Customer Reviews for

A Belle in Brooklyn: The Go-to Girl for Advice on Living Your Best Single Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Exciting and a quick ready...

    I laid on the beach for 4 days and breezed through this book. As a woman in NYC who has been to similar places and have had similar experiences... I can appreciate the advice Belle has given for how to live my best life! I look forward to more exciting reads from Demetria!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    A Belle in Brooklyn

    Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Book of the year

    This is definitely a book that you cannot put down. If you are not familiar with Demetria's blog, her writing style is very anecdotal. So if you are looking for a step by step how-to guide this is not the book. Her stories paint images that most young twenty-something + women can relate to, and will leave you nodding your head in agreement. Can't wait for her follow up work to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Recommend for Young Adults

    It was a little jumpy in nature, but the advice the author gives is very valuable. She gives her advice by telling stories of her past relationships that were really easy to relate to. A lot of the things she advised I already knew, as I am 21, but it was still very entertaining! I did give the book to my 14 yr old sister, who just started high school, because I thought there was a lot of valuable statistics and facts that I know will be valuable to her when she starts dating. All in all, I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    I love this book!!! I've told every woman around me to read it and I will be giving it out for christmas this year..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended-Fun with a point!

    I was happy and grateful that these were real stories that pose a lesson to be learned versus a bunch of finger wagging points. I went through the full gamut of emotions while reading this book because they seemed like they could be my stories as much as they are hers. Life lessons as illustrated through someone's growth, laughter, tears, frustrations and victories, weaved in an endearing, honest and cleaver way leave you feeling as if you know her. Her introspective nature begs you to do the same. So I asked myself what did I learn? How do I use this insight in my own life?

    Thanks Belle for sharing a piece of your life with others so that we may live better lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun to Read

    This book definitely serves its purpose of being entertaining and an easy read. The author's writing style is very easy to read. While I will say if you are a woman 25 and over, this will not contain any advice that you shouldn't already know. However, I'm sure there are still some women that can benefit from this book. This book is more of a recollection of the author's life experiences, than a self help book (the section of barnes and noble in which I found it).

    Overall I was very entertained it made me re-live my college days and few years immediately following. I'd recommend it for a rainy day, your subway commute or a good beach/vacation read.

    I will buy her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Book of the year!!!

    I loved this book!!! The stories were real and jumped off the page. This was a black woman's struggle to the top and finding love. We've all been there and the author is no different. I laughed, cried, and cheered my way thru this book. U gotta read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Could Not Put it Down

    It is a great book for young and single professionals with big city dreams. This book is filled with laughter, great stories and lessons learned, and tons of advice. You will NOT regret your purchase. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Great read

    I love love loved this book. I found the stories to be humorous but packed with great girlfriend type advice. If you are trying to navigate the single life then this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I read a column on blackandmarriedwithkids, and ran across a reference to this book. I am definitely glad that I decided to check it out. The free sample on BN intrigued me for sure. 1. I'm from DC 2. I absolutely love Paris 3. I Definitely dig memoirs. I have already recommended this book to my inner and outer circle of friends. The stories are hilarious, and thought-provoking. I'll look forward to other books by this author. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Awesome and Life Changing

    Any woman of any race who is going through the ups and downs of dating and looking for "the one" should read, learn from, and apply the messages in this book. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Throughly Enjoyed

    I read her blog daily, so I was anticipating the book. Although I am happily married, I enjoyed reading about her life experiences and totally agreed with the advice. I found myself laughing out loud in public and hated to put my nook down. The book is an excellent read. Well done Belle! I was rooting for TLA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    This is a MUST READ

    I was soo excited about this book I'm a fan of the blog, this book will make you laugh, cry, scream with anger,and feel hurt at various points. Demetria's writing is crisp, vivid, descriptive, as your reading you can't help but get a clear picture of her words. This book is great read for anyone, not just single women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2