Customer Reviews for

Beloved

Average Rating 4
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Toni Morrison's Haunting Novel

A child is a gift which cannot be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their strug...
A child is a gift which cannot be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their struggles to survive the shadows of their past, and the secrets that hold them back in irrefutable ways. The deeply troubled main characters and bone chilling plot takes place in a haunting setting which keeps the pages turning and the reader wanting more, even after the novel has ended. MOrrison wrote this novel with spellbounding emotion that can hadrdly be compared to any work of fiction I have ever read. Morrison's brilliant masterpiece transposes the mind of the reader into the time of the Civil War, where escaped slaves are continuously disturbed by their precedent.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good.

I was very apprehensive about reading Beloved. I heard nothing but bad things about it from the people I know. So I went into it with a bad attitude. After reading the first couple chapters I understood Toni's writing style and was able to really get into it. I was neve...
I was very apprehensive about reading Beloved. I heard nothing but bad things about it from the people I know. So I went into it with a bad attitude. After reading the first couple chapters I understood Toni's writing style and was able to really get into it. I was never bored and I was able to put myself in the story. During one chapter I was literally breathless when it ended! It was that real. Parts of this novel are creepy, and I think that is what makes it so unique. You will feel many emotions while reading. It's a feeling that doesn't happen very much. I do have to say, I think people who know a lot about slavery will get more out of this, as it is a book about slavery. A couple things that were mentioned confused me and I had to look them up. I think this is a great book that you should not hesitate to pick up. It is extremely unique and will keep you reading!

posted by DeDeFlowers on April 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    I would not recommend reading this book

    The novel Beloved is not for ordinary readers who love to read book after book. The novel was boring and had no point to it. One can argue that this book is creative and different however, it is different in a bad way. Beloved does not deserve the Pulitzer Price because it is not what critics made it seem. The book supposedly talks about slavery and life for African Americans as escaped slaves or as owned slaves. Memory/rememory is also a big topic talked about in the novel. It is a complex and confusing book and is a waste of time to read. This novel is about a family haunted by ghosts. The ghosts were family members and a dog. The family split up in the beginning of the novel. The grandmother, Baby Suggs, dies. The two sons, Howard and Buglar, ran away. The only people left in the house were Denver, the daughter, and her mother Sethe. Even though the family knew the house was haunted, they still stayed because the house was the only place that they can actually call home. In the novel, the house was referrer to as 124. Later in the novel Paul D, who was part of the ¿sweet home¿ group, became part of the family. Sweet home was the house the group lived in while they were slaves. The story then continues to talk about experiences that had to do with life as slaves. Memory/rememory also played a big role in the novel. This was illustrated many times within the novel where the characters would go back to their memories and remember events that occurred in their past and in other times the characters would remember that they had that memory and would go back and remember that event or the event in which they remembered that memory. Memory/rememory is one of the topics that lost and confused the readers. The book would talk about an event that is occurring in the novel and then in the next paragraph it would jump to a flashback without giving a transition word or phrase. For instance, Paul D was talking to Sethe about living with them and then before the point got across to the reader, he had a flashback about the time he was in Georgia in prison. He remembered how his neck connected to the axel and how his ankles fastened with iron and his hands clamped. This is only one way of how the book is confusing. Another way of how the book confuses readers is by the way the characters come into the story. The book brings a character into the story and the story keeps going. Then later in the story, the reader has a brief idea of who the character is and how the character relates to the story or a specific part of the story. For example, when Paul D first comes into the story, who he was and his relationship to Sethe was not talked about. Later on Sethe talks about who he is and how they knew each etc. This book is complex because it uses difficult language that makes the reader guess on what the author tries to say. For example, the first sentence in the book was ¿124 was spiteful.¿ Readers do not begin to understand what ¿124¿ is until a few pages later and even then, the reader has to assume that 124 is the house that the characters are living in because the book is not clear about it. The book also uses sophisticated language and metaphors that are difficult to understand. It is not concrete. Many events that occur in the novel do not exist. For example in an early part of the story the house was attacked by ghosts and objects inside the house were thrown around and at people and while that was going on, Paul D was fighting with one of the ghosts. The complexity of the book goes further than jumping from one point to another or from one event to another. At times, it even goes back and forth talking about two different subjects. Readers that are not used to this style of writing will get lost and that can result in one of few outcomes. The most common outcome would be to stop reading the book and watch the movie adaptation of the book. Tha

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Read it only if you're forced.

    I want to start off saying that I love classical novels, so don't think me simple minded, Beloved started out strong, with one voice and a good strong potential for a story, but then it entered into the land of confusion. It got impossible to keep up with all the different voices narrating the novel, all the constant jumps in timelines as well, aided it in that. If the author had just kept to one or two voices instead of jumping constantly without any warning at all, it would have been better. Towards the end it got tedious to read as well. Her writing in the beginning, I felt, was strong and to the point, towards the middle and end it wound up that you needed some form of decoder to figure out what she was talking about. I hope her other novels aren't like this.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    Boring Beloved

    Toni Morrison's novel Beloved creeps along slowly through a confusing series of events occuring in flashbacks. From beasteality to infanticide, this novel simply did not catch my attention. I found it extremely difficult to not put down. Morrison's characters effectively portray her messages about the difficult lives of escaped slaves, but they do not satisfy the casual reader. The author tries to show how a family of escaped slaves thinks and acts and why. The problem is, little of it sounds logical. Who would really kill their own child or have intercourse with cows? In addition, the book is very straining on the mind. It is hard to follow the story as Morrison seems to flip through time at random places and with little warning or explanation. You may enjoy this book if you like deep, close reading. Personally, I couldn't keep up with all the characters and often had to keep re-reading sections of the book. The book is not overly vulgar, just a few scenes that should disgust the average reader. Beloved's confusing organization and syntax complicates everything for the reader. The important events and passages often are too subtle to even notice. For that reason, I missed out on a lot of what was going on when I first started reading. Overall I do not recommend this book to anyone except those who truly enjoy a detailed and high level novel. Anyone just looking for a book to enjoy o

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Complicated

    Thid book is 1) confusing and 2) disturbing. I had to read this in high school and i can't say that i enjoyed it at all. The chapter in Beloved's perspective makes no sense and is hilarious more than anything. I had a better time watching the movie starring Oprah. I had a good laugh with that one. I still have no idea why this is a "classic."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Beloved- unlovable

    I read this book for a reading group. though it was well written, the story line was unbearably boring and slightly confusing. No offense to Toni Morrison, but no one in my group liked Beloved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Beloved........ Trash and more trash!!

    Toni Morrison had no talent whatsoever!!! She has thone peices of other books together and she came up with this trash!! She is totally trying to copy off Alice Walker's The Color Purple!! And all those flash backs!! She has has taken The Color Purple and has blended it , twisted , and killed it with witchcraft and Trash!!! The story simply chokes the readers mind within the first chapter. Beloved is a waste of time, effort, paper and ink!! And she won an award for this trash!!!!! Whoever decided to give her an award must have done it out of sympathy or that they have no taste in books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2