Customer Reviews for

Being Friends with Boys

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!!!!

I loved this book--seriously adored it. And what makes it so darn good? It's the characters. McVoy has the gentlest touch with the people she creates. It isn't very long before I'm completely sucked into every aspect of their lives. At about page 159, after growling out...
I loved this book--seriously adored it. And what makes it so darn good? It's the characters. McVoy has the gentlest touch with the people she creates. It isn't very long before I'm completely sucked into every aspect of their lives. At about page 159, after growling out loud, I felt compelled to fire off a tweet of utter frustration to McVoy--I'd fallen in love with three possibly even four of the boys in this story. And even worse, I had no ideas how this book could possibly end without my own heart being broken. But just like she always does, Terra pulled it off. And just so you know--it ends perfectly. The only negative thing about BEING FRIENDS WITH BOYS, is that I now have a burning desire to be the lead singer in a band--and that is sooooo never going to happen. Bummer.

posted by Kimmiepoppins on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I thought is sucked. Literally the whole time i was reading it i

I thought is sucked. Literally the whole time i was reading it i had no clue what was going on. It was so complicated and dumb i just couldn't continue reading. DO NOT READ.

posted by maggie_doggie_5 on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ!!!!

    I loved this book--seriously adored it. And what makes it so darn good? It's the characters. McVoy has the gentlest touch with the people she creates. It isn't very long before I'm completely sucked into every aspect of their lives. At about page 159, after growling out loud, I felt compelled to fire off a tweet of utter frustration to McVoy--I'd fallen in love with three possibly even four of the boys in this story. And even worse, I had no ideas how this book could possibly end without my own heart being broken. But just like she always does, Terra pulled it off. And just so you know--it ends perfectly. The only negative thing about BEING FRIENDS WITH BOYS, is that I now have a burning desire to be the lead singer in a band--and that is sooooo never going to happen. Bummer.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Being Friends with Boys may be the first book I’ve read by

    Being Friends with Boys may be the first book I’ve read by Terra Elan McVoy but I promise you it won’t be the last. Besides it’s smooth and fast-paced writing style (which I loved) this is the first time in a long time that I’ve truly adored every aspect of a book. For one, the characters were fabulous. Every single one was well-thought out and interesting because of their individual personalities and part they played in the overall story. The dialogue was easy to follow and very fun to read. Although at times there was a lot of humor, Ms. McVoy balanced the story out nicely with more thought-provoking ideas and situations. At it’s core, this book is about a teenage girl (Charlotte) whose life suddenly diverges from it’s comfortable and understood path. Like most girls at this time, Charlotte is struggling with accepting and understanding the changes that inevitably come with growing up. I felt a tidal wave of emotions while reading this book including happiness, anger, pride, and confusion (along with Charlotte). This is one book that because I enjoyed so much, I’d definitely consider reading again at some point down the road.

    Charlotte is 100% anti-drama. She’s had past incidents involving friends (who I don’t believe were truly ever real friends) who’ve caused her a lot of grief. In the past these “friends” have ignored and shunned her for stupid, non-reasons. Since most girls drive Charlotte crazy it makes since that her close knit group of friends would mainly consist of boys. Although she’s known Oliver since grade school, he along with two other boys – Abe and Trip along with Charlotte, make up a band called Sad Jackal. Charlotte is perfectly content with her life until one day, out of the blue, Oliver announces that Trip is out of the band. This announcement comes at a complete shock to Charlotte, simultaneously starting a domino affect. This is where life (as she knows it) begins to change.

    Charlotte has a hard time adjusting. For one, she can’t understand how or why her perfect group of friends and beloved band have been teared apart. Trip whose friendship has been a constant, shining light in her life, this last year and a half, now becomes harder to hold onto. Although she has two stepsisters at home, her sister-sister, Jilly, who Charlotte has always relied on for emotional support, is now away and busy at college. This all together could make a great story line, however that’s not all. Add in not one but two cute, new boys and a quick rise to high school rocker-fame and you’ve got 368 pages of time-stealing awesomeness.

