BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bellwether

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    Bellwether is incredibly entertaining

    Bellwether was not at all what I expected it to be. It is classified as science fiction, but what that implies to me is a futuristic setting and/or cutting edge technology and/or robots and/or space travel, yadda yadda. There was science in Bellwether, but the science was explained so that a liberal arts major, such as myself, could easily understand it. The story sucked me in and I loved reading it. The parts about chaos theory as related to fads were fascinating. The characters were interesting and the book was very funny in parts. I recommend Bellwether highly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Love the book, irritated with the nookbook

    I love Connie Willis's stories and her voice, Bellwether is no exception. But I was completely irritated with the number of typos in the nook version. It was distracting, irritating and made me wish I'd just bought the paperback instead. Kudoes to Ms Willis on another great book, -5 pts to whoever created the ebook for poor proofing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    moderately entertaining but very flawed

    This is an attempt at a Katherine Hepburn/Spencer Tracey romantic farce. The Hepburn character is a sociologist researching fads. This circumstance affords Ms. Willis the opportunity to skewer various fads circulating in the mid nineties. One problem is that Ms. Willis and her heroine define 'fad' very loosely and arbitrarily: for example, a running theme is that legislation which prohibits smoking in public places is a pernicious and monumentally unjust fad--smokers with persecution complexes will be sympathetic, the rest of us simply annoyed. Another problem is that, unlike her Tracey character, whom she exalts for his imperviousness, Ms. Willis is herself very susceptible to insidious fads of language: I found one 'hopefully' pretending to mean 'I hope', two 'oxymoron's used incorrectly (an oxymoron is by definition not just any contradiction in terms, but a deliberate literary device), and one 'just that' (a perfectly correct but obnoxious rhetorical mannerism prevalent in the mid eighties). Overall, the prose is glib and perfunctory. The climax and denouenent of 'The Bellwether' are predictable, unconvincing, unsatisfying, and forced.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I love this book, my wife loves this book, her best friend loves this book. Everybody that we've recommended this book to has enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    I enjoyed this book!

    This was an easy and fun book to read. There was a great deal missing. I'm not sure just what. Something about it seemed strained, unnatural, not genuine. Lots of potential here but no real satisfying whole. I am left wanting to know what will happen. I honestly wanted this book to last a great deal longer so I would gladly have read 800 pages. It ended much too abruptly. I did not want to put it down. Why such a moderate rating? Itch?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Fun Book

    Some of Willis's shorter novels are not her best efforts, but this is really a gem. It's aromp through why people do what they do, fads and views and it's really a hoot. It's fun and engaging especially if you have no idea what a bellwether is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    so-so

    Let's be clear: There is no reason to fault a science-fiction writer for not writing science fiction, but there is every reason to fault a novel that purports to be about science and isn't. If you want an exciting, light, very readable book that makes you feel you are taking part in an important scientific discovery and teaches you something about science without taxing your powers of concentration, read Watson's 'Double Helix'. (It may comfort you to know that some consider 'Double Helix' as much fiction as 'Bellwether'. I can't say, but if 'Double Helix' is fiction, it is certainly better fiction.) The anti-anti-smoking tract obtrusively interlaced into the plot (such as it is) of 'Bellwether' is not funny or witty or even believable. The author's protagonists, the one a sociologist, the other a scientist (though the author seems insensible of the distinction) are portrayed as non-smokers who are not the least bit discomfited by close-range cigarette smoke. Here's the straight dope, smokers: If any such persons exist in real life, they are strange physiological freaks. Want to be honest? Next time don't ask, 'Do you mind if I smoke?' Ask either, 'Are you a smoker too?' or, 'Will you suffer my smoking mutely?'

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Great book with spectical on Psychology

    I read this book three years ago and loved it! Now I am in a psych class at high school and I have found ways to relate the book to many sociocultural influences of behavior. Its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2