Customer Reviews for

Belles

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of th...
If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of the few well written and heart-warming stories I've recently read. Positivly a must!

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very

I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author als...
I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author also didn't know who her audience was. It was about kids ages 15-16 but the topics discussed were appropriate for a 6th grader. I didn't even understand the "plot twist" at the end for awhile. The book ends very abruptly. Even though it is a cliffhanger, there is little sense of closure. It reminds me of a Pretty Little Liars/Watered-down Mean Girls in the South.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of the few well written and heart-warming stories I've recently read. Positivly a must!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Teenbooks101

    This book is amazing! I love Jen Calonita and the secrets of my hollywood life series. I love how you can relate to Izzie and how good a friend Brayden is to her. Mira and Izzie have nothing in common which makes the book really good. I cant wait for book 2 to come out! Jens writing is really good and relatable. If you like girly drama you will LOVE this book! If you haven't already, make sure you read sleepaway girls, reality check, and secrets of my hollywood life series!

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!! A must read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Such a cute book with such a heart-warming story. I love Jen Calonita's books, and I am looking forward to the possibility of a sequel. Great read for teens!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Not my favorite. I have really been into books set in the South lately, but this was just a disappointment. Most of the writing seemed very superficial and shallow, and a few of the family 'secrets' were obvious before they were even revealed.

    Overall it wasn't bad, but I don't recommend it to anyone who doesn't read a lot of chickie books like this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Jen Calonita builds a beautiful rags to riches story with her no

    Jen Calonita builds a beautiful rags to riches story with her novel, Belles.  This was a surprisingly good read!  What a great coming of age story about a high schooler, Isabelle Scott (Iz or Izzie for short) who grows up on the wrong side of the tracks and suddenly finds herself thrown into the life of the rich and elite of Emerald Cove (EC) after her grandma and legal guardian takes a turn for the worse.  

    Fitting  in and maneuvering the EC social structures in this town are harder than taking care of her ailing grandmother, working as a beach lifeguard, keeping her grades up, paying the bills, buying groceries and maintaining her status of star swimmer...Will she be able to climb the social ladder?  Will she make friends?  What about the summer fling that suddenly turns up at her new school and is in the arms of the one girl who she despises? 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Omg

    Vannah is so meaaaaan!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very

    I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author also didn't know who her audience was. It was about kids ages 15-16 but the topics discussed were appropriate for a 6th grader. I didn't even understand the "plot twist" at the end for awhile. The book ends very abruptly. Even though it is a cliffhanger, there is little sense of closure. It reminds me of a Pretty Little Liars/Watered-down Mean Girls in the South.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Tooo much drama!

    The story line was fine. I couldn't stand the amount of drama. Sure, there has to be conflict to make a book but come on, chapter after chapter had disaster after disaster and the characters drove me crazy with their choices! The book was maddening & then the end was abrupt. I'd like to know if there is supposed to be a sequal because there were loose ends but i don't know if I can stand any more drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    TO DELFINA SUGGESTION

    U KEEP FORGETTING IVY!!! I THINK IVY SHOULD BE A LONG LOST DAUGHTER OF A PROFESSER, AND BE HEIR TO THE THRONE!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    To james/ calvens

    No more chosen ones go to the clique of gold and see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    To the chosen ones

    I cant find your next part!!!!!! -Glad you're back James Finnlay/ Calvin Higgins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    To chosen ones

    Hi!!!! I come with two things to tell you one about Jack if it is nessisary he will use unforgivable curses to save his friends second thing is you should have made them be gone for a year so the parents of Sam,you,James and Jack would serch the school. If you have any questions about Jack go to mark of athena by rick riordan. DON'T STOP WRITING. Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    To the chosen ones ( tco)

    I AM SO HAPPY UR BACK!!!!! PLEASE HURRY - OH AND WHATS THE NAME OF THW BOOK UR POSTING ON? - SAM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    THE CHOSEN ONES IS BACK PEOPLE

    Part 22 will be at fun result one NOT CRAZY RESULT ONE!!!!!!!! LOVE:Delfina Graves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    To chosen ones

    I want to renew Ava's charecter app. U remember it right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Amzing Book

    This book is really good. It's a rags to riches story and it has a good message to it . The message is it doesn't matter where you came from your all the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Beebee???

    Where r u? Call me~meemo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Ring, ring, ring, ring. Hello?? Meemo!!!

    Calling... ~Bee?Bee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Belles trilogy 1

    Isabelle scott has always lived in harborside. So she is utterly out of place when she is taken iin by her wealthy uncle Bill, who lives in Emerald Cove. EC is a town full of superficial brats, just like her cousin mirabelle. Belles is the story of how izzie begins to find her plave, bothwithin the town and in her family.
    If you are looking for a suspenseful book full of juicy drama, this is a beautifully written book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Cute

    Lovely story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4