Customer Reviews for

Below Zero (Joe Pickett Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Reading

I have read several other books by C.J. Box and have enjoyed them all. The books are always filled with adventure and twists and turns that you don't expect. This book was no exception. It grabs you and keeps you reading from the beginning. Unlike some murder/myster...
I have read several other books by C.J. Box and have enjoyed them all. The books are always filled with adventure and twists and turns that you don't expect. This book was no exception. It grabs you and keeps you reading from the beginning. Unlike some murder/mystery books, this one was hard to predict. It was a little violent in places, as are all Box's books, but nothing extreme. I love his main character and this is another one of those books you can't put down once you start reading.

posted by Katdancin on August 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's hard to believe C.J. Box wrote this book

C.J. Box is one of my top 5 authors. I have read all his books and I thought each one was very good to excellent. That said, "Below Zero" was a total bummer. Some of the book was C.J. but most of the book I kept thinking, "I can't believe he wrote this book!" The pl...
C.J. Box is one of my top 5 authors. I have read all his books and I thought each one was very good to excellent. That said, "Below Zero" was a total bummer. Some of the book was C.J. but most of the book I kept thinking, "I can't believe he wrote this book!" The plot was way below zero and the dialog was very childish. Maybe this book would be good if one was in 4th or 5th grade. If this was the first book I had read by this author, I NEVER would have picked up a second one.
So disappointed!

posted by MaggieRM on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Reading

    I have read several other books by C.J. Box and have enjoyed them all. The books are always filled with adventure and twists and turns that you don't expect. This book was no exception. It grabs you and keeps you reading from the beginning. Unlike some murder/mystery books, this one was hard to predict. It was a little violent in places, as are all Box's books, but nothing extreme. I love his main character and this is another one of those books you can't put down once you start reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book teaches about not giving up

    Joe Pickett is out of town when a call comes into his home from April. His family is in disbelief since April was killed five years ago.
    April had been abandoned by her mother when she was six. Joe and Maribeth took her in as a foster child with the view of adoption. Three years later, the Soverigns, a group of Montana Freeman survivalists took April back by a legal manuver. The FBI want to speak to the Soverigns concerning illegal weapons and are at their trailer. Joe sees a bad connection to a gas pipe and tries to warn everyone but there is an explosion. The authorites remove bodies of two adults and a child. Joe can't view the charred remains and believes April has died.
    However, one of the Soverigns escapes with April. She is then passed from one family to another and ends up with a family that cares for a number of children so they can get their welfare checks.
    When the father of this family makes moves as if to sexually prey on April, another girl, April's age stands up for her.
    The father then takes April to a whore house and sells her. As April is being groomed to work there, a man named Stenko arrives. He has a dispute with the owner and shoots him. Then sees April, who reminds him of his deceased daughter, Carmen, and rescues her.
    However, Stenko is dying of cancer. He and his son are traveling around, killing people who are harming the ecology.
    Joe sets out to rescue April, stop Stenko, and prove to April that he didn't abandon her when he thought she had died.
    There is a good deal of writing about the matter of trust in this story and it deals nicely with the relationship of Pickett and his older daughter, Sheriden.
    The plot is different, Pickett is an honorable character and there is a surprising plot twist at the end.
    Recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Good book but---

    Good book but lots of words run together. Looks bad on behalf of B&N e-books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    It's hard to believe C.J. Box wrote this book

    C.J. Box is one of my top 5 authors. I have read all his books and I thought each one was very good to excellent. That said, "Below Zero" was a total bummer. Some of the book was C.J. but most of the book I kept thinking, "I can't believe he wrote this book!" The plot was way below zero and the dialog was very childish. Maybe this book would be good if one was in 4th or 5th grade. If this was the first book I had read by this author, I NEVER would have picked up a second one.
    So disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The family is what makes C.J. Box's thrillers as exciting as they always are

    April Kelley supposedly died six years ago when the FBI opened fire on the Sovereign Cult (see WINTERKILL); who were fanatical survivalists. It comes as a shock when a resident in their old home tells Sheridan Pickett that April called and he gave the caller her cell number. Her mother Marybeth thinks it is a fake until April shares information with Sheridan about the Picketts that only the family would know.-----------

    Game Warden Joe comes home and after hearing the cell phone information contacts the FBI who becomes interested because April is traveling with Chicago mobster Stenko and his born again rabid environmentalist son Robert. The Feds track them through April's cell phone when she calls Sheridan who is with her dad Joe seeking her. Stenko and son go on a murder spree while Joe tries to extract his April from the killers and before the FBI open fire again.---------------

    Although six years have passed, the Pickets are euphoric that April somehow is alive although they wonder why she never contacted them before. The family is what makes C.J. Box's thrillers as exciting as they always are by bringing believable reactions and plausibility to the always exhilarating plot. This time it is extremely personal as readers are hooked with the non stop action and like the Pickett brood hope April not only comes out of it alive, but is innocent and returns to the family. Joe being the only cynic is still elated to learn she lives and risks his life to see she stays alive.-------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    I love C. J. Box's Joe Pickett series.  Joe is a little unusual

    I love C. J. Box's Joe Pickett series.  Joe is a little unusual from most adventure heroes that are found in most books of this day and time.....he has a wife that he loves and two daughters that he cares deeply about.  Joe is truly a good  guy, not a goody two shoes but someone with his priorities in the right place.  Joe is a game warden in Wyoming and the plots are sat in the outdoors of the Rocky Mountains. The books are filled with adventure and twists that keep you reading. Below Zero is no exception.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Love

    C J Box is my new favorite author. I LOVE the Joe Pickett series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Another great Joe Pickett story

    Starts fast and keeps moving. Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Zero

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Zero

    So how r u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Can't beat Joe Pickett

    Excellent as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Enjoyable reading. Good twists to the plot

    An interesting concept of todays world. Has a good thought process and keeps ones interest. Good conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    CJ Box is great!!

    I love all CJ Box books!! I will read and continue to buy all of his books as long as he writes them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Have always like CJ Box, but

    This is a pretty mundane novel. I can see why he has branched out to stand alone books. I always buy his books, but I will probably check out from the library from now on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Joe Picket Series is Great

    I have enjoyed all of his books in the series and he has obviously left us with a cliff hanger. While not a book club selection this time, we did read the first of the series. I will share the book with others members. Great series. Being from Nebraska, I can see the areas he writes about and feel like I am there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not his best work

    Box is an uneven author. Some of his books (Blue Heaven) shine, others drag. This one drags. The plot feels contrived. What rational lawman would take his daughter on a search for a killer? The set ups are strained, the coincidences unbelieveable.
    All in all not a very good novel. Let's hope his next one improves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Love CJ Box - he's a great writer

    I am hooked on this author. His books are exciting and an excellent read. I am a proud owner of one of every book he has written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    CJ Box has another hit!

    We love CJ Box's books as they all seem to interconnect to keep the plot going from one book to another. There is no real vulgar language or sexual scenes in the book, so even teens could read this and catch the excitement in the book without having to give it an adult rating! CJ Box ranks up there with Tony Hillerman in giving you mystery and thrills but uses common everyday situations.
    Joe and Mary Beth are at their best and Sheridan and Lucy give it their all too! Who would think that the name April would come back into play! If you love the great outdoors and mystery--you will love the CJ Box books. Start with the first one so you don't miss a thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Box keeps getting better

    This book was so good I had to pace myself, C.J. Box just keeps getting better.
    Cannot wait for the next Joe Picket book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3