Customer Reviews for

Belles

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of th...
If you are looking for a real good book, this is it. This book is definitly worth the money and will not leave you disappointed! It just lures you into reading from the first chapter, and with each new conflict in every chapter, I could not put it down! It was one of the few well written and heart-warming stories I've recently read. Positivly a must!

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very

I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author als...
I was very disappointed with this book. The characters had very little depth. The whole story was ridiculous, it had one of those schools that were so rich the cafeterias serve lobster. Most characters were incredibly superficial and annoying. I feel like the author also didn't know who her audience was. It was about kids ages 15-16 but the topics discussed were appropriate for a 6th grader. I didn't even understand the "plot twist" at the end for awhile. The book ends very abruptly. Even though it is a cliffhanger, there is little sense of closure. It reminds me of a Pretty Little Liars/Watered-down Mean Girls in the South.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Belles is a wonderful book. The characters were relateable and i

    Belles is a wonderful book. The characters were relateable and interesting. Their problems were real and the author has a way of making the reader feel what the characters feel. I liked the way that Izzie and Mira grew as the book progressed and the way they dealt with their problems. 
    Izzie was a strong character that knew what she wanted. I loved that she stood up for what she believed in and stood up for herself and her hometown of Harbor Side. Emerald Cove was a very different place for her to live in, but Izzie loved her hometown and missed her beloved grandmother very much. As she tried to fit in, she tried to help her hometown.
    Mira was slightly sefish at first. She only seemed to care about her popular friends and her boyfriend tat she didnt truly love, dresses and shopping, and going to fancy parties. As the story went on, Mira learned many things from Izzie, including the fact that some things are more im
    rtant than shopping and being popular. As Mira started to stand up for herself and what she really wanted I began to like her mre. 
    Brayden and Kellen are both great guys who helped the girls realize what they wanted, an Hayden was a really good brother that helped Izzie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Yessss

    Omg this book is amazinngggg! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jen Calonita brings Cinderella to modern times. Izzie lived a ro

    Jen Calonita brings Cinderella to modern times. Izzie lived a rough life, taking care of her grandmother and trying to make ends meet. She had good friends and neighbors, people who respected her and were concerned over her wellbeing. Then a social worker intervenes and sends her to live with a distant relative, and Izzie enters the world of the rich and glamorous. Here, the fairy-tale world takes a twists, and Izzie becomes new girl in a rich private school, threatened by the queen bee whose boyfriend she takes an interest in.

    The story is told through the alternating perspectives of Izzie and her cousin Mira, two very different individuals. Izzie is down-to-earth and easy to connect with. Having taken care of her grandmother and herself for some time, Izzie is independent and doesn't easily fall prey to moments of weakness. She cares about people and doesn't let her sudden rich lifestyle get to her head. Mira, on the other hand, is the queen bee's minion. Having lived a privileged life, Mira comes off as a bit conceited and bratty at first. She is afraid to stand up for herself and makes decisions based off what she thinks others will do instead of trying to think for herself. Without her telling part of the story, it would have been hard for me to find something in her to relate to.

    Drama, politics, and rumors fly in Belles, with the added charm of a little romance sprinkled in. I grew to love many of the cast. This is a fun contemporary read, a good one to pick up if you're not looking for an especially dark or heavy atmosphere. I definitely recommend picking it up when you get the chance!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I LOVE this book! Izzie is a fighter and never backs down, I LOV

    I LOVE this book! Izzie is a fighter and never backs down, I LOVE it! Is the author coming out with a second Belles?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great book

    This book is totally a great read!!!
    Finished in 2 days
    Highly reccomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great

    I love this book it is deffinaly my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Good

    Even though i go for more romantic books this one was still great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great book!

    This book is one of the best books i ever read. I cant wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book was unbelievably amazing. I really connected with Izzie and felt every emotion she did. Growing up having nothing and then having your life changed forever by new people is an experience that I can't even describe. I would recommend this book to anyone! It's very appropiate for any audiance. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Belles just flows; it is heart warming and promising - Jen Calon

    Belles just flows; it is heart warming and promising - Jen Calonita just kept on giving me more and more, charming me with wonderful memorable characters and amazing scenes!

