BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ben & Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tastes just like the guys made it themselves!

All of the recipes are easy to follow, with no weird ingredients. Most importantly, the results are creamier and more delicious than any ice cream we ever made before we were given this book!

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I heart Ben and Jerry's

So my husband and I got an ice cream maker this past year for our wedding (we've yet to use it unfortunately) and I was basically looking for neat and interesting recipes to make and when I got this book, it was to hopefully recreate in our own home some of our most fav...
So my husband and I got an ice cream maker this past year for our wedding (we've yet to use it unfortunately) and I was basically looking for neat and interesting recipes to make and when I got this book, it was to hopefully recreate in our own home some of our most favorite flavors from Ben and Jerry's. I can't say that we've tried anything as of yet, but the book was filled with the basic recipes and helpful hints on adaptations. As far as I can tell, the recipes seemed a bit easier to follow than some I've come across. I also like that at the end of the book they also gave the recipes for various baked goods that they commonly use for add-ins. One thing that I would like is for the book to be updated to reflect newer flavors but other than that I think that the book is a fun place to start. There are also a lot of cute little quips and tidbits about how they started the company and about their adventures in ice cream production.

posted by JGerber on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    Tastes just like the guys made it themselves!

    All of the recipes are easy to follow, with no weird ingredients. Most importantly, the results are creamier and more delicious than any ice cream we ever made before we were given this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Must have if you want to make home made ice cream.

    We have tried many of the recipes and they all have turned out great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    Fantastic Book, Great Desserts

    These are some of the easiest, best-tasting desserts I've ever made. I'd recommend the book to someone in a heartbeat. My admiration for Ben & Jerry continues to grow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Yummy on Many Levels!

    Ben & Jerry were always heros of mine. They got me through many hard times with the help of their ice creamy goodness. Heck, I ate up to 4 pints a week while pregnant! Now I can make their recipes at home? I was in! All of the recipes are easy to follow and need no strange ingredients that will make workers at your local grocery store look at you cross-eyed when you ask for them. Best dessert cookery book EVER!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    Business Book & Original Ice Cream Recipes!

    I was pleasantly surprised with the business story to Ben & Jerry's in the first chapter. They detailed everything from money to square footage of the first store. I feel much greater respect to Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream company as a result because the story was personal. As for the Ice Cream! They publish actual ice cream recipes for what they are selling in store freezers! The first ice cream I made was the vanilla. I used the most butterfat 'heavy cream' and the finest ingredients as recommended 'organic whole milk, and pure sugar cane'. The homemade ice cream was the best creamiest, soft textured, rich, perfect vanilla ice cream I have ever had! I have become a loyal Ben & Jerry's fan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    If you love Ice Cream

    If you Love Ice Cream I would buy ben&jerry's book because its a good way to learn how to make it without going to the store and buying if for $3.19. It an Awsome book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    Simply the best

    If you only buy one ice cream recipe book, this should be it. The recipes are so easy, and have so many options, there truly is something for everyone in this book. The recipe for Sweet Cream Base alone is worth the price of the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Outstanding recipe book!!

    A MUST for anyone making homemade ice cream. Breaks the recipes down into simple components that anyone can follow. Buy the book and be the King of Homemade!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best ice cream I've ever eaten!

    After reading the online reviews, I decided that this was the most recommended ice cream book out there. I tried the no cook custard recipe and added pineapple (like my grand father did when I was a kid). It was the best ice cream I have ever tasted! Definitely rich, and my sweet tooth Loved it. As far as the eggs being uncooked, I have heard that combining eggs with sugar actually cooks the eggs, but I bought pasteurized Egg Beaters and used them to avoid any healhealth concerns. Book is Worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Great

    I love ben and jerrys

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Still great ice cream. 

    Still great ice cream. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1