Customer Reviews for

Belong to Me: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 498 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A book I found to be unputdownable

I loved this book. I had not heard of this author but since reading Belong to Me I have purchased her previous writing and have purchased two additional copies of Belong to Me to give as gifts. There are so many books that I read just because I bought them but this wa...
I loved this book. I had not heard of this author but since reading Belong to Me I have purchased her previous writing and have purchased two additional copies of Belong to Me to give as gifts. There are so many books that I read just because I bought them but this was one of those books that you can't wait to get back to. The writing style is so readable and the author is "spot on" in describing life in suburbia today. The dual plots kept me reading late into many nights. Definitely a book for gals - probably not something the guys would enjoy.

posted by bookloverme on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

What can i say...

The beginning didn't immediately grab me and pull me in as other books have but progressively got better as I got farther into the book. There are definitely some twists you may not see coming. I enjoyed all of the characters but one...because it is not just one story b...
The beginning didn't immediately grab me and pull me in as other books have but progressively got better as I got farther into the book. There are definitely some twists you may not see coming. I enjoyed all of the characters but one...because it is not just one story but segments put together, it can be hard to keep things on track if you only read a little at a time or if you really enjoy a chapter only to start the next one and discover it's about a different character but over all it was good. Not the best literary reading for me but I was satisfied in the end, just wish the whole book was that way.

posted by IrishGeekReader on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 498 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book I found to be unputdownable

    I loved this book. I had not heard of this author but since reading Belong to Me I have purchased her previous writing and have purchased two additional copies of Belong to Me to give as gifts. There are so many books that I read just because I bought them but this was one of those books that you can't wait to get back to. The writing style is so readable and the author is "spot on" in describing life in suburbia today. The dual plots kept me reading late into many nights. Definitely a book for gals - probably not something the guys would enjoy.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rich & lovely

    Loved Walked in has become one of my favorite books, so I looked forward to reading Belong to Me. I couldn't help but to compare the two books and they are different so it took me a moment to adjust and once I got past that, I enjoyed Belong to me immensely. It had a slower start and build up but the characters turned out to be as rich as the first book, complex and utterly human. The story was beutiful and complicated, and happy and sad and everything rolled into one. You care about the people in the story, they become your friends for the lenght of the book and you laugh and cry when they do. At the back of the book, Marisa gives the slightest hint of someday writing Clare and Dev's story and I can't wait for the day that story comes. Great read!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    What can i say...

    The beginning didn't immediately grab me and pull me in as other books have but progressively got better as I got farther into the book. There are definitely some twists you may not see coming. I enjoyed all of the characters but one...because it is not just one story but segments put together, it can be hard to keep things on track if you only read a little at a time or if you really enjoy a chapter only to start the next one and discover it's about a different character but over all it was good. Not the best literary reading for me but I was satisfied in the end, just wish the whole book was that way.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Lovely Book

    What a lovely story. In the beginning, I was as uncertain as the main character as to whether I'd like the place or the people. But what a genuine and interesting story. And Marisa de los Santos is a very good writer. The way she wrote Cornelia's character reminds me of the way I talk and think. And how Piper responds is how I'm sure a lot of people respond to me. And having just moved from Claymont, Delaware, I could picture exactly the type of community in which this story is set. And and uplifting.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Predictable

    A lot of hype about the release of this book made me want to read it. I could barely make it to the end. Yawn

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    What?

    Very disappointing. It was a novel of stereotypes.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Got my attention.

    Hard to keep my attention. When I would put it down for more than a day and try to come back, it was hard to figure out what the story line was again, until I was well into the book. The chapters change first person narrative with the characters, but not all of them, just enough to keep you slightly off balance for awhile. Unless you can spend a good chunk of time reading each time you pick it up, I would not recommend lightly.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Became unbearable over.

    I was very excited to read this novel and left it until last of a recent shipment, based on Love Walked In. I could not be more disappointed. Not by the story as a whole; but, the lack of "something" in the story near the end. The story started out very well written from the beginning through the end of the middle, wonderful plot & character development. But the story seemed to go astray from the moment it began addressing the issue of Lake, Teo & Dev. It felt like something BIG went missing and/or wasn't developed appropriately. It was at that moment the novel took a turn that I couldn't take with it. Such a shame. It feels like a great story was rushed to publication.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The stories of Cornelia, Piper and Dev intersect in a number of

