Customer Reviews for

Believe

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A superb romantic fantasy

English professor Tessa St. James is sick of Camelot and the so-called myths that she assumes is hooey bunk. When some claiming that he is Merlin Wizard Extraordinaire and Counselor to Kings meets her, she scorns him as another fake, Taken aback by the professor's dis...
English professor Tessa St. James is sick of Camelot and the so-called myths that she assumes is hooey bunk. When some claiming that he is Merlin Wizard Extraordinaire and Counselor to Kings meets her, she scorns him as another fake, Taken aback by the professor's disdain and not one to accept disrespect from royals, Merlin decides to teach the show me skeptic a lesson in respect and humility.-----------

He takes Tessa back to the English Dark Ages of Camelot. She is stunned, but though she begins to believe what she sees, Tessa has doubts. He orders Sir Galahad to take her along on his quest to bring back the Holy Grail. However, "Sir Hunk" respectfully says no as a woman does not belong on such a dangerous mission. However King Arthur and Merlin tell him Tessa will accompany him. As they follow a poorly designed map and struggle to interpret a riddle, she proves his equal in battle with dragons, witches and other foes, oh! My!--------------

This is an amusing refreshing romantic twist to the legend of Sir Hunk and the Holy Grail that Monty Python would enjoy. The storyline is filled with humor especially tongue in cheek from Merlin and the differences in how a chivalrous knight treats a lady who acts anything like any female he ever met; sex and dragons go together. Fans of Camelot will appreciate this spin as Galahad learns new uses for round tables and the truth about the Holy Grail in this superb romantic fantasy.----------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not the usual author's style

I am disappointed in this book because I really enjoyed several of Alexander's Effington family novels. This one has a heroine who uses curse words with abandon and a smart alec attitude. A lot of the dialogue is trite and hateful. I may not actually finish it--I've tri...
I am disappointed in this book because I really enjoyed several of Alexander's Effington family novels. This one has a heroine who uses curse words with abandon and a smart alec attitude. A lot of the dialogue is trite and hateful. I may not actually finish it--I've tried the first 9 chapters without much appeal. Her other books have humor and romance, plus likeable heroines, unlike this one.

posted by 2901935 on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A superb romantic fantasy

    English professor Tessa St. James is sick of Camelot and the so-called myths that she assumes is hooey bunk. When some claiming that he is Merlin Wizard Extraordinaire and Counselor to Kings meets her, she scorns him as another fake, Taken aback by the professor's disdain and not one to accept disrespect from royals, Merlin decides to teach the show me skeptic a lesson in respect and humility.-----------

    He takes Tessa back to the English Dark Ages of Camelot. She is stunned, but though she begins to believe what she sees, Tessa has doubts. He orders Sir Galahad to take her along on his quest to bring back the Holy Grail. However, "Sir Hunk" respectfully says no as a woman does not belong on such a dangerous mission. However King Arthur and Merlin tell him Tessa will accompany him. As they follow a poorly designed map and struggle to interpret a riddle, she proves his equal in battle with dragons, witches and other foes, oh! My!--------------

    This is an amusing refreshing romantic twist to the legend of Sir Hunk and the Holy Grail that Monty Python would enjoy. The storyline is filled with humor especially tongue in cheek from Merlin and the differences in how a chivalrous knight treats a lady who acts anything like any female he ever met; sex and dragons go together. Fans of Camelot will appreciate this spin as Galahad learns new uses for round tables and the truth about the Holy Grail in this superb romantic fantasy.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Pure Magic! A Sweet Twist on the Arthurian Legend

    I love a good knight in shining armor (What girl doesn't??) and have always liked the myths-- King Arthur, the Greek legends, you name it, I'm probably into it. From the moment I read the synopsis of this book, I knew I had to read it. I am so glad I did. Now, I know I have said this before, but this is a great love story. And the hero is just STUNNING. I mean, come on, we're talking about Sir Galahad! =) This is a very sweet romance filled with love and laughter and even a few tears . . . A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    MAKES YOU BELIEVE.....

    This was one funny and romantic time travel book.The scenes between Tessa and Galahad were hilarious and the plot was so good it felt like watching a movie.The idea of an American woman thrown into the Middle Ages was amazing and creative.The story was beautiful and well written dialogue,a true adventure along with the chivalry ,honor, faith and pure love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    One very funny book

    I loved this book. When I first got the book I thought this is just another book about King Author and the round table, I didn't expect much. Boy was I wrong. It was very good, funny exchanges between Galahad and Tessa. And what was most important it was really about Galahad and Tessa and just the setting of King Authors Court. The way Victoria tells how Galahad and Tessa find the Holy Grail and what the Grail is, was terrific. I also loved Merlin. All in all a very funny and good book to read if you like light reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Loved it

    I love Arthurian legend, but this book is an interesting twist on that theme, mixing modern day characters with those of the legend via the magic of Merlin. Really enjoyed this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    not the usual author's style

    I am disappointed in this book because I really enjoyed several of Alexander's Effington family novels. This one has a heroine who uses curse words with abandon and a smart alec attitude. A lot of the dialogue is trite and hateful. I may not actually finish it--I've tried the first 9 chapters without much appeal. Her other books have humor and romance, plus likeable heroines, unlike this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    good book

    I enjoyed it, very entertaining, easily drawn into the characters & what is going on. Definitely a good escape book! This is the first book by this author that I have read & would be interested in reading more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Good Holiday Read

    I pick a romance novel to read every December that has a Christmas theme. This one was a very satisfying fairy tale that was just a feel good story appropriate for the season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    Nice romance

    All though it wasn't a book that I couldn't put down from time to time, it was still a very nice and warm romance. It was written beautifully, the heroin was wonderfully delightful, full of humor, warmth and courage. The hero is the perfect man, you find yourself falling in love yourself, even with his stubborn streak! Ms. Alexander constructed each character with individuality and depth. Merlin also was a lovable character. I recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    GoldenStar

    Pads in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1