Customer Reviews for

Belles

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of th...
If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of the few well written and heart-warming stories I've recently read. Positivly a must!

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very

I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author als...
I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author also didn't know who her audience was. It was about kids ages 15-16 but the topics discussed were appropriate for a 6th grader. I didn't even understand the "plot twist" at the end for awhile. The book ends very abruptly. Even though it is a cliffhanger, there is little sense of closure. It reminds me of a Pretty Little Liars/Watered-down Mean Girls in the South.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    #1book

    Such a great book.i garentee you will fall in love with izzi scott right away.it is a thrilling book full of so many mixed emotions ronance funny and more i think everyone will enjoy belles especily jen calonita fans.if you are in love with the first book you shoul read the second book winter white whicch if full of a lot if mixed emotiobs and twists and turns. Ii cant wait to read the grass is always greener the third book. Im sure it will be just as great.enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Kept me interested

    I liked this book. It kept me interested. It was a little cheesy at times but overall it was a good read. I'll definately read the next book in this seris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Kate

    Party at christian 0.00!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Kay

    Wacthing tv

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great!!

    This bookwas very well written. I was sucked in right away eith this clever storyline!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Brilliant!

    Such a touching story! Belles is not your typical unpopular-girl-opressed-by-popular-girls-and-falls-for-the-hottest-guy story. I would highly recommend it to any age group. Could not put it down till the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Belles

    This book is very good. Once you start reading you wont't want to put it down. When I started reading it wasn't sure if i would like it, but when you get deeper in you will love it. Thwy have two girls (Mira and Izzie) telling the story. They grew up in very diffrent places and don't quite understand eachothers back grounds. But the there is a mean girl factor (Savanah) and changes the whole thing! Plus they are both finding stuff out about themselves. Then at the very end the earth-shattering secret is revealed!! Will the girla figure out whatto do? Will they ever get aling? Will Savanah ever cclearrnt toz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Yes

    Cars are cool

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Belles is a wonderful book. The characters were relateable and i

    Belles is a wonderful book. The characters were relateable and interesting. Their problems were real and the author has a way of making the reader feel what the characters feel. I liked the way that Izzie and Mira grew as the book progressed and the way they dealt with their problems. 
    Izzie was a strong character that knew what she wanted. I loved that she stood up for what she believed in and stood up for herself and her hometown of Harbor Side. Emerald Cove was a very different place for her to live in, but Izzie loved her hometown and missed her beloved grandmother very much. As she tried to fit in, she tried to help her hometown.
    Mira was slightly sefish at first. She only seemed to care about her popular friends and her boyfriend tat she didnt truly love, dresses and shopping, and going to fancy parties. As the story went on, Mira learned many things from Izzie, including the fact that some things are more im
    rtant than shopping and being popular. As Mira started to stand up for herself and what she really wanted I began to like her mre. 
    Brayden and Kellen are both great guys who helped the girls realize what they wanted, an Hayden was a really good brother that helped Izzie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Yessss

    Omg this book is amazinngggg! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really liked this book as first I have read from this Jen. A native of the south, can relate as so realistic of nasty Belles and social climbers. Great characters (loved Isabelle), funny, and true to life settings--- with a great story! Look forward to reading Winter White to continue the saga of these two girls, and how they will be one step ahead of the backstabbers like Savannah!

    Fifteen-year-old Isabelle Scott loves her life by the boardwalk on the supposed wrong side of the tracks in North Carolina. But when tragedy strikes, a social worker sends her to live with a long-lost uncle and his preppy privileged family. Isabelle is taken away from everything she's ever known, and, unfortunately, inserting her into the glamorous lifestyle of Emerald Cove doesn't go so well. Her cousin Mirabelle Monroe isn't thrilled to share her life with an outsider, and, in addition to dealing with all the rumors and backstabbing that lurk beneath their classmates' Southern charm, a secret is unfolding that will change both girls' lives forever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jen Calonita brings Cinderella to modern times. Izzie lived a ro

    Jen Calonita brings Cinderella to modern times. Izzie lived a rough life, taking care of her grandmother and trying to make ends meet. She had good friends and neighbors, people who respected her and were concerned over her wellbeing. Then a social worker intervenes and sends her to live with a distant relative, and Izzie enters the world of the rich and glamorous. Here, the fairy-tale world takes a twists, and Izzie becomes new girl in a rich private school, threatened by the queen bee whose boyfriend she takes an interest in.

    The story is told through the alternating perspectives of Izzie and her cousin Mira, two very different individuals. Izzie is down-to-earth and easy to connect with. Having taken care of her grandmother and herself for some time, Izzie is independent and doesn't easily fall prey to moments of weakness. She cares about people and doesn't let her sudden rich lifestyle get to her head. Mira, on the other hand, is the queen bee's minion. Having lived a privileged life, Mira comes off as a bit conceited and bratty at first. She is afraid to stand up for herself and makes decisions based off what she thinks others will do instead of trying to think for herself. Without her telling part of the story, it would have been hard for me to find something in her to relate to.

    Drama, politics, and rumors fly in Belles, with the added charm of a little romance sprinkled in. I grew to love many of the cast. This is a fun contemporary read, a good one to pick up if you're not looking for an especially dark or heavy atmosphere. I definitely recommend picking it up when you get the chance!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I LOVE this book! Izzie is a fighter and never backs down, I LOV

    I LOVE this book! Izzie is a fighter and never backs down, I LOVE it! Is the author coming out with a second Belles?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great book

    This book is totally a great read!!!
    Finished in 2 days
    Highly reccomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great

    I love this book it is deffinaly my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Good

    Even though i go for more romantic books this one was still great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great book!

    This book is one of the best books i ever read. I cant wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Horrible

    Ok, so i thought secrets of my hollywood life and sleepway girls were great, bu belles is horrible! Dont waste your time on this terrible book. This book is just not up to jen's standards.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book was unbelievably amazing. I really connected with Izzie and felt every emotion she did. Growing up having nothing and then having your life changed forever by new people is an experience that I can't even describe. I would recommend this book to anyone! It's very appropiate for any audiance. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Belles just flows; it is heart warming and promising - Jen Calon

    Belles just flows; it is heart warming and promising - Jen Calonita just kept on giving me more and more, charming me with wonderful memorable characters and amazing scenes!

    Isabelle Scott, aka Izzie, is trying to keep her little family together ever since her mother passed away when she was ten. She goes to school, teaches swim classes, takes care of her sick grandmother and all the household chores. She does everything and anything in order to keep her social worker happy so she doesn't have to be placed into foster care... but when Izzie's grandmother's Alzheimer's gets worse, the social worker has no choice but to do what is right and place grandma in a home and reveals that Izzie is going to go live with her long lost Uncle at a nearby town, Emerald Cove.
    In one night, Izzie's life is turned upside down. She is taken away from her homely town on the boardwalk and thrust into a gated community, private school, thousand dollar dresses and 'mean girls'.
    But Izzie is so well grounded, she knows how to handle herself and does it so well.

    Izzie's cousin, Mirabelle, was a bit hard to like in the beginning. As a true southern belle, Mira put on her smile and did her best to just go through the niceties in welcoming Izzie. And of course, we all saw through that. But as the story went along, we see changes in Mira, and hope for the best.

    More drama and secrets unfold - you couldn't ask for more!

    I really enjoyed how Calonita would smoothly alternate between Izzie and Mira's thoughts. I got to see and hear both sides of their stories. I also love and appreciate how Calonita ended the book. Pure perfection and I cannot wait to read Belles sequel, Winter White, being released on October 9th, 2012.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4