Customer Reviews for

The Bellmaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    Redwall

    This book is awesome, it is not the best book in the redwall series but it is one of them. I wouuld say Redwall is the best, but if yuo love Redwall books then get this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    You won't be disappointed with this book!!!

    When I choose this book I saw that there were mice and otters on the cover. The mice and otters were carrying swords so I thought the book would have a lot of excitement in it. I figured there would be plenty of sword fights and exciting travels. After I reviewed all this I knew that this book would be full of action. I love action packed stories. In the book, a dead mouse gives riddles to mice in their dreams. He is a special mouse who built Redwall abbey. He gave Joseph The Bellmaker a riddle so that the Redwallers could help fellow mice Mariel and Dandin. The other mice try to help figure out the riddle also. When they finally figure it out, five mice need to go and help the others in trouble, but one will not come back. When I read this I thought that Joseph wasn't going to come back but I was wrong. Instead one of their friends that they meet on their journey died in action. Now this is all I'll tell you, you'll have to find the rest out on your own. If you read this story, you may agree with me that it is the best action story you have ever read. Make sure when you read it, you have plenty of uninterrupted time because you won't want to put the book down. It is a real page turner. This book is great animal fiction. I recommend it for ages 11 to 14 years of age. Don't be surprised on how the book turns out, just read the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Bellmaker is one of my favorites, along with its prequel Mariel of Redwall. My favorite part of the book is the vivid characters. It is unusual to have so many characters in two Redwall books, as Brian Jaques typically spaces them farther apart in time. But it is a treat to get to know new characters like Finnbarr Galedeep and King Gael and his friends, while catching up with old familiars like Tarquin and Hon Rosie and their 12 leverets, and the now Abbott Saxtus, and of course Dandin and Mariel. This book ventures outside of Mossflower woods to Southsward, a place just as magical. Readers will be rewarded with a sweet, emotional, and exciting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    My Favorite Redwall

    This book proved to be my favorite of Brian Jacques' enchanting series. I haven't read all of them, but of the ones I have, this is on top. I loved how Joseph wasn't the cliche 'brave hero' standing up to evil. He was a simple bellmaker, and I think that added a nice twist. I especially loved the portion of this book spent at sea, as the author is so knowledgable when it comes to that sort of thing. Anyone who reads Redwall books needs to pick this one up right away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    ****WHAT IS UP WITH RUFF?!****

    I loved this book when i read it. Still do, but i had a problem with it. In Marriel of Redwall Ruff Brush was all battlish and acted like a warrior. But for some reason, BJ decided to turn him into a weenie for this book. It just doesn't make sense. I was very disappointed because Ruff had been my favorite character in Mariel. His character was practically ruined. Worth readin' though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Bellmaker (Redwall #7)

    It was the best of the series and I think that Finnbar Galedeep was the best character too. It was so cool when Finn moved the ship around the green maelstrom was awesome and when Nagru got killed it was even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Bellmaker (Redwall #7)

    It was the best book in the series. My favorite character was Dandin. you have to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    My Book Review

    You should definitely read the book called ¿The Bellmaker.¿ It was a very exiting book. There were a lot of battle scenes where defeating your enemies and surviving were the only things on your mind. The characters were also fun to watch throughout the story. An exciting battle was when Joseph and his friends had to do battle with the evil Foxwolf and his horde of vermin. The author Brian Jacques described every detail of the story. He paints a picture of the characters and the settings of the story. It was a very smart book. The characters were very witty. They thought up plans to defeat their enemies. Joseph and all the characters were very smart. Therefore you should read the book called ¿The Bellmaker.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    It was awesome!

    Good book but not a cool bad guy. But besides that this was an awesome experience! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Its so awesome!

    This book is so awesome it was the first book I read in the redwall series. This is the book that got me into redwall books. It is one of the best books of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    gurt descriptions o' me deeper'n'ever'tater'... pie

    beautiful descriptions of the food. i want to eat it badly wot wot. wotsisnam jacques made another great book here. just can't get enough of that october ale, hotroot soup and all that food that the abbey dwellers ate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    The reign of Urgan Nagru will fall!

    A strange dream sent by Martin the Warrior, a great hero, to Joseph the Bellmaker galvanizes Redwall, a peaceful refuge, into action. Five brave souls ¿ Hon Rosie, Durry Quill, Foremole, Rufe Brush, and Joseph the Bellmaker - venture fearlessly into the unknown. The adventure they take will be thrilling and glamorous, as well as sad and mournful. Mariel, the daughter of Joseph, and Dandin, Mariel¿s friend, are also adventuring. Little do both groups know that they will soon encounter Urgan Nagru, or the Foxwolf, a vicious fox who has plans to take over all of Southsward, a peaceful country that has previously lived in harmony and never experienced war. The terror he spreads sends Southsward into panic. Creatures everywhere fear for their safety. Urgan Nagru completes his plans of country domination when he captures Gael Squirrelking, a king of squirrels, and his castle. The reign of Urgan Nagru has begun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    charmingly good old chap wot wot

    when marial and Dandin of redwall get caputred by the evil foxwolf urgan nagru its up to joseph the bellmaker and four other to save them with the help of the log-a-log shrews and many other creartures. take an exciting jouneny from Mossflower to Roaringburn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    A Perfect Adventure

    A perfectly thought out adventure with numerouse scenarios. Once again Jacques has made another thrilling installment in the Redwall series. I highly enjoyed reading this story. It has the realistic scenario of an event that causes other events which makes up the view points of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Jolly good, wot wot!

    I havent read this one yet. I so want to badly. I've already read Mariel, and this looked good, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Eric Swiftsword

    Yet again Mr.Jacques has turned out another fascinating book. The one problem i think is that how he incorporates his main characters to suddenly and this book is sorta like the ones before. But dont get me wrong this is a great book and you'll enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    An excelent book in the Redwall series

    I could barely stop reading it once I got into it if you liked Martin the Warrior you'll like this one. Also if you liked Mariel of Redwall she's back with her father in this wonderful adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2002

    The Best of the Best

    I've read all of the books in the series, and I always liked this one the best. Joseph is my all-time favorite character. He has the neatest personality and the most heroic life. This is the story of an evil fox by the name of Urgan Nagru who tries to conquer Southsward. Mariel, Dandin and some new friends come to the rescue! The Bellmaker is getting worried about his daughter and leaves to seek her out, following a trail to Southsward. Definetly a delightful read! So read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Jacques has done it again

    I was very pleased when Sir Jacques wrote Mariel, Dandin, and Joseph into another story. And what a story it was! Splendid job, old chap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    Suspenseful

    This story is an exciting adventure. The author makes you feel as if you were their. The suspense and switching of characters makes you want to read more and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3