    Isabelle Scott, aka Izzie, is trying to keep her little family together ever since her mother passed away when she was ten. She goes to school, teaches swim classes, takes care of her sick grandmother and all the household chores. She does everything and anything in order to keep her social worker happy so she doesn't have to be placed into foster care... but when Izzie's grandmother's Alzheimer's gets worse, the social worker has no choice but to do what is right and place grandma in a home and reveals that Izzie is going to go live with her long lost Uncle at a nearby town, Emerald Cove.
    In one night, Izzie's life is turned upside down. She is taken away from her homely town on the boardwalk and thrust into a gated community, private school, thousand dollar dresses and 'mean girls'.
    But Izzie is so well grounded, she knows how to handle herself and does it so well.

    Izzie's cousin, Mirabelle, was a bit hard to like in the beginning. As a true southern belle, Mira put on her smile and did her best to just go through the niceties in welcoming Izzie. And of course, we all saw through that. But as the story went along, we see changes in Mira, and hope for the best.

    More drama and secrets unfold - you couldn't ask for more!

    I really enjoyed how Calonita would smoothly alternate between Izzie and Mira's thoughts. I got to see and hear both sides of their stories. I also love and appreciate how Calonita ended the book. Pure perfection and I cannot wait to read Belles sequel, Winter White, being released on October 9th, 2012.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Hi

    This book is really good get it it will make you beg for the sequel witch i know for a fact thar it will come out soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Absolutely amazing

    This book is so diferent from all of those other girl needs boy or girl wants to be popular books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Amazing!

    The book, Belles, is very interesting and will leave you wanting more! Jen calonita always writes amazing novels(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!!

    I loved this new book from Jen Calonita!! The characters are really great, and the two main characters Izzy and Mira are very likable. Savannah is someone I want to toss out the door so fast! She's a manipulative Queen Bee who is just grating on my nerves!!! Izzy is sweet and good hearted and really is just thrown into her new life in Emerald Cove because her grandmother is too sick to care for her, and her social worker places her with an uncle she's never talked to. But there is a dark secret in that placement and the ending is really amazing. Its a nice closer for the first book, but it still makes you want to grab the next book when it comes out. Its a little like Gossip Girl, but more Southern, and a lot more drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HOLY ROSES! I would like to give a huge THANK YOU THANK YOU to


    HOLY ROSES! I would like to give a huge THANK YOU THANK YOU to Around The World ARC Tours for allowing me to read this book! I have to say that I loved this book so much I went out and purchased my own copy. The ARC did not do the cover any justice. It is absolutely STUNNING!

    What would you do if one day your life was normal and in that same night your life was turned upside down? What would you do if you lost everyone you loved? You had to leave the only comfort you have ever known. You have to leave your friends to start a new life that is so different from yours you do don't know whether or not your coming or going. Well that is exactly what Isabelle Scott AKA Iz or Izzie had to do.

    One day Izzie is swimming and life guarding at her local boardwalk when things change. She goes home and her life is turned upside down. She has to live with distant relatives and she has no idea who they are or where she is going. When she finds out she is not happy at all because she has to pack up and move to a place she will not fit into and she is worried what will happen. She will join a family that comes from money and they are all about power and prestige. What is a girl to do?

    To make matters worse the guy she fell in love with and spent everyday of the summer with bumps into her at her new school. She finally will find out what happened to him and where he is from but behind everything at Emerald Cove there are secrets and truths that will be uncovered and at the end of the day Izzie will find out who her friends are and who is not. She will have enimies that will try everything in their power to destroy her. She will have to dig real deep and fight for her life and the ones she loves. She will find friendship in the least likely person and she will gain a love like she has never known.

    This is a must read for everyone who loves secrets hidden deep and loves that spring from the smallest Rose Bud. Come along with Izzie and Brayden as they fight to get what they want most.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    :)

    Hi jen it me sarah ur number one fan! I just wanted to say i cannot wait till this book is out! I am so excited!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3