Customer Reviews for

Beloved

Average Rating 4
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Toni Morrison's Haunting Novel

A child is a gift which cannot be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their strug...
A child is a gift which cannot be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their struggles to survive the shadows of their past, and the secrets that hold them back in irrefutable ways. The deeply troubled main characters and bone chilling plot takes place in a haunting setting which keeps the pages turning and the reader wanting more, even after the novel has ended. MOrrison wrote this novel with spellbounding emotion that can hadrdly be compared to any work of fiction I have ever read. Morrison's brilliant masterpiece transposes the mind of the reader into the time of the Civil War, where escaped slaves are continuously disturbed by their precedent.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good.

I was very apprehensive about reading Beloved. I heard nothing but bad things about it from the people I know. So I went into it with a bad attitude. After reading the first couple chapters I understood Toni's writing style and was able to really get into it. I was neve...
I was very apprehensive about reading Beloved. I heard nothing but bad things about it from the people I know. So I went into it with a bad attitude. After reading the first couple chapters I understood Toni's writing style and was able to really get into it. I was never bored and I was able to put myself in the story. During one chapter I was literally breathless when it ended! It was that real. Parts of this novel are creepy, and I think that is what makes it so unique. You will feel many emotions while reading. It's a feeling that doesn't happen very much. I do have to say, I think people who know a lot about slavery will get more out of this, as it is a book about slavery. A couple things that were mentioned confused me and I had to look them up. I think this is a great book that you should not hesitate to pick up. It is extremely unique and will keep you reading!

posted by DeDeFlowers on April 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    That should be a negative number.

    This book made me lose my faith in humanity. I respect the theme and the plight of the slaves. However, her malidroit and horrible use of the English language brings the book to the very depths of reading hell.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Be Aware

    If you are a Literature Major in life you will love this novel. But if not, be prepared to struggle through understanding this narrative of magical realism. This is a very complex novel with multiple themes, motifs and surreal events. Be prepared to read it through at least 2 times and find help to understand it deeper.

    One of the major hidden themes in the book is "The Middle Passage"; the voyage of the slaves from the coast of Africa to the coast of the Americas. What my generation has hidden so well is the holocaust of approximately 60 million slaves that either died in passage, (due to living conditions on the ship) or were thrown overboard during passage due to illness, or new births that would not make the journey.

    After reading this I am amazed at how well whites have either altered history or ignored history of blacks in America. It is an excellent book if you are willing to put the time and effort into it. Good Luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Boring and a waste of good reading time. I was so disappointed

    Boring and a waste of good reading time. I was so disappointed in the story. I am a reading and English teacher, and I read a lot. I have a hard time believing this book won a Pulitzer Prize. What were they thinking????
    Please, do not waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    To all the people complaining that this novel is difficult, bori

    To all the people complaining that this novel is difficult, boring, weird, senseless, etc and calling Morrison a bad writer or overrated, I can't have any other reaction but to smile and feel bad that those people do not have the mental capacity to understand such incredible writing. If Toni Morrison was not an extraordinary writer, she would not have won the Nobel Prize for Literature, or the Pulitzer. Yes, this is a difficult book to read. Yes, it will take very close reading and sometimes rereading but please do not diminish the value of this absolutely beautiful and haunting literary work. Morrison is an absolute genius and if you cannot understand her or think she's "overrated", just accept that you will never be able to grasp this work of ART or the level of language/literature it's written in. Do yourself a favor and enrich your library and soul with this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    5 Stars

    Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    SweetDoc

    I didn't understand the writing.It was like reading in another language.i found it confusing and annoying and only pushed myself to read about 25 pages.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    I just finished reading Beloved. It is written by Toni Morrison

    I just finished reading Beloved. It is written by Toni Morrison and takes place in Ohio. It's about a woman who is a slave and runs away with her children to a house to live with her mother-in-law. She did it to protect her children and keep them from the life she had. Toni Morrison based this on events she had read about when she was in the publishing industry.

