Customer Reviews for

Beloved

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

This is a delightful story with enough twists and turns to keep you wanting more!
The authors descriptions are vivid enough to let you "see" the surroundings and get inside Jane's head.
If you like plots set in New England you'll love this author!
Keep them coming Ms. S...
This is a delightful story with enough twists and turns to keep you wanting more!
The authors descriptions are vivid enough to let you "see" the surroundings and get inside Jane's head.
If you like plots set in New England you'll love this author!
Keep them coming Ms. Stockenberg!
















posted by Anonymous on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

easy read

good aftrenoon read

posted by rpboop on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Loved It!

    This is a delightful story with enough twists and turns to keep you wanting more!
    The authors descriptions are vivid enough to let you "see" the surroundings and get inside Jane's head.
    If you like plots set in New England you'll love this author!
    Keep them coming Ms. Stockenberg!
















    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Great twists at an even better value

    Really liked it! She starts to wonder if the paranormal has a part in causing so much havoc just to get attention, so she tries to search the past to find answers. All the while you wonder which guy is truly for her while she tries to restore the cottage her dead aunt leaves her behind. Can she find a buyer for the cottage she desperately needs to sell before her savings run dry or she herself becomes the next death on the island? Just wanted to shed some light on why I was glued to this book without giving too much away.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. I am so glad that I found this author. I read all the time and now I am reading Emily's Ghost written by the same author and I can't put it down. Beloved was very well written and entertaining. It is a book you shouldn't miss reading.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    An excellent read from Antoinette Stockenberg. Recommend Highly

    An excellent read from Antoinette Stockenberg. Recommend Highly!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Another good Antoinette Stockenberg book

    Nantucket. A lovely old cottage in need of loving restoration. A beautiful and brave heroine. Three potential love interests. A huge rambunctious dog. And a ghost with a mystery. What more does one need for a lazy summer afternoon read??

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good mystery lite.

    I enjoy Stockenberg books. The plots are easy stressless fast reading with humor. No bloody murders or gore. Plots are always good with a few twists and turns. I espicially like the New England costal scences the author portrays with her short descriptions. Her characters all become family or people we recognize from our own lives. I could relate to the renovation of this inherited old cottage, all the things that mysteriously were going wrong and her list of suspects. Stockenberg is always a comfortable read for an inside rainy, snowy day or a late fall day out on the deck.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Good Author!

    I've like all her books so far.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Wonderful Book!

    I had never heard of Antoinette Stockenberg and was looking for a quick book to read. I down loaded "Beloved" just out of curiosity and found that I loved this book. I wasn't expecting much from it at first but turned out to really enjoy the romance and mystery. The book kept me guessing up untill the end which was a nice surprise because I often guess the ends of predictable books right away but this one blew me away.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great story!

    Her best book yet! Great characters, especially liked Mrs. Dewsbury.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    A good "summer read" that moves along nicely. Enjoyable characters, good plot.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Recommended

    A very easy enjoyable read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Enjoyable

    The story is intense and captivating, but the characters have so much baggage that seems impossible to overcome. This is a very emotional book with murder and ghosts, divorce and betrayal, but it also has deep love and real life laughter and the push and pull of a "normal" couple who don't always agree, but find their way to compromise.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Very Good!

    You will be very surprised.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Great Read!

    This book was entertaining, dramatic, and hard to put down. It makes you wait til the last few pages for the happy ending. Try it you'll like it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    great read

    great writer..another outstanding book

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    easy read

    good aftrenoon read

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Another great story by Stockenberg...

    Antoninette Stockenberg never fails to keep me entertained and reading late into the night. Another great story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Good

    A good romance and mystery story as usual from A. Stockenberg. Sometimes the prose was a little stilted, but the plot held my interest thruout. I would recommend to those looking for a romance read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    I could not put it down. This was the first book I read from thi

    I could not put it down. This was the first book I read from this author and I enjoyed it very much !!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    A great read! You'll love it.

    The setting is an island in the Northeast. The heroine has inherited a cottage from her Aunt Sylvia. It seems as if there are some ghosts involved. There are two very interesting men there. One is a business man who works on the mainland. The other is a rough, grumpy fellow who will steal your heart before he captures the heart of Jane.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7