Customer Reviews for

Bella Tuscany: The Sweet Life in Italy

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Carpe Diem!

Never before have I enjoyed a book such as this! Frances Mayes transports me to a place filled with sights, sounds, people and smells that fills all of my senses. I actually felt as if I were in the Tuscan countryside with her. This is a wonderful book to read when on...
Never before have I enjoyed a book such as this! Frances Mayes transports me to a place filled with sights, sounds, people and smells that fills all of my senses. I actually felt as if I were in the Tuscan countryside with her. This is a wonderful book to read when one simply needs to 'get away' mentally and doesn't yet have the 'means' to get to Italy physically. As a result... Italy is now in my blood and I must get there someday to experience it for myself!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 10, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a personal journal

This is more of a travel book than a story. Because there was no passion I was bored with it. It was more of a personal journal of life in Italy. Ok but nothing to write home about.

posted by 3272087 on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Bella Tuscany

    Hi,


    Just finished "Bella Tuscany" and I loved it. This is the second of Frances Mayes books that I have read. The first being " Under The Tuscan Sun" which I also thoroughly enjoyed. I was confused though after seeing the movie first. I was surprised that she had a daughter, and in the movie meeting Ed after purchasing her home in Tuscany. Other than that, I plan on reading her other books. You feel like you are that seeing all the great places they go. Gread Job!


    crazy2read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absorb a little Tuscan life style without making the trip

    Frances Mayes' books on her experiences in Tuscany are a delight. They transport you to a different place and way of being unlike the daily life most of us have. Indeed, the stark contrast between the author's own daily life at home and her time in Tuscany reinforces this realizaton, for both the author and the reader. <BR/><BR/>The language and images conjure up lovely picutures of the land, the food, the people and the culture. In a time when the economy is in a mess, this book, for me, is like comfort food for the soul. It transports the reader in a way that makes the news of the day recede into the background for a time, which is a great relief and a great gift. <BR/><BR/>This particular book takes up where Under the Tuscan Sun left off. We spend some more time with some of the characters from the first book and begin to feel like they are friends as well<BR/><BR/>The book also discusses trips to other parts of Italy and focuses somewhat more on the art and historical aspects. So, if you are only intersted in the "fixing up the house" aspect, or if you are only a foodie, this may disappoint you somewhat. For, me these elements are part of the charm of the book since they are so intertwined with, and inseperable from, Tuscany itself. <BR/>Enjoy<BR/><BR/><BR/>If you like this, In Tuscany also by Frances Mayes has more of same, but with actual pictures to supplement the descriptions

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Viva Italy!

    Frances Mayes captures Tuscany in a delightful and eloquent manner. This novel brought me back to Tuscany, which I had the pleasure of visiting last summer. Along with my many pictures, this book keeps my love for the Italian countryside constant and joyous!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    Carpe Diem!

    Never before have I enjoyed a book such as this! Frances Mayes transports me to a place filled with sights, sounds, people and smells that fills all of my senses. I actually felt as if I were in the Tuscan countryside with her. This is a wonderful book to read when one simply needs to 'get away' mentally and doesn't yet have the 'means' to get to Italy physically. As a result... Italy is now in my blood and I must get there someday to experience it for myself!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Interesting

    I don't think it was as good as Under the Tuscan Sun, but it was still good all the same. This book is more focused on travel and leisure than working on the house. That's what I enjoyed the first book for. I was not dissapointed in it. I still enjoyed it all the same and would recommend it to anyone interested in life in Italy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Second Novel in Frances Mayes Life in Italy

    If you loved Frances Mayes first novel Under the Tuscan Sun you will love this book, but if you aren't a big fan of travel writing you won't like this book. It is more of the same type of writing style of the first book. There are no photographs in this this novel either, but she makes up for it by using alot of description of her life in Italy and redoing Bramsole so she and her family can live in it as well as the places and people who she encounters while living there as well the people she has in her life who live in San Fransico.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a personal journal

    This is more of a travel book than a story. Because there was no passion I was bored with it. It was more of a personal journal of life in Italy. Ok but nothing to write home about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2001

    Sensualissimo!!

    In my teen years, I had the opportunity to spend two summers with my aunts in Molise, Italy. I have never longed to return to those summers until I read this book. Frances Mayes' description of the locals remind me so much of my relatives because she uniquely captures the Italian personality. I cannot wait to return to Italy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    Seeing Toscana through Frances Mayes' eyes

    Having read both of her wonderful books, I was facinated by her description of the area, food, people and the trips with Ed. Being of Italian extraction, only heightens my desire to visit Italy. Her experiences, were described to me as if I had been there. I laughed and I teared when Anselmo died. I too look forward to her third book about Toscana. Brava Maestra!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    WONDERFUL!!!

    This book, as well as 'Under the Tuscan Sun' are two of the best books I have EVER read. I bought the book because I am of Italian descent. I was hooked. I was with the author, experiencing Italy with all my senses. I could practically taste the recipes. The Italian phrases add to the 'realness' of the book. The only disappointment?...coming to the end of the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    I loved this book

    I loved this book because of the beautiful descriptions of one of the most beautiful countries in the world. The restoration of the house was most interesting too, as were the recipes. I've been to Italy five times and felt like I was right back there when I read this book and her other book, Under the Tuscan Sun. Definitely a must read for anyone who likes Italian culture and food and who plans on restoring an old house!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    What if.....................................................

    I do believe that the book was good but it had it's draw backs. For those who are familiar with A Year in Provence you will know what I mean. The deja vu between the two books aside I was still wanting in one area. Both main characters in the book/s are professors and I for one would have enjoyed knowing more about what they liked to read. There is a hint of it present but more would have boosted my liking ( half as much about books as to wines and that would have sufficed). At this point I think a third book would be abusive. P.s. I went through Hades to get this book in Israel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    A Worthy Sequel to Under the Tuscan Sun

    Frances Mayes weaves a tale that makes readers wish they were on a plane to Italy. My hope is that this is the second book in a series. I keep wanting to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2