    I personally loved this book. This is my second time reading it. I'm glad I took the time to read it a second time because there was so much I missed the first time around. I fully recommend this book to anybody who is into this kind of story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    This gets my vote for the "great American Novel."   Ha

    This gets my vote for the "great American Novel."   Haunting, literally and figuratively, it's an unforgettable book about love and the endless reverberations of a dreadful sacrifice exacted by slavery. Although it's a great work of literature it's also a a thriller and I found it impossible to put down.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Amazing

    Very interesting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Wonderful.

    Haunting and vivid. It is an incredible story, though occasionally slw. But completely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Toni Morrison is amazing.

    Toni Morrison is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I read this book when I was in high school and I still am haunte

    I read this book when I was in high school and I still am haunted by how beautiful it is.  I love how enveloped in the story and the characters' lives I became.  It is absolutely a must-read, especially if you want to learn more about our American history.  Just gorgeous. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Complicated

    Thid book is 1) confusing and 2) disturbing. I had to read this in high school and i can't say that i enjoyed it at all. The chapter in Beloved's perspective makes no sense and is hilarious more than anything. I had a better time watching the movie starring Oprah. I had a good laugh with that one. I still have no idea why this is a "classic."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A true classic

    This is a seriously disturbing novel about slavery and emmancipation. I agree with the must read moniker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    perfect

    haven't read it yet, but this is one of my all-time favorite authors. delivered on time and in perfect condition. highly reccommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    December 22,2012

    Beloved is about the slavery and difficult suffering these characters had gone through in this novel. A child is a gifted but couldnt be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their struggles to survive the shadows of their past, and the secrets that hold them back in irrefutable ways. The deeply troubled main characters and bone chilling plot takes place in a haunting setting which keeps the pages turning and the reader wanting more, even after the novel has ended. MOrrison wrote this novel with spellbounding emotion that can hadrdly be compared to any work of fiction I have ever read. Morrison's brilliant masterpiece transposes the mind of the reader into the time of the Civil War, where escaped slaves are continuously disturbed by their precedent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Still Thinking

    Not sure what to say about this one. Parts were brilliant and parts were just nonsense. Overall a good, albeit disturbing book that I'll likely think about for a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    How many pages is the book?

    Please tell me how many pages this bok is looks like a good book read the sample.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    This book is fantastic. Read and enjoy if you have a brain. Unli

    This book is fantastic. Read and enjoy if you have a brain. Unlike anyone that gives it 1 star, says it's boring or says that a Nobel prize winning author is "overrated." Obviously you idiots are missing something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    “Beloved”, a fiction but not so fiction novel writt

    “Beloved”, a fiction but not so fiction novel written by Toni Morrison, is a stunning portrayal of the before and after life of a runaway slave. I must warn that this book is not for the lighthearted, for it recreates the gruesome realities of slavery. I will call this story a ghost story, to which some others may not agree. The beginning of this novel was not so eye catching, featuring many grotesque memories in the first few chapters, mixed in with a load of names that you aren’t sure how to pronounce, like Sethe and Halle. But as you move deeper into this book’s pages, it becomes apparent that this is an amazing and heart wrenching tale of an escaped slave gone mad through repression and the fact that she murdered her own daughter in order to keep her from slavery. When the reader is finally able to be immersed in the story line after the plot comes together, intense recollections cause this to be a book that is hard to put down. The end of each chapter raises its own question, causing a sense of mystery that won’t change, even upon completion of the book. This Pulitzer Prize winning novel will not only catch the reader’s heart, but it will cause them to cringe at the same time. It will also never cease to confuse. With a tangle of different viewpoints and time periods, it is hard to catch up with. I don’t mean to scare readers away with these aspects, because once they are past the original confusion, they will be immersed in a wonderfully written and touching story that also shows the realities of early America. I give Toni Morrison a thumbs up for this great part of American literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16