BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Belle Weather: Mostly Sunny with a Chance of Scattered Hissy Fits and Conniptions

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Great Read.

    I have read all of her books and this one didn't let me down either. She is one funny lady and I can find myself thinking or doing some of the same things she does. She is truly a gifted writer and I look forward to reading more books from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Swetstar

    Im here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Funny as h@##!!!!

    I got this as a Mother's day gift. Since I have all of her other books the kids figured I'd appreciate another. I did! I have laughed my big ol' butt off since I started reading. This is the kind of book you pass along to your girlfriends cause you can't tell the stories as funny as Celia can. She is southern thru and thru (as am I) and her take on motherhood, husbands, remodeling her house and everything else she tackles shows it. I wouldn't call her an inspirational writer, but if your asprirations include laughter, Celia is your girl!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    SMILES ALL AROUND. NOW, HEAR THIS !

    She's over the top, outrageous and totally hilarious - prepare your funny bone for another workout with the latest chuckle producing missive from the irrepressible Celia Riverbank (We're Just Like You, Only Prettier and Bless Your Heart, Tramp).<BR/><BR/> She opines on a variety of topics, both at home and worldwide. At home we find her recounting the joys of remodeling Tara, and anyone who has done a little renovation knows that it, indeed, can be a money pit. This listener found herself simultaneously laughing and nodding my head in agreement.<BR/><BR/> I've no first hand knowledge of French women involved in competitive eating but Celia knows why they are totally incompetent in that area, and only she could refer to bad weather as "nature deficit disorder."<BR/><BR/> Riverbank serves as her own narrator, which is both a plus and a minus. A professional voice performer might have brought more zest to the text. But, hey, this is Riverbank's book, and she's hard to top.<BR/><BR/> - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Some Southern Sass!

    Celia Rivenbark does it again, y¿all, with her latest offering , Belle Weather: Mostly Sunny with a Chance of Scattered Hissy Fits. The author, a true G.R.I.T.S. 'girl raised in the South' knows how to tell it like it is with her own particular wit and style. Celia offers up her views and experiences of remodeling the family mansion, being a Mom to the ¿Princess¿, her views on men and then the last section highly amuses the reader with observations of random things. In the first section on remodeling she tells us Granite is not just for tombstones anymore. This was an absolutely hysterical rendering of selecting and buying granite ' and definitely not from the back of the pickup truck' for that kitchen makeover you have been dreaming about. Her experiences with the non-English speaking sub-contractors left me almost in tears from laughing so hard. I just don¿t know why they didn¿t want to hear about her uncle in their native language! In the Just Kid-ding section, you will be regaled again with stories of motherhood but with a truly unusual slant. From dealing with science projects to reading Nancy Drew, or not, and living with birthday party expectations, this section will leave you howling. How to avoid Mortuary Summer Camp is one of the particularly hilarious chapters. Also, in this section, Celia writes a letter to Brittany Spears that will have you rocking in your seat with out loud laughs. The way she describes these situations is like none other I have read, so what is the difference, you might ask. Well, honey, it¿s that Southern sass and pert prose that will amuse you to no end. So, get yourself a glass of iced tea, throw some strudel in the toaster, and be prepared for lots of fun, Southern style. How she comes up with these scenarios, I don¿t know but am glad she did because I truly enjoyed reading this book. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    30 humorous observations

    These are 30 humorous observations about life that can be read over a period of time as each is an exclusive entry. However, the commentaries are actually divided into four sections: On the House, Just Kid-ding, It¿s Raining Men (Must be Why My Joints Ache, and (I¿m So Totally) Randomly Thoughts. The entries are all fun, but especially the first two segments. Readers will empathize with the insanity that goes on with purchasing a house and the social expectations of having kids at school. The very first essay sets the bar of excellence for this hilarious tome as Celia and her husband buy a house that they crazily say ¿I Love You, You¿re Perfect, Now Change!¿ as they renovate what they bought. It remains zany from that onset as Celia understands the significant other in her life is the renovator. Readers will be in stitches as each contribution will hit home even if you do not own a house or have a kid own you. Although the six commentaries that make up the last section are aptly titled Random Thoughts, they are unfocused especially following the previous classified trio, yet they too are jocular and will leave fans laughing, wanting more insight into hissy living, and appreciate Celia Rivenbark, ¿a Beauty Queen At Last¿. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1