page you may not get the answers you want but you will definitely not be able to close the book. The idea of the book can grasp any one. This book is mainly about the search for who Kevin really is at one point in life everyone asks the same question. This book is just perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    A Must Read!!

    I thought this book was awesome! The idea of him not knowing what and where he came from was very original. It gave me a break from all those vampire books. I loved the idea of him being an underdog throughout his whole life and then finding out that he was something extraordinary. That instead of him being a popular person like in some stories he was someone that i believe everyone is somewhere inside of them. That he might not even be human. I also loved the unique romance between Robert and Eddi. I thought it was funny how they couldn't trust each other and how they always thought they needed to watch their own backs in case one of them betrayed each other. And then how even with all their doubts about each other they still fell in love with one another. How Robert was always looking over his shoulder when Edie would be near him. That he always felt uncomfortable but at the same time at peace when he'd be near her. However, the one thing i didn't like about the story was how it ended. I think it was good that it wasn't a cliche, that it wasn't a happy ending, but i still thought it was too sad for me. Overall i loved the book and am hoping for a sequel. I fell in love with bot Eddi and Robert's characters and am hoping to see some more of Robert!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Honestly I thought the book was very good untill the last few pages. The ending made the book feel completely pointless. The whole time you were wondering what was going to happen and your questions are never answered. When I finished the book I was ready to throw it across the room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    BEING

    The novel "Being" by Kevin Brooks was an excellent read! It kept me wonderng about what was going to happen on the next page. I am not a big reader but this book got me hooked! I never wanted to put it down! It is very thrilling and makes you wonder if what is written could really happen to someone in real life. Books that make you think are great books to get into. "Being" is one of those books! At some parts it just jumps out at you! The ending was my favorite! The author really did a great job with the ending. It was very exciting and mysterious! It makes you wonder what will happen next in the life of Robert Smith. Will all the madness end, or will it keep going for the rest of his life? I would definatly be interested in reading the next book by Kevin Brooks. I highly recommend "Being," by Kevin Brooks to anyone who likes a thrilling, mysterious book. You will have a hard time putting your bookmark in this book until you read it cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    AWESOME

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i can hardly ever read a book anless its rily good and i couldn't put this book down i read it last year and i still think about it constintly usually i cant stand a openended story but i loved it plus i cant ever read a book twice even my favorits like eragon i love that book to death but i cant read it a second time and i could sooooo read this book a second time. if you have ever read a great and terible beauty with the whole series and you thought it was missing a little romance well it doesnt it was was perfict in that area!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SOOOO DISSAPOINTING!

    I hated this book! Throughout the book it is pretyt good, because you are wainting and wanting for him to find out the truth, and the end just made everything pointless! Do NOT waste your time reading this! It really makes you think about some things you might never have thought of before, and that was really cool about it, but the ending will make you want to throw the book across the room. Unless there will be a sequel, i wouldnt read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    i can never read a book thats not that good and for me that is hard to find one but when i started reading this book i couldnt put it down. if you are someone who wants the story line to take as many tuns you do in a corn maze, than this is deffinatly the book for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Great Book!!!

    this is one of the best books i have ever read! it starts off a little bit slow but gets better and more action packed... reading this book had my heart racing and made me feel the emotions they felt! the ending is very unexpected. i could not beleive it.. i felt sorry for robert because he couldnt cry. i would have balled! i even balled just reading it! its a very action packed edge of your seat romance story! if u dont read this book your missing out. i would recommend this to anyone who likes mysterys, love stories, and action stories! its an amazing book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    I couldn't put it down :)

    This book started out a little slow, but soon got fast paced, and I couldn't stop reading :} Awesome book, it's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    Robert Smith was waiting for the nurse to call him into the doctor's office to prepare him for his scheduled endoscopy, not realizing it would be the last normal day in his life. Once called into the office, Robert was put under anesthetic and doctors went about putting a tube down his throat in order to find out what was causing his stomach discomfort. Unexpectedly, Robert woke up before he was supposed to and realized he was in a different room with many people he didn't recognize. He heard phrases like, 'What is that?' and 'Are those wires?' Robert felt every cut made into his body for the exploratory surgery these strange people in black suits were performing on him. After Robert forced himself off the table, he managed to get a weapon out of the hand of one of the black suits. At gun point, Robert demanded the anesthetist knock out his attackers and then kidnapped him in order to use his car to get away. Next, he set about making himself invisible. He knew he couldn't go to his house where his foster parents lived or any place he'd normally visit. The first night he checked into a hotel for some rest to give himself some time to decide what to do the next day. He was overwhelmed with thoughts about what was inside him. He looked over the evidence he took from the doctor's office, which included a videotape of the endoscopy. On the tape he saw things that should have been impossible. After a sleepless night, Robert put the first step of his plan in motion. To become a different person, change identities, disappear from the face of the Earth. He went to see a girl named Eddi who was in the business of fake IDs, birth certificates, and other needed credentials to get by in life. What he found when he got to her place was suspicion and uncertainty. Life quickly spiraled out of control for both of them shortly after their paths crossed. Escape to Trejeda on the Canary Islands seemed like the best plan. For a time, life fell into the routine of sleeping late, eating fantastic food, and work. Eddi and Robert knew they couldn't hide forever, but they were never prepared for how everything would end. BEING is an interesting story of an orphan trying to learn his identity. It is filled with intrigue and suspense however there are a few loose ends that might leave the reader unsatisfied. **Reviewed by: Karin Perry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Typical Kevin Brooks

    Being is a fast-paced blend of science fiction and realistic fiction with characters and a style that are unique to Kevin Brooks. Being is one of Brooks' best books (aside from Candy and Road of the Dead). It isn't a satisfying read, per se, but it's fascinating and intelligent. I would recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    GREAT..... but depressing

    I read being in one day, without stopping. It is a very good book with lots of twists, as is Brooks' style. As usual don't get attatched tp one of the characters. However, I hope he comes out w/a sequel because the end slightly confused me. All in all a Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Horrid Ending!

    This was an excellent book rught up until the ending. The main plot was exciting and intriguing, but the ending was extremely dissapointing. It left me feeling unsatisfied and confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Good book

    This book was really amazing, and it had a little bit of everything in it. The book was mysterious, romantic, exciting, and sad.The author kept the reader on his every word, and the reader just had to keep turning the next page. I really enjoyed this book, however it was a little too sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Amazing Book

    Being is one of my favorite books. It was nicely written and it made you want to read more! In my opinion the ending was needed or else the book would have been too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2