Customer Reviews for

Belgarath the Sorcerer

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Belgarath is beyond doubt my favorite wizard/sorcerer type chara

    Belgarath is beyond doubt my favorite wizard/sorcerer type character. Witty, crotchety, honest, human, wise, everything a ancient powerful sorcerer should be. For those of you who are sticklers for details there are some contradictions between this book and the back story and history in the 2 series. Nothing major, just little things. Normally that kind of thing annoys me, but in this case could care less. Very good book. Though obviously you should read the Belgariad and the Mallorean first. Also great stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Finally A Background on Belgarath!

    I have read both the Belgariad series as well as the Mallorean series and was happy as could be to see this book when it came out. I have since had to buy another copy because my first one got worn out from being read and reread.

    It was wonderful to see how Garath became Belgarath and how he progressed along his path. The background filled in the a lot of gaps in the basic story as well as the relationships among the characters of Polgara, Belgarath, Poledra and Beldin. It is definately a book to make you smile and laugh out loud as well as cry and gives one a chance to think of the "what if's".

    There is no doubt in my mind that these books and only the books that relate to the Belgariad and the Mallorean were inspired works, because I have not been impressed by anything else Eddings had to offer since then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    Spectacular

    I have stated in another review that I hold Mr. & Mrs. Eddings in a higher regard than Tolkien. This is another great example as to why, they show their complete versatile writing with this book. It starts out written as the Mallorean was, but soon after Garion states that 'He can give perspectives on character' he does. The whole format of the book changes, following just what you think would be 'Old Wolf's' perspective on things. He's self indulgent, a heavy drinker, and has no qualms about telling you exactly what he thinks of people. A great read for those new to Eddings, and those seasoned by their terrific writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    Big Eddings Fan, Great Book

    I'm a fan of David and Leigh Eddings and I think this book is outstanding. It is amazing how the beginning fits so much better at the end. Major insight into the mind of a man who is not completely what he seems, and who has much beneath the surface. Very descriptive. I fell in love with new characters and old characters all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    My Intro To fantasy!

    OK, so my circle of friends were re-reading an old set of books and asked me if I wanted to join in. I have never been into fantasy, as far out as i got was Anne Rice, but I plowed through the Belgariad and the Mallorean all in one month. I made it to Polgara and Belgareth. There is nothing better. The characters in this series become family, and you want more. And Belgareth gives you a nice look into the quirky, quiet 7,000 yr old sorcerer to show you who he really is. This ragtag guy is not so ragtag after all, and you love him all the more. Old Wolf comes shining through in this book and any fan of the series will be happy with it's story. This was my intro to fantasy and i was a lucky one, i am hooked for life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    The Life and Times of a Typical 7,000 Year Old Sorcerer

    The magnificent storyteller Belgarath tells his most enchanting story ever. For centuries, the mysterious Old Wolf has kept his life story to himself--until now. This book will answer the many questions you probably have about the Eternal One. From the night young Garath stumbled upon the doorstep to Aldur's tower to the birth of Garion, it's all there. Well, most of it, anyway. He IS seven millenia old, so he's bound to forget SOME things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    A masterful Completion to the series

    David Edding has done it again. After reading The Belgariad and The Malloreon i thought it couldn't get any better. I was proven wrong with the writing of this descriptive and detail novel of the life of the Sorceror, Belgarath. This is a book I would recommend to the most fickled reader. It's definitly a 5-star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    DAVID EDDINGS ROCKS!

    All the D. Eddings books are great, but the best ones I've read are Belgarath The Sorcerer, and Polgara The Sorceress. no contest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    Wow!

    I really cannot think of a book that tops Belgrath the Sorcerrer! The Belgraid was absolutly breaktaking and heartwarming but this novel is possibly the best novel ever written! Read it! If you liked the Belgraid or even if you haven't read it pick up this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2