Customer Reviews for

Beloved

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Toni Morrison's Haunting Novel

A child is a gift which cannot be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their strug...
A child is a gift which cannot be compared to any in the world, but when a child is murdered for the mother's survival, its spirit lingers on in the thoughts and nightmares of the family. Beloved by Toni Morrison is a haunting novel of a mother and daughter, their struggles to survive the shadows of their past, and the secrets that hold them back in irrefutable ways. The deeply troubled main characters and bone chilling plot takes place in a haunting setting which keeps the pages turning and the reader wanting more, even after the novel has ended. MOrrison wrote this novel with spellbounding emotion that can hadrdly be compared to any work of fiction I have ever read. Morrison's brilliant masterpiece transposes the mind of the reader into the time of the Civil War, where escaped slaves are continuously disturbed by their precedent.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good.

I was very apprehensive about reading Beloved. I heard nothing but bad things about it from the people I know. So I went into it with a bad attitude. After reading the first couple chapters I understood Toni's writing style and was able to really get into it. I was neve...
I was very apprehensive about reading Beloved. I heard nothing but bad things about it from the people I know. So I went into it with a bad attitude. After reading the first couple chapters I understood Toni's writing style and was able to really get into it. I was never bored and I was able to put myself in the story. During one chapter I was literally breathless when it ended! It was that real. Parts of this novel are creepy, and I think that is what makes it so unique. You will feel many emotions while reading. It's a feeling that doesn't happen very much. I do have to say, I think people who know a lot about slavery will get more out of this, as it is a book about slavery. A couple things that were mentioned confused me and I had to look them up. I think this is a great book that you should not hesitate to pick up. It is extremely unique and will keep you reading!

posted by DeDeFlowers on April 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Beloved

    From the very moment you open the book, ¿Beloved¿ you are intrigued to know what the book is about. The very title of the book makes you want to see what is ¿Beloved¿ or ¿who¿ it is. The book starts by describing a number that has a personality to it and keeps one wondering the whole time what is this? and why is it filled with tension? Later, to find out it is a house filled with a spirit, not just any spirit but one who has been very traumatized. We learn in the very first pages about a woman named Sethe, her three children and their grandmother Baby Suggs. This book is very hard to read at times, but it always had my attention and always kept my interest growing. Although the format is confusing, like a messy, sketchy memory trying to rewind itself to tell a story. The story is very good and has a lot of interesting twists in the plot. The book is very interesting because of the way it is put together. The organization of this book can be very difficult to read at times and it beckons you to go back and re-read what was just on that page. Keep up on the story and pay attention to the reading because you may miss a lot of the ¿juicy¿ details. Even though the author, Toni Morrison, is not a real slave she makes it feel like she is and made it feel like you were there experiencing everything that a Sethe would. The book tells very dearing stories of the character¿s memories and what they went through to become free blacks and not just black slaves. This whole book deals with slavery and the heart wrenching story of how Sethe over came an almost back-breaking beating while she is pregnant and how she achieved ¿free¿ land of the north. Through this whole ordeal she is nine months pregnant and gave birth to her baby girl, Denver. Sethe gives birth to Denver right before she reaches Ohio. You come to find this information out while Sethe is talking to a man who she has not seen in eighteen years, Paul D. He was a slave on the same plantation she was, Sweet Home. They talk and talk about how life has treated them and how they got to where they are now. Paul D. says he has walked many miles, and is coming to see Baby Suggs but Sethe regrets to inform him that she has been dead for nine years. Baby Suggs had been very important to both Sethe and Paul because she is like the mother they never had. Baby Suggs is the most heart warming character through out this book. She is one of my favorite characters because she reminded me so much of my grandmother. The relationship between Paul D. and Sethe is an instant attraction and they become very flirtatious and end up sleeping together. It¿s strange that their connection is still as if they never departed ways. But, they knew each other for quite some time while on the plantation. Paul D. was always attracted to Sethe, but she married another Sweet Home slave named Halle. Sethe and Halle stayed together having four children. This was quite uncommon in the South because they were slaves. Halle disappeared right before he, Sethe and their kids were ready to go to Baby Suggs house in Ohio. It¿s very strange that a man would just get up and leave his entire family like that, with out a word. That is what is good about this book it always has you interested even in the little details. Paul D. meets Sethe¿s daughter Denver, and at first Denver is cautious about him because he is an unknown male figure that defiantly is not her father. Paul D. also meets this spirit that is haunting the house. He rattles the spirit and gets it to go away, and Sethe thinks it has gone to rest. Sethe, Paul D. and Denver become a family, at first it is not easy but they come together. Sethe is always saying she lives by her present and not by her past. Which is strange because during

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Beloved is the best

    When Toni Morrison wrote this book she was very foucs on it then she also put her all into it . This book something you can read over and over again because it's that good , this book has won the noble prize and everything. The Character in the book are describe to where you can get a picture of what she is describing. If you pick this book it will be a great ideal because of flow that it is follw in. I suggest that everyone read this book you my or my not get something out of it but read and then you will see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    What a Book

    Beloved is a great book. It's a fiction book but somethings in there would make you believe that the book is both fiction and nonfiction. Some people have didn't believes, some people believe that ghost are real and they come back for a reason and others don't believe in this. Beloved was a powerful book with powerful words. This is a really good book and it would change the way you look at life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    Inriguing

