Customer Reviews for

Ben-Hur (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A once in a lifetime read!!

I decided to read only well-written and important works during this Millenial Year. I picked up the 'Focus on the Family' publication of Ben Hur as I was exiting our library. I did not know I had just picked up the novel of my life. This book is suplative in every wa...
I decided to read only well-written and important works during this Millenial Year. I picked up the 'Focus on the Family' publication of Ben Hur as I was exiting our library. I did not know I had just picked up the novel of my life. This book is suplative in every way-wonderful plot, incredible characterizations, historically accurate, and even life changing. General Lew Wallace wrote this incredible work in 1880, and I don't believe this novel could be written by today's writers. There are some of the most perfectly written sentences I have ever read, every line comparable to fine wine that must be sipped slowly for best effect rather than gulped like present-day works. It took me a full month of pleasure to finish this fine work. It can be enjoyed by Christian and non-Christian alike, and will cause those who believe to believe even stronger, while those unfamiliar or doubtful of the Good News of Christ will be quickened spiritually. This book is gigantic in scope and life changing in effect. By the way, I've never seen the movie, but I'm going to check it tonight>>>

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Typo city

If you want a good version and an inexpensive one buy christian classics for 99cent it has a great copy of ben hur and it also has many other christian classics. Way more bang for the buck and it is easily read

posted by SleeplessnFlorida0927 on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    A once in a lifetime read!!

    I decided to read only well-written and important works during this Millenial Year. I picked up the 'Focus on the Family' publication of Ben Hur as I was exiting our library. I did not know I had just picked up the novel of my life. This book is suplative in every way-wonderful plot, incredible characterizations, historically accurate, and even life changing. General Lew Wallace wrote this incredible work in 1880, and I don't believe this novel could be written by today's writers. There are some of the most perfectly written sentences I have ever read, every line comparable to fine wine that must be sipped slowly for best effect rather than gulped like present-day works. It took me a full month of pleasure to finish this fine work. It can be enjoyed by Christian and non-Christian alike, and will cause those who believe to believe even stronger, while those unfamiliar or doubtful of the Good News of Christ will be quickened spiritually. This book is gigantic in scope and life changing in effect. By the way, I've never seen the movie, but I'm going to check it tonight>>>

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    A truly uplifting book!

    I loved this book from beginning to end! It is much better than the movie version!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    It's good.

    Reading the book has filled in the movie. I really appreciated the author's use of language and sentence structure.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great book

    What can one say about a book that is a classic. (Nothing)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Better Then the Movie

    Though the movie Ben Hur is good the book is even better

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Wow!

    Read it a long time a go, but this time I appreciated it more. So beautiful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Awesome book

    I love the story of nen read willowsongs story at spray girst tesul

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    A Classic Always

    I had seen the movie several times, but reading the book puts nuances to the journey and events that the movie just couldn't portray. Wallace has made a classic with religious theme that will be ever a rewarding read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Very good

    Educative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Raven

    Leaves

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Layla

    Layla wandered in.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Benjamina

    "I'm here."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Hailey

    "Uh.. guys?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    My friend's great great grandfather wrote this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Looks Good

    : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    MAIN CAMP #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Blazingfire

    Blazingfire smiled then nodded to Shadowstar and vanished in a flash of flame.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Wss

    Cool!luved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    OMG I FREAKIN LOVE THAT GAME!!!!!!

    I have that game! :D majora's mask is legend of zelda! *squeeeeee* i love those games! My favorites of them are twighlight princess, wind waker and skyward sword! <3 also creepy and epic story

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3