    The stories of Cornelia, Piper and Dev intersect in a number of compelling ways, resulting in some good plot developments. Yet, overall, this is a character-driven novel, and it is the inner lives of the three main figures that make it such a page-turner. Cornelia's portions are written in first-person narration while those of Piper and Dev are told in third person. Her shift in perspectives is successful because the tone and pace remain consistent, and each character has a worthwhile and unique point of view. The secondary characters --- Elizabeth, Dev's friends, Teo and Cornelia's brother --- are all given just the right amount of attention, adding to and not distracting from the story. Thankfully, unlike many second novels from authors who have had a successful first book, readers can pick up and enjoy this book without knowing anything about de los Santos or the characters who inhabited her first novel. The joy from the beginning to the end of this story is complete unto itself, without history or explanation. De los Santos's strong characters and lyrical writing engage from the first pages and hold the reader's interest to the end. In the end, "Belong to Me" is a great book because of its solid storytelling. It stands alone with its vulnerability and virtue, and it's likely that readers everywhere are going to be hearing a lot more about Marisa de los Santos. Highly recommend this book.   

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Feel Good, grab a cup of joe and a snuggie reading!

    I found this book to be one I was able to pick up and put down. It did not require that one be a scholar in any manner. Our book club had just finished Pillars of The Earth and this selection was chosen to 'wind us down' a bit. While not truly predictable, it was a touching and wonderful feel good story in which heartache, happiness and predictability kept you turning the pages. It was an enjoyable read that I would recommend.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Disappointing!

    This book did not live up to the reviews in my opinion.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    You Belong To Me

    I really enjoyed the book. I felt the author really developed her characters well. I found myself wanting to jump ahead to see what happens next. She expertly weaves the lives of the four main characters. The story line was engaging. The author truly brings her subjects to life. You feel you definitely know someone like them.The title fits the story well. It was a very touching story about people and their perceptions of others. After reading this I am looking forward to reading more by this author. I would highly recommend it for a good summer read, a book to take to the beach or the mountains.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    First time reading a Marisa de los Santos book, I'll be back for more

    I normally gravitate to books that have a single protagonist and plot line, but the stories of the different characters in this book were all engaging. The writing style was conversational and yet filled with poetic observations.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Although this book is brillantly written, throughout the first 1

    Although this book is brillantly written, throughout the first 1/3 of the novel I felt as though it was very disjointed; And then BAM!; everything comes together. This is a story of family, maybe by birth but mostly not.  It is a story of lives intertwined; full of sorrow, joy, forgiveness and love.  Great read for yourself or to discuss at book club. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Some of the best writing I've encountered

    Marisa de los Santos writes with a voice that is truly compelling. She puts you in the same place as the characters about which you are reading. I would recommend this book to anyone I meet on the street - it's inspiring and presents a new view on relationships that other authors have tried to convey but haven't quite as successfully as de los Santos. Excellent!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't know it but I was longing for Belong To Me

    With the last word of Love Walked In beautifully bringing it to a close, I had a sense of fulfillment- I felt at peace with the path Cornelia, Clare & Teo¿s lives would take (I say ¿path¿ singularly, because I knew in my heart that they would be on it together). Marisa de los Santos majestically captures each character¿s susceptibilities, hopes & jubilations. This book has an abundance of quotes from other literary figures but some of the most profound words I read were those of Ms. de los Santos thru her brilliantly real, emotional, relatable characters. While Belong To Me is also about friendship, love & soulmates walking into our lives when they are already in it or when it¿s least expected & sometimes when the timing is so wrong it¿s right, it is also about family (whether bound by blood or circumstance), not fitting in, acceptance, undeniable realizations, the blessing of life not always going as planned, `certain people changing the way time moves¿, `the soul selecting its own society¿ & belonging...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Cornelia Brown and her husband Mateo have been married for 2 years and have had enough of city life. They find a house in the suburbs in a nice neighborhood. Fitting in does not come easy at first to the very friendly Cornelia. She meets Piper first who lives across the street and is the embodiment of perfection - in her mind. She is rude and has her standards set too high. Not everyone is so hard to get along with and soon they have found friends. It doesn't take long to discover that even in the suburbs people have serious problems of their own - marital difficulties, illnesses, financial issues - can touch anyone. Cornelia and Mateo are good people and good friends and they find ways to help those in need. Funny characters and touching moments. I received this book as a gift and I was thrilled! I heard such good things about it and was happy to find them true. This is a new favorite for me. Loved the cover!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    A Great Sequel

    I loved this book. It is the continuation of a story line that began in 'Love Walked In' by the same author. Although this book can easily stand on its own, I think you realize the full flavor of the story if you have read that prior novel. The characters are so very well written. The plot takes a variety of twists and unexpected turns. The emotional impact of life's major events is vividly conveyed. This was a most pleasant and fascinating read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Hated it!!

    This book bored me to tears! I am sorry I spent good money on it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Lily Vincent

    Hi, I read some of your reviews and I decided not
    to get it. What
    do any of you children think? Please help me choose if
    I should get it.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 498 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25