    Even though I found it difficult to keep track of all the characters in the Beloved, I found the story intriguing and suspensful. Sethe portrays a woman of strength and morality who would do anything for the ones she loves. I felt relieved and calm after I finished Beloved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Expressing Your Expressions

    Beloved I found that it was a very interesting book to read. I didn't think that I would make so many different connections with the book. There were always something in the book that keep me wanting to read more. I would recommand this to any and evryone to read. Also I learn things about life and why certain things happen the way that they do. I t has change the way that I thingk about things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    summary on, 'Beloved'

    The name of my book is, 'Beloved,' by Toni Morrison. This story took place in the 1860's in Ohio. It's about a woman named Sethe who escaped from slavery so her children wouldn't have to live as a slave like she had to. She had eight kids, four was taken from her, she had two sons and two daughters living with her. The house she was living was haunted with some kind of sad and evil spirit. It's been like that every since she had killed her baby girl by cutting her throat. She did it because she thought that the schoolteacher was going to take her away from her. She thought that she was protecting her babt by killing her. Her two sons ran off and never came back because they was tired of dealing with the spirit in the house. The spirit was full of rage, it was hard for Sethe to believe that a baby could be capable of that kind of rage. Sethe and her other daughter, Denver never left the house since the baby's death. Did nobody come around or talk to them since they found out their house was haunted. Finally after 15 years a dear old friend of Sethe stop by to see her. He noticed that the house was evil soon as he walked inside. He was trying to persuade Sethe to move but she refused. Later Paul D. talked Sethe and Denver into getting out of the house for a change and go to the carnival with him. They really enjoyed themselves, especially Denver. They later found out that the girl that they seen while walking home from the carnival was the baby that she killed. She was happy knowing that was her daughter. She was able to ask her daughter, if she understood that she only killed her for her protection so that she would be able to make peace with herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Worth Your Time

    Beloved is a book full of emotions. This is a heartbreaking, but an uplifting story. By reading this book I have a sense of understanding slavery.I also have history of the south. I recommend a person to read this book if you have had to deal with death, life, and pain. If a person does not like ghost or the talkings about slavery then I recommend them not to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Deep

    This book was defiently what I called deep. It is a great piece of literature and the poetic words lift off the page...its almost like she painted a picture rather than wrote words...you can feel the emotions of each character...READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Good book

    Beloved was a very good book.I read the book with a open mind and I really have to say that it was a good book that is very detailed and keeps you intersted and you do not want to put this book down once you start reading.Reading this book and understanding the things that went on was a little hard but once I got into the book and thought about some of the things that went on in the book it became very easy to understand.If you havent read this book you need to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    A Wonderful Book!!

    I was really bored the first couple of chapters but after I got into it. It turn out to be a great book. All in all the book was really hard to put down. I personally suggest this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Love Beloved

    I absolutely loved this book. Toni Morrison was able to create strong female characters, as well as blend the supernatural with a historical setting. The book grasps you from cover to cover and leaves you with a sense of wonder and hope. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    A wonderful book

    I really liked Beloved. I felt that it was a hard bood to read because of the way Morrison wrote in the flackback style. All in all the book was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Beloved... what it may have been like to Be Negro and free

    If you do not have much of a memory for details this book could be challenging. Yet if you want to expand your mind you will find this story to be a mind altering drug as it were. My only complaint is that I do not ascribe to spiritism. Toni introduces this aspect as part of the story there was not purpose for it; a little like adding the F word to say what? Try to make it real compared to what...I was turned off. Outside of this I found the book to be like living the history of the south early post 1864...Was it really that hard finding our identity(Black people) and where we fit in? Black Women why must we always struggle? Please someone wirte a book where the Black Woman is on top and making everyone else suffer pain. This is not all of our stories but it most definitely is true for most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Simple is it not

    When I first started reading this book, I thought, "Wow! This seems great so far!" I kept reading and I assumed correctly. It has, however, taken me quite a while to read it, but it was worth it. What I believe Toni Morrison was going for was definitely not simplicity. She was going for a strong, heart skipping novel that made you think. And it did. I agree, it was confusing at times, especially when the flashbacks occur. But I believe that Miss Morrison knew exactly how she wanted this book to end out. It's suppose to make you think! And for the people who did read it, didn't you contemplate about everything that was happening? I thought Beloved was superb. I would reccommend this book to people who have patience, like to read about surviving slavery, and don't mind complex readings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    BELOVED

    I thought the book was a little confusing in the beginning but once you read to aroud the middle of the book you understand more. I thought the book was both entertaining and interesting. I would recommed this book to anyone thats interested in ghost or haunted houses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2001

    A must read for lovers of the Super Natural!

    Even though it has been at least four years since I first read Beloved, this is a book that I can read over and over again. If you have not seen the movie, I recommend that you read the book first. You will appreciate the imagination that you use to picture the conditions and situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Toni Morrison Strikes Again With Another Winner

    ¿Toni Morrison¿s book, Beloved, is a beautifully written book. It tells of a woman who has suffered many tragic events. This book will ache your heart in more than one way. Beloved is a stunning book, with a magnificent heroine. Among the top books of the country, you will never be able to put it down.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    An interesting book that if you like the cival war books and learning about the troubles of slavery read Beloved

    An interesting book that if you like the cival war books and learning about the troubles of slavery read Beloved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5