Customer Reviews for

The Bellmaker (Redwall Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    THE BEST REDWALL BOOK THERE IS

    In this story by Brian Jaques he writes one of the best stories ever written. More action and excitment than any of the other stories of the Redwall Series. Once you pick it up you wont be able to put it down. The plot just keeps on thikening and the story is so detailed it never gets boring. Just when you think one thing is going to happen something else does in the story. It is an excellent book and I recommend it to anybody who can read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    The Bellmaker dongs!

    The sequel to Mariel of Redwall, The Bellmaker makes a similar mistake to the Pearls of Lutra. The villains of this story present no threat to Redwall. Urgan Nagru is a good villain, along with his mate, but he sometimes presents himself as an idiot as well as cunning and evil. I'm sorry, but a villain can't be smart and stupid at the same time. This is one knock against the book. Another is the title. This is not about the Bellmaker, it's about rescuing Mariel. The real highlight of the book is the character Finnbarr, who makes it enjoyable. He gets the three stars. The plot isn't bad, but it should be something with a little bit more urgency in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    The 2nd best Redwall tale!!

    The Bellmaker instantly became one of my favorite Redwall tales. The book flows so well it's very hard to put it down once you've started. You get everything there is to offer from The Bellmaker that makes all of Brian Jaques novels enjoyable. Swashbuckling adventure, love, cunning plots, A LOT of villans, dibbuns, and as always food...a whole bunch of food! The only other Redwall tale I like better than The Bellmaker is Salamandastron. The Bellmaker was 5 out of 12 of the Redwall series that I have collected and it still remained my second favorite. I hope this book brings to book lovers of all ages what it brought to me. If you are a Redwall fan, you will enjoy The Bellmaker, hopefully as much as I did. A 'Thumbs Up' performance as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2000

    Great Book and Great Characters

    There is something new on every page, and somehow, the characters always manage to solve their problems. It has a lot of action and the pages go by quickly once you begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    WOW!!!!!!!

    This is an awesome book! A true must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    Strike for Southsward!

    Before the legend, before the glory, The Bellmaker's dream foretold the story: 'Five will ride the Roaringburn, But only four will e'er return.' Mariel of Redwall and pal Dandin are back in this rip-raorin' adventure. This time, they are in the peaceful land of Southsward, where an evil Foxwolf, the Urgan Nagru, has overthrown the good Gael Squirrelking and his wife. It starts after they had left Redwall 4 seasons back, and after wandring into Southsward, they learn of the problem facing the creatures in Southsward: the Foxwolf and his vermin. Meanwhile, back in Redwall, Mariel's father, Joseph the Bellmaker, has a dream in which Martin the Warrior appears and tells him to go help Mariel, and tellls him to take four companions and seek her out. So Joseph and companions set out, and with the help of a sea otter called Finbarr Galedeep, they get on the trail. This is a real must-read - I couldn' put it down! You have to read it to believe it. Jaques really got a great cast of charachters. So get it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    very good book good for fantasy lovers

    i enjoyed the plot which kept you on your toes through the whole book it was hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    You Should Read This Book

    I enjoy all of the Redwall novels and this one is no exception. I am an avid reader and I read a lot a genres and Jaques makes the one my favorite. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has not yet read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    GREAT book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book! This is , one of the best books in the Redwall series. I thought it was really interesting reading about Joseph the Bellmaker ( the one who made the bell for Redwall Abbey). If you really enjoyed all the rest of the Redwall A books, then you'll enjoy this one too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    The Bellmaker is a book with tons of excitement and is very enjoyable to read on a Sunday afternoon on your favorite leather chair with only 100 pages left in the 396 page book!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I really loved this book because it had a lot of excitement and feasting and very little of emotional parts just the way I like it.My favorite characters are Mariel,Dandin, and ecspecially Joseph the Bellmaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 1999

    Tarquin? Tscha. Finn Galedeep all the way, baby.

    Okay, I won't start on my love of The Main Sea Otter, because that would bore everyone to heck and the review wouldn't have been posted. Bellmaker is, in my opinion, a step up from the rest of the simple, never-changing formulae of the rest of the Redwall series. Instead of being thrown into a whirlwind of bloody swords, and clean-cut good-against-evil battles, Jaques snags your attention more subtly, by developing characters, and creating interesting conflicts that just might have an impact on the story -but you never know. He also brings to light more of the reality of war, sparing the 'good' characters less, and giving the 'bad' characters more free reign. Lots of Redwall fans seem to come down hard on this novel, and to them I say this; 'Hey, guys, have a little imagination!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 1999

    A Standout in Redwall

    Brian Jaques outdoes his earlier successes with The Bellmaker, by breaking through the usual formulaic plotline of the Redwall books. Real dangers, besides impetuous quests, are brought out. Conflict between the good characters as well as the bad ones provides an eye-opener, keeping the reader ever on their toes. Snippets of history, and different reactions portray the 'background' characters as more than just that, bringing them out into their own light. So far, this is the only 'second part sequel' of Jaques' that truely plays it part as a further development of the characters from Mariel of Redwall. I personally consider this book to be more advanced than the others in its series. Congratulations, BJ, you've done it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3