    I am absolutely head over heels for Being Friends with Boys. I thoroughly enjoyed following Charlotte’s path to self-discovery. Through humorous, exhilarating, and sometimes, heartbreaking encounters, Charlotte not only learns more about herself but also who her “true” friends are, the ones that she can count on through thick and thin. It was easy to understand Charlotte’s character, feeling sad about a sibling living far away, not knowing how to repair a friendship that is slipping away, and most importantly, understanding what you truly want and then believing that it does matter that you want it. This book was perfect in every way. Except for sleep, which eventually I had to give into, I for the most part didn’t part with this book until it was finished. It’s been months since I’ve read a book without some type of supernatural element. I’d almost forgotten how good a book could be without vampires, witches, werewolves, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I've been finished with this book for three days and am still st

    I've been finished with this book for three days and am still struggling to get over the major book hangover it left me with. This book was absolutely amazing! Charlotte was one of those truly relatable characters that almost everyone has something in common with. Personally, I think Oliver and Trip were both scumbags and that Charlotte should of just gone for Benji, (the sweet and mysterious bad boy) simply because his like for her was genuine and unlike a lot of the other guys in Charlottes life he remained a constant friend to her and never shied away from his feelings.The ending was a bit cliff-hangerish in my opinion, but on the bright side I could definitely see this leading to a sequel in the near future ( or I hope so anyway). But overall it's an amazing book and I'd without a doubt I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quirky yet fun summer read!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    I thought is sucked. Literally the whole time i was reading it i

    I thought is sucked. Literally the whole time i was reading it i had no clue what was going on. It was so complicated and dumb i just couldn't continue reading.
    DO NOT READ.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    I loved it.

    This book is amazing. This book is kind of a mix between normal teen angst and a new twist on romance.

    So this girl Charlotte is an Amazing chick. This book is about her finding whats right for her and, ultimately, finding herself. The supporting characters were awesome. I think all the elements tied in very nicely.

    And this book actually made sense (Thank God). I have read so many books with a sucky plot line, it has gotten to be ridiculous.

    Thank you so much for writing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Okay

    I like the plot and the characters but its not descriptive as it should be. Its funny and relating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Being friends with boys

    They arent that bad, girls. I have a bunch of friends that are boys and they are so funny. Just give them a chance. Btw Im 11. If you need boy advice, search mates dates. Im on result #1. Im lennon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Love.

    A must read. Loved it from the first sentence to the last page. I fell in love with the characters and plot line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Gixxersixxer006@aol.com

    Im a girl looking for some fun. Im singlelooking for a dude to make me happy an make me feel like im alive.






    Anways the book is good i guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK

    It is totes rom-com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Hmm

    I liked it but i think it was lacking some and in some ways it was hard to understand what was going on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    It's never easy to be friends with boys when you're a high schoo

    It's never easy to be friends with boys when you're a high school girl
    who doesn't necessarily consider herself to be a social butterfly. For
    Char, however, even her social ineptitude's don't stop her from being
    friends with boys. She has had trouble with backstabbing ex-best friends
    and harsh stepsisters and finds that boys are easier to get along with.
    Will she ever get tired of offering love advice, writing song lyrics,
    and being the "go-to girl?" In a book full of major
    characters, it may have been easy for Charlotte to slip into the
    background. Instead, she grows with the story, maturing and altering
    slightly into an admirable character in the end. Charlotte isn't
    particularly mean or nice, sweet or sarcastic...she has her own
    freshness about her that is easy to appreciate. The other band members
    could have blended together, but the author sets them apart with
    different characteristics and actions that make them memorable. The
    characters, as a whole, were fun to get to know. Terra Elan McVoy's
    style of writing is clear and fluid. The reader will have a hard time
    setting this book down, always needing to discover what will happen in
    Charlotte's life next. The best aspect of this book is its complete
    likability, it is easy to relate to. The reader will probably be able to
    picture scenes from this book occurring in real life. Overall, this book
    should not be missed and is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Okay but not great

    After reading the summer of firsts and lasts, I wanted to try this one. I have to say I was disappointed. It dragged on and was sometimes hard to read. Maybe i should go back to Sarah Dessen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    At first, I thought this was mainly a teen romance book because

    At first, I thought this was mainly a teen romance book because of the synopsis. After reading a couple chapters, I realized that its more about her being in the band(s) and how she deals with her drama with rumors and friends. It's kind of draggy, but still a good read. Although it's mostly more on the friendship side, for those of you whose looking for romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2