BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Below

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    All I can say is ¿WOW!¿ This book is such a great read. Clearl

    All I can say is “WOW!” This book is such a great read. Clearly, the author is well versed in marine biology and the art of science fiction. I could not wait to turn each page and find out what was going to happen next. The kicker – it could actually happen!
    I never would have guessed this was Ryan Lockwood’s first novel. This guy is sure to be the “next big thing” in the realm of science fiction. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is an excellent read.  It is informative and exciting.

    This book is an excellent read.  It is informative and exciting.  The suspense builds from the front cover to the climax.  I highly recommend this to all adventure readers.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Typically not my kind of read....but this new author had me hook

    Typically not my kind of read....but this new author had me hooked from the get go. So good I read it twice!
    Thought provoking and thrilling at the same time. Hope to hear more from Mr. Lockwood soon!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Excellent read, unless you were planning some night dives this summer!

    This well-paced page turner will keep you reading when you should be doing something else. With just the right amount of science fact and great story telling you'll find this marine thriller making you rethink what you know about our oceans and its denziens. Can't wait for Lockwood's next work!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great book.  I was hooked from the beginning.  The last 100 page

    Great book.  I was hooked from the beginning.  The last 100 pages I couldn't put it down.  Marine biology details were explained so the average reader could understand it.  I loved the characters too.    

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    This book grabs you and doesn't let go!  I would love to see it

    This book grabs you and doesn't let go!  I would love to see it made into a movie someday!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    This book is great, a must read!   If you are going to read anyt

    This book is great, a must read!   If you are going to read anything this summer, read this book!  I hope to read many more novels by Ryan Lockwood!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Couldn't put it down! A great summertime read. Scary, but also

    Couldn't put it down! A great summertime read. Scary, but also well researched and within the realm of possibility.

    If you're like me, and a enjoy a little bit of science with your fiction, you'll really like "Below". The characters are compelling, genuine, and engaging, and Ryan Lockwood is great at getting into the mindset of all of the characters and writing from their individual points-of-view, even writing from the point of view of the creature that lives "below" (No spoilers here. You're just going to have to read it!)

    Anyway, I highly recommend "Below" to anyone. Scary, compelling, based in reality, and just fun to read. By far the best thing I have read in a long, long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I just picked this up.  It's well timed for the beach season and

    I just picked this up.  It's well timed for the beach season and enough to keep me out of the water!  Hard to put down... can't wait to see how it ends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Great read

    Enjoyed this book, and like "Jaws" it kept you on edge of your seat. You could feel the suspence of what was going to happen next. Would like to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    To all Ariel is locked out!!!

    Move to res two!~ tyler the catboy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Mia

    She shuffles to the slave cages, scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    MAP OF THE UNDERGROUND

    Res 1: map <br> Res 2: Main market <br> Res 3: hunters board <br> Res 4: Living quarters <br> Res 5: slave cages <br> Res 6: bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!! What an amazing book! Lockwood lures you in from the firs

    WOW!!! What an amazing book! Lockwood lures you in from the first page and keeps reeling till there's no escape. I highly recommend this title to fans of books like Jaws, Jurassic Park, and Fragment. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Ctoos

    Exciting and a good flow to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great read!

    It is hard to believe that Below is this author's first publication...Hold on to your seats people, because this one will keep you reading well into the night! His characters are flawed enough to be real and believable, and the story is based on events which have already been documented as "spillover" contamination; viruses and pathogens which have left the original host to mutate and change as they move through different species. Looking forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Michelle Robertson for Readers' Favorite Below by R

    Reviewed by Michelle Robertson for Readers' Favorite

    Below by Ryan Lockwood is an adventurous, suspenseful thriller that introduces readers to many different aspects of ocean life and coastal living such as: boating, fishing, scuba diving, marine biology, and marine creatures. Move over Jaws, you now have some frightening competition. Readers often find themselves choosing a novel that will leave them &quot;on the edge of their seat,&quot; so to speak, and not allow time for anything else but turning pages. Ryan Lockwood's Below offers readers a novel chock-full of many different elements, such as suspense, action, romance, and education. The author introduces characters that are gripping and credible to the not so science fiction story plot. With its scene breaks and twists, readers will find themselves intrigued by the unpredictable situations, happenstances, and characters within this riveting novel. 

    A cowboy scuba instructor from Colorado, a marine biologist scientist from Mexico, a sheriff from California, and a dirty old local pirate find themselves intertwined in the mysterious outbreaks of attacks by an unknown new monster lurking in the dark depths of the ocean they all have grown to love. Ryan Lockwood has created a new terror of the ocean horror story that will make readers think twice before taking a dive in the ocean at all, let alone at night when the monster lurks. This novel is incredibly addictive. Stopping to do anything but turn the pages is not an option. With its fascinating appeal, Below is a book that will make a reader's skin crawl and eyes squint closed as they read the exhilarating scenes. A book for all readers to read, enjoy, and fear its contents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Amazing read

    I picked up this book in August and couldnt put it down. At some parts it can be pretty scary and and some parts the chapters endings are giant clifhangers. Overall i thought it was a great read and i recomend it to almost anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Fantastic!!!

    Below is one of the best books I have ever read!! I couldn't put it down!! I can't wait to read more from this author. This book would make a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Below is simply a great read.  I could not put it down.  I love

    Below is simply a great read.  I could not put it down.  I love the water: being around it, on it. . .but never in the ocean!  It is scary and a &quot;gut&quot; clenched!  Love, love, loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2