Customer Reviews for

Belladonna (Ephemera Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Slight technical issue in a great book

    Great book, i'm reviewing less to say how good a book it is than to help those who may not have figured out why this book restarts at chaper 18, this boggled me for a short while and forced me to check my e-book against a physical copy...nothing is missing. I finally figured out that if you pull up the menu at chapter 17 you will be told there are over 150 pages left in the chapter. Somehow the chapters were not separeted from that point on and so within the nook the entire second half of the book is in "chapter 17" though the chapter labels are still there. So the nook also does not know the book is over at that point so because it thinks that was all chapter 17 it then gives you chapter 18 and on...i hope this lessens confusion rather than making it worse!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This the second book in The Epherma trilogy. Not sure if I spelt

    This the second book in The Epherma trilogy. Not sure if I spelt that right. The first book is Sebastian.




         I was surprised with Sebastian and really enjoyed the book. But Belladonna, felt a tad bit too long, and I wanted to hear the tale of The Warrior of Light. It is after all, an important piece of the puzzle. But over all, the story moved well, and I liked seeing the enemies point of view, from time to time. The way it worked and thinks. I would have enjoyed a bit more romantic interaction between Belladonna and her beau. 
         Still, this installment was a good read for the most part. Just felt that a few twinks could have made it more of an enjoyable read. It didn't quite have the balance I usually find in Bishop's tales. But worth reading, none the less. Another beautiful emergence into a fantasy landscape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Another great fantasy!

    This book continues where the book Sebastian ends. As I wrote in my review of Sebastian, the storyline is about good and evil but looks at those people who are not completely one or the other. Ms. Bishop as created a fascinating world of magic and ordinary people living together but not always getting along.This is another book that I had a hard time putting down. I kept wanting to know how it ended and hoping the characters I was "rooting for" succeeded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    Another really good book by Anne Bishop. Keeps you entertained through out entire story. Although still a little confused as to why once the story is finished it restarts at chapter 18 instead of it being the end of the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Imaginative Fantasy World

    I do love Anne Bishop's Black Jewels series--I could find fault with them, sure, but they featured characters and a world I love to return to and I've read those books more than once with pleasure. The Ephemera books just don't rise to that level--I can't see rereading them. The world-building is wonderful, and in that regard matches or surpasses in imagination the Black Jewels novels. I think part of the problem is that Sebastian is too reminiscent of Black Jewels' Daemon and Belladona of that series' Jaenelle, but not as engaging. That said, I enjoyed both books, and I think this is the stronger of the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    Return to the Dark

    Belladonna was a great little surprise for me... I was a concerned that if I picked up the Ephemera duology it would be closer to Tir Alainn, but Bishop has returned to the darker themes more characteristic of the Black Jewels in Belladonna. In this second book, the Eater of the World is still rampaging loose, and wrecking havoc where ever it goes. Glorianna Belladonna, cousin to Sebastian (the first book's protagonist), is the only person with enough power to stop the Eater - but at what cost to herself and those she loves? I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Still no where near as amazing as the Black Jewels (but, in all honesty, what is?), but I was still very entertained and pleased. I wish there was a bit more development regarding the relationship between Glorianna and Michael, but alas, I can't have it all. Definitely pick this title up if you're a fan of Anne Bishop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This one was okay.

    I was not as impressed with this book as I was with the first one. The story was being told more slowly and too much of what happened in the first book was being told to us all over again. I didn't feel the connection with the new characters that I felt with the already established characters. And some of the established characters I feel I didn't see as much of them in this book as I would have liked. It was still a good book with a sad climax and a happy ending that left me wanting to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good read but not as good as her others

    This book isn't too bad of a read. However, it isn't as good as her other books. It just seemed to drag on with pointless things happening and so it made it boring. The Black Jewel books were some of her best. This series doesn't seem to draw you completely into the book and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An extremely complex fantasy

    Glorianna Belladonna is happy for her Incubus cousin Sebastian who has found eternal love with his Lynnea. She feared for him when he challenged the Dark Guides, allies of the Eater of the World, but prayed that Lynnea¿s love would keep him safe, which it did (see SEBASTIAN). However, while he basks in the glow of love, she feels a deep boned loneliness that is almost as horrific as her doubts and fear of failure. Still she must overcome her concerns and qualms because she knows in spite of almost everyone considering her a troublesome rogue she must still face The Eater of the World before the darkness spreads fear across all of Ephemera.------------------- However, Glorianna will soon learn that she is not alone. Somehow in her dreams, her needs have traversed Ephemera reaching the heart and soul of Michael the Musician. He knows he must find the sorceress who has haunted his fantasies as she needs his help while he needs her heart. At the same time his all alone sister Caitlin Marie has become the target of those who support the Eater of the World.---------------- This is an extremely complex fantasy. Newcomers need to first read SEBASTIAN to understand all that is going on in this stupendous serpentine story line. Michael is an interesting hero as he finds himself increasingly caught in a Hobson¿s choice between caging the Eater of the World but by doing so killing his beloved. Anne Bishop writes an incredible epic romantic fantasy in which her heroes are humanoid even with magical skills and other inhuman traits as they fight against overwhelming odds in which any offense they take could mean death for their beloved.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5